Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark Vantage scores with your brand new GTX 295 SLI or Radeon HD 4870 X2 Crossfire in that Intel Core 2 rig? Then this is your section!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
3Dmark11 low combined score fix ?
Old
  (#1)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 3Dmark11 low combined score fix ? - 04-25-2012, 12:40 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

My "problem" is still that while I get a normal graphics, cpu, physics score my overall combined score is too low.

I know this issue has been addressed before but still I haven't found or heard of a solution or what is the actual cause of the low performance score.

I know that on the Futuremark site it has been stated that problem is:
The issue is that...
- The "official new way of detecting SLI setups" fails on far too many SLI systems. Original SystemInfo that shipped with 3DMark 11 does it like this and SLI configurations just hung before Test 6. So we had to revert it back to the "legacy" method.
- The "legacy way of detecting SLI setups" works, but it can't tell normal SLI from SLI that is in Single GPU mode (from NVIDIA control panel) or Multi-GPU config that has dedicated PhysX card.
- Test 6 (combined) load changes with the number of GPUs. In order to properly render the scene with multi-GPU, each GPU must have a copy of the GPU physics simulation running on it (using Bullet/DirectCompute) - otherwise the physics code would have to shuffle data between GPUs and that would slow things down horribly. Hence the benchmark needs to know how many GPUs you have.
- If Test 6 gets wrong number of GPUs (in your case, I guess it gets "3"), the number of DirectCompute simulations running is larger than the number of GPUs actually rendering the scene, causing notable performance loss.


With my setup I originally got a combined score of around 5600 points (old forceware 263,14 driver) which seemingly is too low also according to 3Dmark own health-meter.

Now several months have passed and I decided to once again fire up 3Dmark11 with the latest patch.
Before I used Forceware 280,26 which got me this result: http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3253056
With the latest WHQL Forceware 296,10 I got this result: http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3253056

Still even with newer drivers and the latest patch for 3Dmark11 the low Combined score issue isn't solved with 3 cards.
Well I managed to get a bit higher combined score though - but still not getting 6000points there as 3Dmark11 lists as the target score.
http://3dmark.com/healthcheck/3dm11/3253056

Is there any fix to this yet ? patch and newer drivers haven't help much since mid summer 2011.

Last edited by Gripen90; 04-25-2012 at 14:35.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-25-2012, 22:36 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

no one with a fix or ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-26-2012, 00:25 | posts: 19,079 | Location: New Jersey, USA

think your cpu speed needs to be increase. min 4.0 preferably higher with tri and oc your cards. I can get about 13,000 with 2 cards
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3024782;jses...xvp73de1bfjnx5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 04-26-2012, 00:55 | posts: 16,955 | Location: US East Coast

At stock clocks, i7 870 isn't even fast enough for GTX580 SLI....nevermind Tri-SLI...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-26-2012, 08:28 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

The CPU speed isn't the issue since it's in the normal range of the CPU type without overclocking.
(Haven't got the time or lust/interest in overclocking hardware any longer)

As addressed in the first post it's some sort of driver/futuremark card recognition issue when test 6 is initializing. This "bug" has existed for a year (almost) now, at I haven't seen any fix for it yet, but I don't know if I'm looking in the wrong place for the fix

The combined score remains the same with 2 and3 cards.

Last edited by Gripen90; 04-26-2012 at 08:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 04-26-2012, 13:34 | posts: 5,720 | Location: Switzerland

- Check you are not running in compatibility mode.

- maybe something to do with sysinfo.

- I have seen some little thing like that on Hwbot forum. Try look or ask there.


But as you seen in HWbot rankings, other dont look to have the same problem.
http://hwbot.org/benchmark/3dmark11_...=0#interval=20 ( search for 3x580 or score on the second or third page )

Last edited by Lane; 04-26-2012 at 13:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-26-2012, 14:43 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lane View Post
- Check you are not running in compatibility mode.

- maybe something to do with sysinfo.

- I have seen some little thing like that on Hwbot forum. Try look or ask there.


But as you seen in HWbot rankings, other dont look to have the same problem.
http://hwbot.org/benchmark/3dmark11_...=0#interval=20 ( search for 3x580 or score on the second or third page )
1) Is checked- it runs in normal (admin mode).

2) That my be an issue. As stated in from futuremark there can be a problem with the 3 card detection in test 6.

3) Yea I see. The only problem is that everything is overclocked so you can't see what the original "base" score is.
I so often see people "overclock out of their problems" - if their score is low then then OC it up and assume it's fixed...but with the removal of the OC the problem still lies dorment.

Still thanks for the hint, I'll look around at their forum
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Lane
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: 2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
Processor: I7 4930K H2o EK Supremacy
Mainboard: Asus X79 Deluxe
Memory: G-Skill C9 2133mhz 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Titanium HD + SP2500
PSU: CM 1000W
Default 04-26-2012, 15:09 | posts: 5,720 | Location: Switzerland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gripen90 View Post
1) Is checked- it runs in normal (admin mode).

2) That my be an issue. As stated in from futuremark there can be a problem with the 3 card detection in test 6.

3) Yea I see. The only problem is that everything is overclocked so you can't see what the original "base" score is.
I so often see people "overclock out of their problems" - if their score is low then then OC it up and assume it's fixed...but with the removal of the OC the problem still lies dorment.

Still thanks for the hint, I'll look around at their forum

Yeah, but if someone in the overclockers league have face this particular problem, they know how to fix for sure.. cause it will run them crazy to not have the score they should have.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 04-26-2012, 17:13 | posts: 16,955 | Location: US East Coast

The problem is that the 3 GTX580's are being heavily bottlenecked by the processor....which even Hilbert experienced on his OC'd test rig during his review of the cards. This is why others are "overclocking their way out of problems". Whether you like it or not, that is the solution.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-26-2012, 18:13 | posts: 6,949 | Location: USA

lol 3 580s on a 870.. bro my i7 2600k at 4.8 bottlenecks my cards slightly at these clocks. stock 580s are fine though. your graphics score is 1000 points more than mine(16000), either new cpu or take out the 3rd card
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-26-2012, 23:51 | posts: 19,079 | Location: New Jersey, USA

dont blame futurmark. its your cpu like I said before. oc your cpu and take out that 3rd card. look at the fps in the tests 2cards me 3 cards you. your 3rd card looks like its barely used. doesnt p55 m/b have something like half speed pci e slots or something like that?

Last edited by ---TK---; 04-26-2012 at 23:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970 SC | X270OC
Processor: I7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 10GB DDR3
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair HX1000w
Default 04-27-2012, 01:47 | posts: 4,184 | Location: Oakland, CA, US

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
dont blame futurmark. its your cpu like I said before. oc your cpu and take out that 3rd card. look at the fps in the tests 2cards me 3 cards you. your 3rd card looks like its barely used. doesnt p55 m/b have something like half speed pci e slots or something like that?
yes, p55 has a maximum of 24 pci-e lanes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-27-2012, 03:19 | posts: 6,949 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
dont blame futurmark. its your cpu like I said before. oc your cpu and take out that 3rd card. look at the fps in the tests 2cards me 3 cards you. your 3rd card looks like its barely used. doesnt p55 m/b have something like half speed pci e slots or something like that?
p55 has PCIe lanes that are rated 2.5GT/s compared to full speed lanes in sandy bridge 5GT/s. so yeah p55 x16 slot =s 8x sandy bridge slot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MM10X View Post
yes, p55 has a maximum of 24 pci-e lanes.
no it has 20 pci-e lanes. 16 lanes for the CPU alone and the other 4 dedicated to the chipset
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-27-2012, 09:31 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
lol 3 580s on a 870.. bro my i7 2600k at 4.8 bottlenecks my cards slightly at these clocks. stock 580s are fine though. your graphics score is 1000 points more than mine(16000), either new cpu or take out the 3rd card
Yes at 1280x720 resolution where the Performance benchmark is running the CPU is bottlenecking a bit. But in every day gaming I use 1920x1200 with max amount anti-aliasing this minimizing any bottleneck heavily.

This guy is running at ci7 870 stock clocks too but with 2-way SLi and still he gets a higher combined score than me 6600points vs 5900points.
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1644271
That's why I think something is odd.

Oh well I lost the 3Dmark logic when going from 3dm05/06.
Unigine Heaven still scales like it should.


Autumn 2011 I had ordered a P67 setup with core i7 2700K, but upon closer investigation I found out that I'd merely get 5-8% better performance than with the exsisting system at the settings I usually play at. That wasn't worth a $800 upgrade at the time.

A new Ci7 3820 with a matching 3-way- SLi capable motherboard is something I'd like in a near future... but isn't likely to happen since I'm pretty broke.

Last edited by Gripen90; 04-27-2012 at 10:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-27-2012, 19:20 | posts: 6,949 | Location: USA

Sorry but a 5-8% figure is way off. Not sure how you figured that in
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-27-2012, 20:26 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Sorry but a 5-8% figure is way off. Not sure how you figured that in
It would be in 1920x1200 and 16xmsaa/32csaa according to most reviews of the ci7 2700k vs 870.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-27-2012, 20:39 | posts: 6,949 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gripen90 View Post
It would be in 1920x1200 and 16xmsaa/32csaa according to most reviews of the ci7 2700k vs 870.
So you are saying you compared a review with 3 580s with a 2700k vs 870? You cant do guess work with multiple cards. CPU bottlenecks become very apparent when adding another card, especially a 3rd. Couple that with the low bandwidth PCIe lanes of the P55 chipset and you are looking at at least a 30-40% gain in FPS all around.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-27-2012, 20:48 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
So you are saying you compared a review with 3 580s with a 2700k vs 870? You cant do guess work with multiple cards. CPU bottlenecks become very apparent when adding another card, especially a 3rd. Couple that with the low bandwidth PCIe lanes of the P55 chipset and you are looking at at least a 30-40% gain in FPS all around.
The p67 nor z68 does anything usefull in that regard. Also by increasing the resolution and maximizing AA the cpu bottleneck gets considerably lower.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 04-27-2012, 22:36 | posts: 19,079 | Location: New Jersey, USA

OP thought you were here for help? Gl on your futuremark problem I'm out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-27-2012, 23:32 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by ---TK--- View Post
OP thought you were here for help? Gl on your futuremark problem I'm out.
The other aspect wasn't about the futuremark problem at all - it's about when you hit at bottleneck, and that bottleneck really depends on a lot of settings. I know that at the 3dm11 Performance settings the CPU is bottlenecking somewhat.... but at extreme setting at 1920x1080 the bottleneck is much smaller comparing CPU OC vs Non-OC.

This guy is running at ci7 870 stock clocks too but with 2-way SLi and still he gets a higher combined score than me 6600points vs 5900points.
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1644271
That's why I think something is still odd.

I'm gonna pull one card out and test with 2-way SLi running stock.

Last edited by Gripen90; 04-27-2012 at 23:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-28-2012, 01:00 | posts: 6,949 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gripen90 View Post
The p67 nor z68 does anything usefull in that regard. Also by increasing the resolution and maximizing AA the cpu bottleneck gets considerably lower.
Yes it does.

http://techreport.com/articles.x/20241

Quote:
So, what about the P67's PCI Express lanes? Those familiar with the P55 will remember that it, too, has PCIe lanes claiming second-generation status. But those lanes run at half speed and offer no more bandwidth than gen-one PCIe links. The P67's PCI Express 2.0 lanes are cranked up to the standard's full 5.0GT/s data rate, setting up a three-way comparison with the P55 and AMD's SB850.
as you can see, they have half speed bandwidth. and look at the benchmarks at the bottom. SSDs benefit greatly from the full speed P67 pcie slots.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLI GTX660
Processor: 2600K@4.5ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Memory: 16gb G.Skill DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Creative SB Recon3D PCIe
PSU: Seasonic M12II 620watt
Default 04-28-2012, 02:17 | posts: 16,955 | Location: US East Coast

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gripen90 View Post
Yes at 1280x720 resolution where the Performance benchmark is running the CPU is bottlenecking a bit. But in every day gaming I use 1920x1200 with max amount anti-aliasing this minimizing any bottleneck heavily.

This guy is running at ci7 870 stock clocks too but with 2-way SLi and still he gets a higher combined score than me 6600points vs 5900points.
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1644271
That's why I think something is odd.

Oh well I lost the 3Dmark logic when going from 3dm05/06.
Unigine Heaven still scales like it should.


Autumn 2011 I had ordered a P67 setup with core i7 2700K, but upon closer investigation I found out that I'd merely get 5-8% better performance than with the exsisting system at the settings I usually play at. That wasn't worth a $800 upgrade at the time.

A new Ci7 3820 with a matching 3-way- SLi capable motherboard is something I'd like in a near future... but isn't likely to happen since I'm pretty broke.
i7 2700K, even at stock clocks, is more than 5-8% faster. An i5 2400 is upwards of 20% faster in gaming.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Gripen90
Master Guru
 
Gripen90's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3x GTX 970@123/1815MHz
Processor: Intel Core i7 4930K@4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P9X79 Pro
Memory: 16GB Evo Corsa 2133MHz
Soundcard: RealtekHD + Logitech X530
PSU: Tt Toughpower 1500w
Default 04-28-2012, 13:09 | posts: 789 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by sykozis View Post
i7 2700K, even at stock clocks, is more than 5-8% faster. An i5 2400 is upwards of 20% faster in gaming.
Yes I know the 2700K is faster normally ! that was the reason why I wanted one in the first place, but upon investigating what the overall gaming performance would be at 1920x1200 and max AA it was obvious that the performance differece at these settings were so minimal - since at these kind of setting it's the GFX's that do all the load.
Of course there are some CPU bound games like WoW and other RTS games, but those games aren't my interest. Then there is some DX9 games like TF2 which can be CPU bound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Yes it does.

http://techreport.com/articles.x/20241



as you can see, they have half speed bandwidth. and look at the benchmarks at the bottom. SSDs benefit greatly from the full speed P67 pcie slots.
Yes that is correct, but I was thinking in terms of gaming performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.