Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Frontpage news
Frontpage news Perhaps you have some news to report or want to check out the latest Guru3D headlines and comment ? Check it in here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-29-2012, 21:22 | posts: 5,887 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

I just grabbed 2 Corsair F3 180GB's for RAID 0, as they were the only drives that gave me the perfect amount of space for OS and applications. Although, now that I look back the Mushkin 180 GB was a little faster, and few bucks cheaper. Oh, well. Could've bought just the OCZ 360 as well, but that brand has never been good to me (always had DOA parts, and had to RMA).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Stukov
Ancient Guru
 
Stukov's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970 UL / 4870X2 (dead)
Processor: Intel i5 3570k 4.2-4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Professional
Memory: 16GB Gskill 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Audigy
PSU: Corsair 850watt
Default 04-29-2012, 21:44 | posts: 4,876 | Location: South Dakota

I thought trim didn't work in raid?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
PhazeDelta1
Moderator
 
PhazeDelta1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780Ti Classified SLI
Processor: Intel i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth Z87
Memory: 16GB Corsair 2133MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
Default 04-29-2012, 22:22 | posts: 13,785 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stukov View Post
I thought trim didn't work in raid?
It don't. I believe Intel is working on fixing that though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
sdamaged99
Maha Guru
 
sdamaged99's Avatar
 
Videocard: 295X2 XPSC Full block
Processor: i7 4960X @ 4.5 H20
Mainboard: Rampage Extreme IV
Memory: 32GB Samsung 2400mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 04-29-2012, 22:41 | posts: 1,947 | Location: Isle of Man

Garbage collection works in RAID0 on some models. Corsair Performance Pro for example.

Also noticed the 256GB Crucial M4 i paid 237 for last week on Amazon.co.uk is now 197!

Returning, and re purchasing!

Last edited by sdamaged99; 04-29-2012 at 22:45.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-29-2012, 23:14 | posts: 5,887 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamaged99 View Post
Garbage collection works in RAID0 on some models. Corsair Performance Pro for example.

Also noticed the 256GB Crucial M4 i paid 237 for last week on Amazon.co.uk is now 197!

Returning, and re purchasing!
From what I've read on Corsair's support site garbage collection also works on the F3's as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
ScoobyDooby
Ancient Guru
 
ScoobyDooby's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX970 G1 SLI & Qnix 27"
Processor: 2600K @ 4.6ghz w/ H100
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB Viper Xtreme @ 1866
Soundcard: Focusrite Saffire LE FW
PSU: Corsair HX1050
Default 04-29-2012, 23:17 | posts: 5,767 | Location: BC, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrH View Post
I will most likely grab a 120GB or 240GB SSD soon, I currently have an 80GB Gen2 Intel but I'd like some more space. Once I get my new PC setup on Tuesday I'll probably put up some of my old components onto eBay to pay for it.
Precisely what I just did.. jumped from a Vertex 2 80gb sataii to a Mushkin Chronos 120gb Sataiii. The difference in speed is large yet the effect in terms of W7 performance is pretty negligable, however the extra space in a 120gb drive this fast for $130 all in, not bad not bad
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Norvekh
Maha Guru
 
Norvekh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970
Processor: Core i7 2600K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 04-30-2012, 00:03 | posts: 2,665 | Location: Ohio

I'm hoping to purchase my next SSD later this year. In just general usage of the OS I simply find myself pulling my hair out whenever I'm on a computer with a mechanical drive. Things load so unbearably slowly that it's just frustrating to no end. And when it comes to games that dynamically load running them off of anything else is equally unpleasant. Skyrim in particular benefits massively since I hardlinked it from my WD Black. There's so much loading in that game that a SSD makes a tremendous difference in the gameplay. Bethesda games, being that I play them so much, are always going to be on a SSD at this point for me. But if I can get a good 80-120GB drive (for a Linux install) and a 256+GB for some more games I'll be set. Except, I need some storage drives too as 6TB isn't cutting it anymore so... Looks like I'm going to be buying a bunch of storage this year.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
macdaddy
Maha Guru
 
macdaddy's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780 / MSI G 290X
Processor: 4770K <-- Lemon
Mainboard: ASUS MAX 6 IMPACT
Memory: Dom. Plat 8GB 2400
Soundcard: AUDIOENGINE D1 HD650
PSU: 700W Enermax
Default 04-30-2012, 01:50 | posts: 2,357 | Location: AUSTRALIA

ssd prices have moved slowly. I was an early adopter of the tech when it first released paid like close to $400 for 64gb. really the main issue should be that hdd high capacity drives 3 tb models should be cheaper.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-30-2012, 02:15 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I'm so happy with my 64GB Vertex 2 that it doesnt matter what price new SSDs are.
Didnt expect to be, I thought I'd hanker after faster speed, but its great.
I usually keep 2 games on it that I am playing, enuff for me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 8GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-30-2012, 03:01 | posts: 5,887 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Quote:
Originally Posted by Firestorm View Post
It don't. I believe Intel is working on fixing that though.
Q2 of this year is when the RST driver with support for TRIM on RAID 0 is supposed to come, and we've got 2 months left in it so it should be soon.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.