Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Whitebox in Win 7??
Old
  (#1)
Robaroo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor HD 5970 2GB
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU
Mainboard: Dell XPS 8000 - DP55M01
Memory: 4 x 2GB Elpida 2Rx8 PC3
Soundcard: (Creative SB X-Fi)
PSU: 800w
Default Whitebox in Win 7?? - 04-16-2012, 10:16 | posts: 7 | Location: Aussie in Denmark

Hey folks

Im having an issue with my desktop and cant really work out why after having the pc for 2yrs now. The white box has only appeared the last month. Anyone have any suggestions pls to help me sort it?

Cheers





http://imageshack.us/f/846/whitebox.jpg/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Li4m79
Ancient Guru
 
Li4m79's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xPalit GTX770 Jetstream
Processor: i5 4670k@4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus z87-Pro
Memory: 8Gb - Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: oboard
PSU: Corsair RM 750w
Default 04-16-2012, 11:03 | posts: 4,879 | Location: Scotland

few things..:

Is it there in Safe mode??
Is it only on the desktop or does it effect programs?
Have you tried changing your background (might be a corrupt image)
Virus/malware scan?
up to date drivers??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SirDremor
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX680 2Gb
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.6 Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 3x2Gb
Soundcard: Creative SB X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 04-16-2012, 11:11 | posts: 269 | Location: Moscow, Russia

^this (well, except drivers...)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-16-2012, 11:32 | posts: 6,537 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Change your wallpaper? lol maybe the white box is on the image


You have windows booted in test mode, what for? Are you running non signed drivers?

Boot in normal mode ? Uninstall the unsigned drivers
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 04-16-2012, 11:55 | posts: 24,008 | Location: NZ

Malware? But yeah as above why are you running in test mode?

The other obvious question is what changes or new software was installed in your system when the box appeared?

Last edited by Pill Monster; 04-16-2012 at 11:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Robaroo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor HD 5970 2GB
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU
Mainboard: Dell XPS 8000 - DP55M01
Memory: 4 x 2GB Elpida 2Rx8 PC3
Soundcard: (Creative SB X-Fi)
PSU: 800w
Default 04-16-2012, 12:26 | posts: 7 | Location: Aussie in Denmark

Thanx for replies folks

Checked the wallpaper and it isnt that.

never noticed the test mode before Tried restarting pressing F8 and chose to start in normal mode but it still ends up showing test mode.

The square is usually gone after a restart but tends to appear again after a bit of time
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 GAMING TF 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.9GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: 5.1 Surround
PSU: Corsair TX950
Default 04-16-2012, 12:27 | posts: 6,537 | Location: 127.0.0.1

check that your gadgets aren't messing up and trying to load a broken one

Also check task manager for any rouge processes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Anubis
Ancient Guru
 
Anubis's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 460 1GB
Processor: Q6600@3.4Ghz - CM V8
Mainboard: Asus P5Q pro -modded bios
Memory: 8gb Corsair
Soundcard: -
PSU: LC-Power Metatron 8750II
Default 04-16-2012, 14:18 | posts: 2,782 | Location: ∞

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
check that your gadgets aren't messing up and trying to load a broken one

Also check task manager for any rouge processes
+1 looks like a gadget to me..

Can you click / right click or move it?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Year
Ancient Guru
 
Year's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: Intel® i7 2600
Mainboard: Asus P67 Evo
Memory: G.Skill Sniper DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Auzentech Bravura 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W
Default 04-16-2012, 16:33 | posts: 11,696 | Location: ♫

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robaroo View Post
Thanx for replies folks

Checked the wallpaper and it isnt that.

never noticed the test mode before Tried restarting pressing F8 and chose to start in normal mode but it still ends up showing test mode.

The square is usually gone after a restart but tends to appear again after a bit of time
a few years ago i had this issue shortly before my ATI card failed, it worked perfectly well for a month then one day it started doing this on the desktop before failing, i rebooted and got nothing on screen and just beeps, the curious thing is that i had 0 issues in games, games used to run perfectly well.

i RMA the card and they exchanged it with a new one which worked fine for more than a year and half, the card was the 4970 x2 and apparently was faulty.

so could be a failing card, something as simple as a white box could be an indication, unless it's a piece of software like others said, a gadget or something.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Robaroo
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor HD 5970 2GB
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU
Mainboard: Dell XPS 8000 - DP55M01
Memory: 4 x 2GB Elpida 2Rx8 PC3
Soundcard: (Creative SB X-Fi)
PSU: 800w
Default 04-18-2012, 18:52 | posts: 7 | Location: Aussie in Denmark

Checked up on why the pc was running test mode. Got rid of the test mode which seemed to have gotten ridden of me white box.

Thanx everyone for the great feedback
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.