Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
60Hz HDTV for around 400
Old
  (#1)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 60Hz HDTV for around 400 - 04-27-2012, 23:56 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

I'm in the market for a 1080p tele that must be at least 32" and crucially must be at least 60Hz. I want to stick to Amazon and all the ones for around the 400 pound mark all seem to be 50Hz. Can some tele savvy person have a look on Amazon and recommend me a decent 60Hz tele please.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 04-28-2012, 00:20 | posts: 829

Sony KDL32EX723BU 32-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p 3D 100Hz Edge LED Internet TV with Freeview HD 378.50 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-KDL32EX...5567254&sr=1-7

LG 32LV355T 32-inch Widescreen Full HD 1080p LED TV with Freeview HD 372.70 http://www.amazon.co.uk/LG-32LV355T-...567766&sr=1-26
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-28-2012, 00:57 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

Thanks, gonna get the Sony model.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 04-28-2012, 01:32 | posts: 829

Enjoy, Sony make great TVs.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 04-28-2012, 02:29 | posts: 9,929 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

I would say skip the freeview hd and internet nonsense and get a size up (37") minus those features.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-28-2012, 17:50 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

Okay I'll try and do that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-28-2012, 18:25 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

What about this one http://www.amazon.co.uk/Samsung-UE32...5633511&sr=1-3

Apparently it uses HyperReal Engine. What does that mean? It's 60Hz according to PriceRunner.

Bah, Comet says it is 50Hz. This is frustrating, and the reason I've held off buying a new tele for so long.

Last edited by Supertribble; 04-28-2012 at 18:30.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-28-2012, 18:41 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

Bugger this lol I'm gonna get the Sony tele PinguX linked to.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
JaylumX
Master Guru
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950 @ 1150/1600
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.8
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory: 12GB Corsair 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV 1.3/AV40
PSU: Corsair 750W PSU
Default 04-28-2012, 21:59 | posts: 486 | Location: Somewhere Else

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supertribble View Post
Thanks, gonna get the Sony model.
Plus the Sony supports full 4:4:4 colour reproduction in Game and Graphics mode
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-29-2012, 01:10 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaylumX View Post
Plus the Sony supports full 4:4:4 colour reproduction in Game and Graphics mode
Really?!

That's a big deal to me having full RGB mode because the GTX580 I'll be using doesn't support limited RGB for desktop programs and ycbcr looks kinda bad imo.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Stop It RAWR
Master Guru
 
Stop It RAWR's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD7850 BE
Processor: Intel i5 2500k @4600Mhz
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme4
Memory: 8GB Corsair XMS3 1600Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: OCZ Fatality 550W
Default 04-29-2012, 11:07 | posts: 208 | Location: Biggleswade, UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supertribble View Post
Thanks, gonna get the Sony model.
I have the Sony model listed, bought for 375 from M&S (It was a daily deal there, went for it because it has a 5 year warranty). Great 2D TV, pretty bad at 3D. Performs pretty awesome as a PC monitor and reports as a 10bit panel when connected to me Radeon 7850.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-29-2012, 20:22 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

Nice. I just have to wait for a refund to come through before I can finally make the purchase.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Jae-So
Ancient Guru
 
Jae-So's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX460OC SLI
Processor: i5 750 @3.6GHz/ H50
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55-UD4
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 04-29-2012, 21:57 | posts: 6,722 | Location: Bristol, UK

I got a Sammy 40" LED, 3D, smart TV from Comet for 540, look around some deals to be found
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
JaylumX
Master Guru
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950 @ 1150/1600
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.8
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory: 12GB Corsair 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV 1.3/AV40
PSU: Corsair 750W PSU
Default 04-30-2012, 22:07 | posts: 486 | Location: Somewhere Else

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supertribble View Post
Really?!

That's a big deal to me having full RGB mode because the GTX580 I'll be using doesn't support limited RGB for desktop programs and ycbcr looks kinda bad imo.
Yep, it was the only reason i got it. Beware mind that Nvidia drivers output limited RGB when it detects a HDTV so you will have to apply the hacks to force full RGB color.

The 3D quality is not great but it is not bad either. In all three 3D movies the 3D effect was very pronounced the image quality very good with minimal cross-talk and blur.

If you are gaming in 3D mode at half res - 1920x540 Top bottom or 960x1080 side to side - @ 60hz (30hz per eye) you will have to do a bit of jiggery pokery but once you hit the sweet spot it is actually stunning. Been playing Trine 2 and am impressed by the image quality

Last edited by JaylumX; 04-30-2012 at 22:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-30-2012, 22:47 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

My experience with the Bravia I'm using at the moment is different. The Nvidia drivers output full RGB but my tele doesn't support full RGB. It is only a 8-bit panel, so I get black crush and have to use ycbcr444 which looks garbage. I'd actually be happy with limited RGB for desktop programs but know of no way to force it with Nvidia drivers. Maybe there is a registry hack but I don't know what it is. >.<
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
JaylumX
Master Guru
 
JaylumX's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 7950 @ 1150/1600
Processor: i5 760 @ 3.8
Mainboard: ASUS P7P55D-E
Memory: 12GB Corsair 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV 1.3/AV40
PSU: Corsair 750W PSU
Default 04-30-2012, 23:03 | posts: 486 | Location: Somewhere Else

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supertribble View Post
My experience with the Bravia I'm using at the moment is different. The Nvidia drivers output full RGB but my tele doesn't support full RGB. It is only a 8-bit panel, so I get black crush and have to use ycbcr444 which looks garbage. I'd actually be happy with limited RGB for desktop programs but know of no way to force it with Nvidia drivers. Maybe there is a registry hack but I don't know what it is. >.<
Bang
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 04-30-2012, 23:59 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

That fixes the limited RGB problem for monitors using HDMI. Apparently the divers get confused and think you're trying to use a HDTV. Basically Nvidia drivers have the whole colour space thing confused. Someone said something about disabling audio over HDMI but it only works for 10-bit panels. I'll say this for AMD, their drivers don't have these pixel format issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 05-04-2012, 13:17 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

One more question! I've seen a few people say LED tellies aren't great for gaming. What are your collective thoughts on that?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m, UE46D5000
Processor: i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB DDR3
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w
Default 05-04-2012, 13:58 | posts: 9,929 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

I get a slight amount of blurring, i'm pretty sure you get it with nearly every tv, which is what monitors are for.

It's fine for playing games on though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Supertribble
Master Guru
 
Supertribble's Avatar
 
Videocard: too many to list :P
Processor: 2600K@4.5 NH-D14
Mainboard: P8Z68 V-Pro
Memory: 16GB Mushkin Redline 2133
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: various
Default 05-04-2012, 15:05 | posts: 319 | Location: Earth

okie dokie
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.