Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Shadowdane
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 04-13-2012, 19:24 | posts: 795 | Location: Virginia

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadKillNL View Post
Thanks, will skip the 2GB Version that's for sure. Don't want to make the same mistake again like i did with the 580 1.5GB and think it's enough. Cuz it clearly isn't futureproof
Yah Skyrim specifically with all the high res textures eats texture memory like crazy, especially if you throw lots of FSAA into the mix. I'm sure I'd be fine if I switched to using FXAA and didn't use FSAA at all.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Evileh
Newbie
 
Videocard: Saphirre ATI Radeon HD 68
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 945 @ 3.
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850 Watt ABS
Default 04-13-2012, 21:05 | posts: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowdane View Post
Highest I've seen is about 2012MB usage in some of the forests, here is a list of all the texture related mods I'm using. I'm also using some customized .ini settings and ugridstoload = 7.
I usually hit around 3.5 GB and that's just on 1680 x 1050
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Shadowdane
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780Ti SLI
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Hero
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3-2400
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Corsair 850HX
Default 04-13-2012, 21:37 | posts: 795 | Location: Virginia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evileh View Post
I usually hit around 3.5 GB and that's just on 1680 x 1050
Wow you must be using a ton of additional texture mods? I wasn't using much beyond the Realistic Overhaul. If I remove that I hover around 1GB to 1.3GB usage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
DSparil
Ancient Guru
 
DSparil's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 7870 IceQ GHz 2GB
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.3 w/YASYA
Mainboard: ASUS M5A97
Memory: 8GB G.Skill 1866
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: TT Toughpower XT 675
Default 04-13-2012, 22:14 | posts: 2,914 | Location: Tampa Bay, FL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanny View Post
Anyone else can't see themselves replaying Skyrim? Even if it has the best mod support out there...
If I were to replay it entirely, it would be sometime in the future and not anytime soon. I have too many games I haven't finished lined up, including some classics like Icewind Dale and KOTOR 2. The good thing about Skyrim is that it is sooo long and engrossing that you don't need to play it through again to achieve 200 hours of play time! The side quests alone (main story not included) could take you well over 100 hours. This is what I call a RPG folks. With Skyrim I feel I got every bit of my moneys worth and then some
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-14-2012, 11:34 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLightning View Post
that glorious grass mod is pretty awesome. quite a fps drop, but ill stick to it for a few hours of play to test it out.

screenshots

 Click to show spoiler
Yeah it's quite a fps hit and I keep telling myself that I'll settle for lush grass but once I load up and see it I just can't get myself around to uninstalling
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
WhiteLightning
Ancient Guru
 
WhiteLightning's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780GTX ACX
Processor: i7-2600k HT @ 4.5 +H70 PP
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD65 GAMING
Memory: Gskill 2133Mhz 8GB
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair 1000 watt
Default 04-14-2012, 12:00 | posts: 23,493 | Location: Hoek van Holland, Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackZero View Post
Yeah it's quite a fps hit and I keep telling myself that I'll settle for lush grass but once I load up and see it I just can't get myself around to uninstalling
yeah i know what you mean
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
damien666
Ancient Guru
 
damien666's Avatar
 
Videocard: gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
Processor: i7 930 stock H2O
Mainboard: asus III gene
Memory: 6gb corsair dominator GT
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W DXX
Default 04-14-2012, 13:34 | posts: 11,674 | Location: nottingham, uk

right guys i really want to enjoy this game but i find a few problems

1) the leveling system is to quick, you get super strong super early and get all the best items in game way to early, and then you put the game in master diff and you level up even quicker as you get more XP from dead peeps .. so then i get to whiterun for the first time at level 20+ and i explore the land to the west then level upto 50+ in this small area and their is no point in playing as i have all the best gear and think searching chests and exploring for stuff is waste of time

2) the skill leveling is stupid easy and i cant help but exploit it, ie smithing, i can get 100% smithing in less than 30min at level 20 by making iron daggers, and because i can do this i do it then think well now im sure strong whats the point also other skill tree items are broke like this

is their a mod to sort this out so i can play and level much slower and make it worth while exploring ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
])rStrangelove
Ancient Guru
 
])rStrangelove's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX780 SC ACX 3GB
Processor: Intel i7-2600k@4.3
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3-B3
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: AsusXonar D2X
PSU: BeQuiet! DarkPowerPro750W
Default 04-14-2012, 17:14 | posts: 3,778 | Location: Northcoast of Germany

I subcribed to the "Skyrim Scaling Stopper" mod which creates a 99% static world for you to explore. You can find any weapon or monster from level 1 on, but the higher ones are extremely rare.

Means you get slapped around a lot at levels 1-10 and you're better off sneaking & fleeing to level up. Around 20 you'll have your revenge and around 30 you're feeling like a hero, only paying attention to better equipped bosses, all the rest is just cannon fodder.

Great fun!


http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=9857

Last edited by ])rStrangelove; 04-14-2012 at 17:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Elder III
Maha Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R9 290 4GB 5760x1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD45
Memory: 12 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair CX-600
Default 04-14-2012, 19:01 | posts: 2,410 | Location: Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by damien666 View Post

snip


is their a mod to sort this out so i can play and level much slower and make it worth while exploring ?
Yes, it's called "Self Restraint" and it doesn't even need to be downloaded. Seriously, what's the big deal? If you think something is over powered then don't use it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
AndrosForever
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800M GTS 1gb
Processor: Dual Core X9100
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 130 W
Default 04-15-2012, 05:57 | posts: 36 | Location: Next to my P7805u

I am looking for a mod that cures villagers from Leeroy Jenkinisis.

A.k.a. running towards any enemy in the town and fighting to the death.

Town of Riften just got attacked by Bandits and Marauders and the fight was awesome, but too many important villager NPC's rushed to the fight and be killed instantly.

I need a mod that makes Villagers more reasonably cowardly.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#61)
The Chubu
Maha Guru
 
The Chubu's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
Processor: i5 2500K stock
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb Patriot G2 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Satellite SL-8600EPS 600w
Default 04-15-2012, 13:19 | posts: 2,541 | Location: Look out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wanny View Post
Anyone else can't see themselves replaying Skyrim? Even if it has the best mod support out there...
Me. In my first playthrough did almost everything that could be done. 180hs playing with a nord/prostormcloack/thief/assassin. Then i started a new character on a completely opposite way, proimperial/khajiit/heavyarmor/twohanded guy. Got bored of it pretty fast, like 30hs or so.

Whereas in Oblivion i started tons of characters, i had a few 100hs+ characters, plus a bunch of 50hs characters. I loved the first levels (before bandits in glass armor appeare).

Skyrim just doesnt drives me back to play again for some reason, its like there is a lot more content but it isnt as rewarding to play. Much of the main stuff to do isnt very interesting except for the fact that you get to see more cool environments, but as for the story, characters or their relation/influence in the world, its pretty much "meh".

The only good thing about the MQ is probably Paarthumax, as for the Civil War questline and the guilds, there isnt much memorable stuff, just a bunch of underdeveloped characters with underdeveloped motives in very developed environments.

I dunno, Oblivion left a better impression than Skyrim, TW1, TW2 and DAO too. Make no mistake, i didnt replayed DAO, and i left my 2nd TW2 playthrough in the 3rd chapter BUT i dont feel bad about them at all, they pretty much did what they were intended to do. As for Skyrim, it has some severely lacking aspects that i expected them to be better, specially after playing New Vegas, which could be viewed as a different point of view of Beth's characteristic open world take on RPGs, which i liked way more than FO3 and Oblivion (even with the invisible wall in some parts).

I had hoped Beth would learn a lot from Obsidian's take on their stuff but alas seems that Beth kinda set what they have tried with FO franchise way too apart from TES. For example, i dont think that someone would have complained about extensive use of skill checks for dialogue like FO3 and (to a greater extent) FONV uses or localized damage (legs, arms, head, torso, etc) that was used in creatures and humans, which gave much more life and deph to combat.

Very annoying to think "Why i cant hack their arms appart so they dont block!" when swinging a battleaxe or why i cant cripple the legs of some distant target with a bow. Thats something they had working pretty well before but was left out for no apparent reason (like say, removing spell crafting without adding new interesting spells at all).

Last edited by The Chubu; 04-15-2012 at 13:26.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290 Tri-X Vapor-X OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 04-16-2012, 12:12 | posts: 9,841 | Location: Sweden

http://elderscrolls.wikia.com/wiki/U...s_%28Skyrim%29

Was going trough the unmarked locations (Most of them listed above.) via a modification that adds map markers to many of them ( http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=14976 ) and found a rather funny location, seems it's leveled though so visiting it early will just yield low quality items.
( http://elderscrolls.wikia.com/wiki/Pincushion_Peter )


EDIT: To avoid double posting I'll just edit this existing post, might be more easily missed though others will likely report on it also so it's not much of a concern.

http://yfrog.com/odtyxcurj

That appeared on their Twitter like account.
( http://yfrog.com/user/Bethblog/profile Unless it's meant for Rage or something.)

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 04-16-2012 at 18:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
The Chubu
Maha Guru
 
The Chubu's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
Processor: i5 2500K stock
Mainboard: Asus P8P67-M Pro
Memory: 16Gb Patriot G2 1333Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Satellite SL-8600EPS 600w
Default 04-17-2012, 04:57 | posts: 2,541 | Location: Look out!

Some ppl say its not Skyrim and i agree. Thats definitively not ingame I dont see Beth doing more CG trailers besides that small part of the first Skyrim trailer. Besides this:
Quote:
Bethblog4 hours agovia webTwitter
RT @DCDeacon: @GameStopCentral you know, we do make other games besides Skyrim.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
The Michael
Maha Guru
 
The Michael's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Intel i7 860 @3.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P55-UD5
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio / G35
PSU: Coolermaster 750W
Default 04-18-2012, 21:50 | posts: 1,456

It's Dishonored.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 7970 OC
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 04-19-2012, 22:09 | posts: 8,110 | Location: United Kingdom

We finally have a mod that adds real lightning to thunderstorms.


Lightning during Thunder Storms Mod
by Minty

http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=15506


Images:

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
AndrosForever
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 9800M GTS 1gb
Processor: Dual Core X9100
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 130 W
Default 04-24-2012, 04:14 | posts: 36 | Location: Next to my P7805u

I just had one of those rare gaming moments that really make you pause for a second and go "Wow... what did I just witness". In a good way. A very very good way. So good I can't go any further in the game without writing about it first

I have a lot of mods installed, so if you need to know which ones I am using. I'll share my list.

*very slight spoilers below*

I was making my trip to the shrine of Azura from a nearby coast town wearing my dark nightingale armor.

My character is currently a vampire, but looking for a cure (I am currently RP'ing that he needs the soul gem of Azura to get cured, not just any regular black soul gem with a greater soul) so he is on his way there during the night.

A blizzard is raging along the mountains and journeying his way across the mist he finds himself in the middle of a large battle between the Stormcloaks and the Legionnaires.

The two are tearing each other apart, with the Legionnaires having the advantage at first but eventually losing that advantage by being flanked by Stormcloak archers. My characters doesn't get involved in the battle and travels on.

It was amazing seeing how original the AI can be in these situations, with lone Legion archers hiding in Ice crevices to stay out of the open only to eventually get shot off the cliff flying for hundreds of yards.

I move on and find an old Dwemer ruin in the mountains where I notice a giant is fighting some wolves. All of a sudden I hear a dragon's cry and look up. He is flying above the field and I hide to hopefully escape his notice. (I am using deadly dragon mods and they are much harder than in vanilla, a powerful dragon can take on an army, as it should be).

Suddenly the most beautiful thing I have seen in gaming happens. While I look at the dragon flying above me he lets out a dragon shout and the raging blizzard turns into hard rain. Solid ice spears fall from the sky and I stop sneaking and start rushing away towards some cover in the mountain paths ahead.

Luckily the dragon ignores me and takes on the giant. I run forward without looking back, but the rain does not stop. There are goats, deer and all sorts of wildlife running around in panic as the storm rages on.

Just as I feel I have escaped danger and I am safe away from the dragon, he swoops in above me. I go into sneak and luckily he hasn't noticed me. After a couple of rounds the dragon, who was obviously victorious against the giant, decides it's time to rest. He lands himself on a high mountain peak and goes to sleep.

The rain stops and snow starts once again gently falling from the sky as the sun comes up. Soon after I reach Azura's shrine, which is another amazing sight with the sun glare gleaming from behind it.

That was the last hour or so of Skyrim for me. Suffice it to say: Best, game, ever.

Last edited by AndrosForever; 04-24-2012 at 04:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 04-24-2012, 10:11 | posts: 3,828 | Location: The Netherlands

I had wondered where this thread went

Currently not playing myself anymore, but that has to do with the fact that i want a GTX 680 4GB I could buy a Gainward Phantom already, but i'm not up for 2 x 80MM Fans as a "Silence Freak"

I do keep updating addons and check NMM daily tho
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
The Michael
Maha Guru
 
The Michael's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 680 Lightning
Processor: Intel i7 860 @3.6
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P55-UD5
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio / G35
PSU: Coolermaster 750W
Default 04-24-2012, 19:51 | posts: 1,456

Finished the main quest.

I don't feel like returning to it too often now,
i still got some things to do... but it all just feels the same.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI TF GTX 770
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro4
Memory: 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 04-24-2012, 20:03 | posts: 5,593

I lost interest in the game after reaching lvl 53. Hardly touched it in last several weeks. Think I did all the good quests, have no patience for the silly ones that bounce you from one NPC to another to do whatever mediocre job may be required. I dont think I will replay the game again. Kind of surprised because loved it early on and saw much replay value but I guess not any more at this point in time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: KFA2 Anarchy 580@930/4650
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHz - blew it!
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67 UD4 B3
Memory: 8G Kngston 2.2GHz CL11 1T
Soundcard: Minimax+ & Dexa Opamps !!
PSU: Corsair Pro AX750
Default 04-24-2012, 20:08 | posts: 9,769 | Location: UK

I'm playing Kingdoms of Amalur, will continue Skyrim in a bit.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
damien666
Ancient Guru
 
damien666's Avatar
 
Videocard: gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
Processor: i7 930 stock H2O
Mainboard: asus III gene
Memory: 6gb corsair dominator GT
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W DXX
Default 04-24-2012, 20:37 | posts: 11,674 | Location: nottingham, uk

is their a mod to slow leveling curl in game?

i find making it to level 20 is super easy and then to 30 is easy and then it starts to slow for me at level 40.

what would be great is a mod that increases the XP needed to level possibly x2 or x3 times the current games xp needed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
IAmGhostDog
Maha Guru
 
IAmGhostDog's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD7950 3GB
Processor: FX8350/Hyper 212 EVO
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Memory: Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: HT|Omega Claro
PSU: Enermax NAXN 82+ 750W
Default 04-25-2012, 18:47 | posts: 1,014 | Location: Milwaukee, Wi USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by damien666 View Post
is their a mod to slow leveling curl in game?

i find making it to level 20 is super easy and then to 30 is easy and then it starts to slow for me at level 40.

what would be great is a mod that increases the XP needed to level possibly x2 or x3 times the current games xp needed
You could try this:
http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=1175
Play with the values contained therein.
Quote:
You have the possibility to set a different skill level cap of your choice for each different skill.
You can also modify each different rate at which your character earns skill experience.
And you can set the max skill level used by the game formulas when calculating skill benefits.
Modify SKSE_Elys_Uncapper.ini with a basic text editor such as Notepad.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Svarog
Ancient Guru
 
Svarog's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 680 4GB
Processor: Intel Core 4770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB G.Skill ARES 2133 MHz
Soundcard: SoundBlaster ZxR
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 760
Default 04-25-2012, 19:09 | posts: 3,828 | Location: The Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mufflore View Post
I'm playing Kingdoms of Amalur, will continue Skyrim in a bit.
Will continue soon here aswell, seeing the 4GB GTX 680 costs about 560 Euro now, which is a fair price for an additional 2GB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
damien666
Ancient Guru
 
damien666's Avatar
 
Videocard: gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
Processor: i7 930 stock H2O
Mainboard: asus III gene
Memory: 6gb corsair dominator GT
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W DXX
Default 04-27-2012, 20:01 | posts: 11,674 | Location: nottingham, uk

Level Curve Rebalance
http://skyrim.nexusmods.com/downloads/file.php?id=1094


how did he edit the EXP needed to level up as i really want to edit my own, ya see id like the skill perks to level as they do now but if like the over all needed EXP to level increased more

i basically want the over all leveling progress to take 3-5times longer, so that whe i get say a steal set of armor their isnt ebony or else within 1hour of game play to upgrade to, im fed up with leveling so fat that its worthless me playing anymore once i get to white run as i have all the best gear..

i can get to level 45 a few hours of game play and then i still have 70% or more of the world to explore but no reason to
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 04-28-2012, 12:53 | posts: 2,508 | Location: UK

Hey Guys

I'm having a little trouble in Skyrim! Is there anyway to Fast Travel out of an area that wouldn't normally let you? I'm trapped in Forbidden Legend I think it is. The rotating door, or whatever its called is shut and I can't get back out. I've killed the three peeps in there and Re-Forged the Amulet, however I know can't get out.

I could reload a saved game, but I'd have to go back to the beginning and I really can't be bothered to go throw it all again.

Tbh I'm not sure how I got through, as I didn't unlock the door, I just seemed to pass through it whils't attempting to unlock it, must have been a glitch in the game. Knew I shouldn't have continued as I saved over the part where I was stood at the door and may now have to start again

So any help to get out of here without going through it all again would be great, even if I have to use a cheat to get out I don't care lol
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.