Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#201)
Faces Of Death
Maha Guru
 
Faces Of Death's Avatar
 
Videocard: Dual nVidia GTX680 4GB
Processor: Dual Xeon E5-2687W
Mainboard: Asus Z9PE-D8 WS
Memory: 128GB Samsung ECC/REG
Soundcard: Charlie Greens Special
PSU: Enermax Platimax 1500w
Default 04-16-2012, 15:36 | posts: 880 | Location: Derby, England

I took you up on the challenge had to write a completely new bios for the onboard gpu but i can get a steady 35fps on medium!

also had a custom made dyson with a clark compressor air fresh system invented by a chap called Tiny Tom Logan









   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#202)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: 3930K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz@9-10-9-27
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-16-2012, 15:46 | posts: 4,162 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeyNyce View Post
A true guru would take that P3 PC and overclock it to make it run Crysis! LOL!!
This

I can make it run on a state-of-the-art-as-of-late-2003 Athlon XP rig, so have a crack with that XD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#203)
darrenj
Maha Guru
 
darrenj's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970 WIndforce
Processor: Core i5 2500k@4.3 load
Mainboard: Asus P8 Z77 I deluxe
Memory: 8GIG Vengence 1600
Soundcard: Realtek?
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750
Default 04-16-2012, 22:36 | posts: 1,385 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piderman View Post
Umm.. That's the modright mesh I am fairly sure Picked it up from FrozenCPU I have to admit it has some of the best air flow for that case. I know you will need something along that line plus it would look great with the Red lighting.
Great! Is the mesh used on both sides? How many sheets did you buy?
darrenj

Edit... forget it
FronzenCPU's frieght prices to Sweden cost more than the product..
thanks any way.

Last edited by darrenj; 04-16-2012 at 22:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#204)
Unreal_br
Master Guru
 
Unreal_br's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660ti SC 2GB
Processor: AMD FX 8120
Mainboard: 990XA-UD3
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600 G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 6.1
PSU: Corsair GS600
Default 04-20-2012, 19:03 | posts: 292 | Location: São Paulo/ Brazil

Finally I've gathered my courage to post my rig, which needs badly a new gpu.
Anyways, sorry for the full desktop photo, was taken with my Galaxy SII phone.


Desktop full view por unrealbr_, no Flickr


Corsair 700D + 800D window por unrealbr_, no Flickr


H60 + 2x TB Silence LED por unrealbr_, no Flickr


700D Sideshot por unrealbr_, no Flickr


700D Sideshot 2 por unrealbr_, no Flickr
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#205)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 760 ACX
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 04-20-2012, 23:11 | posts: 8,500 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Unreal: I have to say.... i kinda like... and kinda want that Grammar Nazi wallpaper.

And is that a Hackintosh, or just a heavily skinned Windows?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#206)
Mineria
Ancient Guru
 
Mineria's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 SC 4GB ACX
Processor: Intel i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 32G G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
Default 04-21-2012, 09:59 | posts: 3,038 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementalDragon View Post
Unreal: I have to say.... i kinda like... and kinda want that Grammar Nazi wallpaper.

And is that a Hackintosh, or just a heavily skinned Windows?
You can find it on deviantart, look for dinyctis.

Last edited by Mineria; 04-21-2012 at 10:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#207)
Unreal_br
Master Guru
 
Unreal_br's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX660ti SC 2GB
Processor: AMD FX 8120
Mainboard: 990XA-UD3
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600 G.Skill
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 6.1
PSU: Corsair GS600
Default 04-21-2012, 12:19 | posts: 292 | Location: São Paulo/ Brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementalDragon View Post
Unreal: I have to say.... i kinda like... and kinda want that Grammar Nazi wallpaper.

And is that a Hackintosh, or just a heavily skinned Windows?
There is a MacMini under my 700D. Check again the first picture.
As for the wallpaper... there you go! > http://dinyctis.deviantart.com/gallery/#/dnniz8

Last edited by Unreal_br; 04-21-2012 at 12:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#208)
SolidBladez
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7950 Boost
Processor: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: Samsung 30nm 8GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: NZXT Hale 90 550W
Default 04-25-2012, 03:01 | posts: 3,722 | Location: CO

Must keep this thread alive!

I finally made the switch to X79.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#209)
Quixz
Maha Guru
 
Quixz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: GA-P55 UD3R
Memory: HyperX 8GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Thermaltake TP 875W
Default 04-27-2012, 19:43 | posts: 1,265 | Location: England : Birmingham

@SolidBladez

Where are your GPU power cables?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#210)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 760 ACX
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 04-28-2012, 03:08 | posts: 8,500 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

... note to Quixz: That is not a 7970 that's running in there. It looks like a low/mid range GPU, and does not appear to have any power connections required.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#211)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 2*7970 @ 1000/1500
Processor: 3930K @ 4.2 GHz, 1.26 V
Mainboard: Gigabyte X79S-UP5
Memory: 16GB@1866MHz@9-10-9-27
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 04-28-2012, 11:07 | posts: 4,162 | Location: Not Far North Enough (England)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementalDragon View Post
... note to Quixz: That is not a 7970 that's running in there. It looks like a low/mid range GPU, and does not appear to have any power connections required.
And hence the lack of CFX/SLI fingers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#212)
SolidBladez
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7950 Boost
Processor: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: Samsung 30nm 8GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: NZXT Hale 90 550W
Default 04-28-2012, 17:22 | posts: 3,722 | Location: CO

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quixz View Post
@SolidBladez

Where are your GPU power cables?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementalDragon View Post
... note to Quixz: That is not a 7970 that's running in there. It looks like a low/mid range GPU, and does not appear to have any power connections required.
It's a Radeon HD 7750. Using it temporarily to test out various 2011 boards.

But I do have a fast collection of cards.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#213)
hallryu
Don Altobello
 
hallryu's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
Processor: 3770k delid@4.6GHz - H320
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UP7 (F5)
Memory: Dominator GT 2133 2x4GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X + SP2500
PSU: BeQuiet! DP Pro 1200W
Default 04-28-2012, 18:10 | posts: 11,396 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quixz View Post
@SolidBladez

Where are your GPU power cables?
Its a 7750.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#214)
Quixz
Maha Guru
 
Quixz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 560 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 860
Mainboard: GA-P55 UD3R
Memory: HyperX 8GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Thermaltake TP 875W
Default 04-28-2012, 18:58 | posts: 1,265 | Location: England : Birmingham

Thanks guys. I had a feeling that wasn't a 7970.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#215)
ElementalDragon
Ancient Guru
 
ElementalDragon's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 760 ACX
Processor: Core i5 4670K
Mainboard: Asus Z87I-Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill RipJawsX
Soundcard: on-board
PSU: Seasonic 650W
Default 04-29-2012, 03:06 | posts: 8,500 | Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Solid: uuh... share the wealth? haha. Think that right there is a bigger stack of video card boxes... more than i can remember myself having EVER. Though... now that i actually THINK about it... maybe not.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#216)
SolidBladez
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x 7950 Boost
Processor: Intel i7 4770K @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Memory: Samsung 30nm 8GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: NZXT Hale 90 550W
Default 04-29-2012, 04:26 | posts: 3,722 | Location: CO

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElementalDragon View Post
Solid: uuh... share the wealth? haha. Think that right there is a bigger stack of video card boxes... more than i can remember myself having EVER. Though... now that i actually THINK about it... maybe not.


About a year ago I could barely afford a new rig. Had to drop out of school due to a stomach illness so I've been selling things around the house. Apparently got good at it as I can now afford a little extra.

Though I need to help my parents' out because their bills are pilling up. Ah it never ends.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#217)
DirkHardpeck
Master Guru
 
DirkHardpeck's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 SLI @ 1150/3305
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar U7
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 04-29-2012, 06:02 | posts: 252 | Location: NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unreal_br View Post
Finally I've gathered my courage to post my rig, which needs badly a new gpu.
Anyways, sorry for the full desktop photo, was taken with my Galaxy SII phone.


Desktop full view
I've been considering an Obsidian for my next build, it's only just now starting to show it's age a bit in terms of features, but it's so damn classy looking. Something like a Silverstone or Lian Li...how do you like it? Anything end up bothering you later?

I tend to love my cases, until a few months, then I have a list of things I hate XD Always a difficult purchase for me to make.

Last edited by DirkHardpeck; 04-29-2012 at 06:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#218)
thommo
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX680 SLI
Processor: Intel 2700K @ 5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Xifi Fatality
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-29-2012, 10:21 | posts: 185

DirkHP

I have just gone from a Corsair 700D to a Silverstone TJ07 as running dual waterloops as not possible to do so in the 700 without serious case modding/cutting etc
However, the 700d certainly has the edge for cable routing compared to the Tj07 as I have found out trying to get a clean case is not as easy in the 07

I will add some pics in a day or so when my replacement laing pump arrives as it shorted yesterday
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#219)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 660 Ti | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1866
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 04-29-2012, 19:46 | posts: 4,174 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

My rig,

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#220)
Curious142
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD HD 6850
Processor: Intel i5 3570k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX
Memory: DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 04-30-2012, 07:59 | posts: 5 | Location: Colorado

Just got the email about the April Rig of the Month. I didn't see any reference in the article about the cpu used. What cpu was used in this beast? (And why wasn't it mentioned in the article?) I'm not a technical genius, so maybe cpu's aren't important (or even used) these days.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#221)
killer_939
Maha Guru
 
killer_939's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.6GHz 1.36v
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX + AD700
PSU: 720w
Default 04-30-2012, 08:22 | posts: 2,599 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Curious142 View Post
Just got the email about the April Rig of the Month. I didn't see any reference in the article about the cpu used. What cpu was used in this beast? (And why wasn't it mentioned in the article?) I'm not a technical genius, so maybe cpu's aren't important (or even used) these days.
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2470244
http://i.imgur.com/hXS7S.jpg

Wasn't that well hidden. Links were on the last page.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#222)
Curious142
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD HD 6850
Processor: Intel i5 3570k
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V LX
Memory: DDR3-1600 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair GS700
Default 04-30-2012, 10:47 | posts: 5 | Location: Colorado

Quote:
Originally Posted by killer_939 View Post
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/2470244
http://i.imgur.com/hXS7S.jpg

Wasn't that well hidden. Links were on the last page.
Thanks. I guess I was being a little out of line to expect the cpu to be identified where the rest of the hardware listed. Sorry about that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#223)
darrenj
Maha Guru
 
darrenj's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970 WIndforce
Processor: Core i5 2500k@4.3 load
Mainboard: Asus P8 Z77 I deluxe
Memory: 8GIG Vengence 1600
Soundcard: Realtek?
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750
Default 04-30-2012, 13:52 | posts: 1,385 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piderman View Post
Umm.. That's the modright mesh I am fairly sure Picked it up from FrozenCPU I have to admit it has some of the best air flow for that case. I know you will need something along that line plus it would look great with the Red lighting.
Was about to buy it but saw that the freight price to Sweden was ridiculous..
Is there any good mod mesh site in Europe. PC moding resale sites?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#224)
DirkHardpeck
Master Guru
 
DirkHardpeck's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 780 SLI @ 1150/3305
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.7
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar U7
PSU: Corsair AX860i
Default 04-30-2012, 19:11 | posts: 252 | Location: NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by thommo View Post
DirkHP

I have just gone from a Corsair 700D to a Silverstone TJ07 as running dual waterloops as not possible to do so in the 700 without serious case modding/cutting etc
However, the 700d certainly has the edge for cable routing compared to the Tj07 as I have found out trying to get a clean case is not as easy in the 07

I will add some pics in a day or so when my replacement laing pump arrives as it shorted yesterday
Oh, nice. Looking forward to seeing it. I was kind of considering the TJ07 as well, will be nice to hear your opinions about that case versus the 700D as you continue working with it!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#225)
cole2109
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 680 SLI
Processor: 3770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16gb
Soundcard: Z-5500@XonarHDAV1.3Deluxe
PSU: Corsair 1000W
Default 05-04-2012, 18:59 | posts: 536 | Location: Slovenia

New toys. Damn i will suffer


Last edited by cole2109; 05-04-2012 at 19:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.