Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can't Update AMD Driver...
Old
  (#1)
LuckyDeath
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD 5870 (x2)
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Silencer 750w 80+ Silver
Default Can't Update AMD Driver... - 04-19-2012, 07:47 | posts: 3 | Location: Somewhere down in TX

So I try to play BF3 and I get a random message telling me that I am not on latest AMD display drivers... which is weird because I just updated them (the message tells me I am on 11.5).

So I decide to download them again and reinstall to be sure. During installation I get an error message when it tries to update the display driver and the HDMI/DP Audio Driver:
"Driver Install: the installation failed Driver Install: the INF file was not found"

I decide to start from scratch. I shut down, and remove my 2nd 5870 (I run two of them in crossfire). I boot up into safemode, run Driver Sweeper, clean my registry, and uninstall drivers in device manager. Reboot, and I try to install the single 5870 all by itself. I get the same error message.

I have read of a work around of going into device manager, locating the driver manually, and installing them. But this also would not work, when I browse to the Driver folder in CCC, I get an error message:

"Windows found driver software for your device but encountered an error while attempting to install it.

There is no driver selected for the device information set or element."

I've redone the above process a few times and I keep ending up with the same result. I've tried older versions of CCC as well (11.9,12.1, etc) and still the same problem.

Anyone know of a way to fix this?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
linyanti
Master Guru
 
linyanti's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 4771
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus VI Hero z87
Memory: Mushkin DDR3 PC12800 32GB
Soundcard: Creative Titanium HD
PSU: Antec HCP 1300 Platinum
Default 04-19-2012, 11:52 | posts: 364 | Location: Florida

Was this working fine until recently?

What make and model is your motherboard? Does your motherboard have built-in (on board) audio/or video outputs? This can cause conflicts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
LuckyDeath
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD 5870 (x2)
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Silencer 750w 80+ Silver
Default 04-19-2012, 16:16 | posts: 3 | Location: Somewhere down in TX

As far as I know it was working just fine.

I did recently clean out my case, and decided to swap the configuration of my two 5870's. The one I had on the bottom I moved to the top instead, for better airflow.

One 5870 is a Sapphire Eyefinity 2GB edition, the other is a standard 1GB.

My motherboard is an Asus P8P67 Pro... so no onboard video. It does have integrated 7.1 Audio.

For what its worth, the cards seem to be functioning. I have managed to get Windows to install a driver update from 'Windows Update'. Its not the latest drivers, but I can play games... but probably not the best optimization, especially with my crossfire.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
LuckyDeath
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire AMD 5870 (x2)
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Silencer 750w 80+ Silver
Default 04-20-2012, 23:06 | posts: 3 | Location: Somewhere down in TX

Still looking for a solution... anyone have any suggestions? Thanks...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Clouseau
Master Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI HD6950 Twin Frozr III
Processor: Phenom II x4 940BE
Mainboard: ASUS M3A32-MVP WiFi
Memory: GSkill Pi-Black 4x2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec HCP 1200
Default 04-21-2012, 05:50 | posts: 280

Go into task manager and stop all non-windows processes. If the processes are not stopped, there will be more driver dlls left behind after uninstalling through control panel. Then uninstall catalyst through control panel. There will be left over ATI and AMD folders under the Program Data folder and the Users folders. Then will need to delete all the non-amd-chipset dlls associated with catalyst if running a mainboard with an amd chipset. After that then run CCleaner. When scanning the register with CCleaner make sure to run it more than once to make sure all registry entries it detects are all deleted. Then run System Ninja to get the remaining folders and files hiding under the recycle bin. If you're comfortable with working with redgedit, perform a search for ati and amd to find all the remaining registry entries left behind. Make sure you backup the registry on a flash drive before though. It is a lengthy process but will allow you to install Catalyst without issue. Here is a list of not so obvious dlls that are missed by both atiman and driver sweeper that is supplied by catalyst under system32 and sysWow64 folders: amdocl64, amdpcom64, OpenCL (both folders), OpenVideo64, OVDecode64, amdocl, amdpcom32, OpenVideo, and OVDecode.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
andersondiaz
Master Guru
 
andersondiaz's Avatar
 
Videocard: xfx hd 6990x2
Processor: i73930k@4,6ghz Raystorm
Mainboard: sabertooth x79
Memory: 16gb quadchannel corsair
Soundcard: halo claro
PSU: TT 1475watts gold
Default 04-21-2012, 06:22 | posts: 397 | Location: venezuela

google it, atiman last version and use!!! reinstall last drivers version with cap12.3...I hope you fix!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X Dual-X
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 04-21-2012, 07:22 | posts: 9,070 | Location: Sweden

I had this issue after I did a complete clean out of the ATI drivers when I re-installed the 12.4 / 8.960 drivers as I received my 7970 card to replace the 6970 I had.

Turns out it meant the HD Audio component and the drivers worked just fine anyway and that audio component got some function via some Microsoft provided drivers even so, anyway after doing a reinstall of the drivers and rebooting I could install that component manually and everything worked as it should that time.

Unsure what actually caused it, couldn't find any proper info while googling around, only some vague estimations and odd tips on how to do that and this which wasn't very helpful.

EDIT: Didn't use any utilities while cleaning out the drivers either but instead removed all traces manually by checking what those utilities actually remove. (It's actually very easy, it's also quite surprising how much can be left over after doing a complete uninstall but it matters little since the reinstall will replace most anything other than custom profiles and some reg entries and normally they won't cause a problem though there's certainly no harm in being thorough when installing drivers either that's for certain.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
andersondiaz
Master Guru
 
andersondiaz's Avatar
 
Videocard: xfx hd 6990x2
Processor: i73930k@4,6ghz Raystorm
Mainboard: sabertooth x79
Memory: 16gb quadchannel corsair
Soundcard: halo claro
PSU: TT 1475watts gold
Default 04-21-2012, 07:44 | posts: 397 | Location: venezuela

all new driver amd, need clean install, all new hardware need clean install, I recomend use atiman, this program clean deep, reg and files in win.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kn00tcn
Maha Guru
 
kn00tcn's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870x2
Processor: Intel Q9550 3.6ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q-E
Memory: OCZ 2x2gb 5-4-4-15 840mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 04-23-2012, 00:53 | posts: 1,555 | Location: Toronto

dont forget to open device manager & show hidden devices, could be a mess of installed versions that confused bf3?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.