Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-27-2012, 06:57 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

I appreciate all the responses and suggestions. I'm going to do some logging with GPU-Z to see if I can find any patterns. I'm considering exchanging it for another tomorrow just for my own piece of mind, but I have little confidence that I will see a change based on the reports floating around out there. I'll keep everyone posted.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-27-2012, 07:30 | posts: 24,205 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstrosser View Post
I appreciate all the responses and suggestions. I'm going to do some logging with GPU-Z to see if I can find any patterns. I'm considering exchanging it for another tomorrow just for my own piece of mind, but I have little confidence that I will see a change based on the reports floating around out there. I'll keep everyone posted.
Well put it this way; if you swap out the card and still get BSOD then it's pretty unlikely (but not impossible) the GPU is to blame but yeah still could be anything...

But if you don't get anymore bsod's you'll know the card was faulty for sure...that's how I see anyway.

So you have a 50/50 chance of eliminating the problem by returning the card yeah?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-27-2012, 07:43 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Well put it this way; if you swap out the card

...

But if you don't get anymore bsod's you'll know the card was faulty for sure...that's how I see anyway.
Agreed!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 3GB SLI
Processor: 5960X @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: G930
PSU: 850W XFX
Default 03-27-2012, 09:25 | posts: 324 | Location: London

I'm still not sure its a faulty card. Can you try it in another machine?

How about installing windows to a new partition just to test that it isn't conflicting drivers.

you could even try as someone mentioned - installing CCC on the new OS but ONLY install the drivers component making sure not to install CCC etc, and if CCC is running kill CCC and MOM.

And finally, it may sound obvious but dont install any software that does anything with the display layer such as steam or origin in game overlays, Teamviewer / VNC monitor drivers etc
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
mattfca
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 7970
Processor: 1055t @ 4ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair
Default 03-27-2012, 19:12 | posts: 1

I had this same problem when I first upgraded my CF6950's to the 7970.

It was a driver issue, I had to delete all old drivers then install drivers fresh.

The card is not at fault.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-27-2012, 22:09 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

I decided to exchange the card just to be on the safe side. I'll keep everyone posted.
-Chris
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-28-2012, 02:23 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Well, as I figured, this is not caused by a faulty card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-28-2012, 02:32 | posts: 24,205 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstrosser View Post
Well, as I figured, this is not caused by a faulty card.
Awesome. Have you trued running just one monitor yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-28-2012, 04:34 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Awesome. Have you trued running just one monitor yet?
Should I physically disconnect the second monitor, or just leave it off?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-28-2012, 04:44 | posts: 24,205 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstrosser View Post
Should I physically disconnect the second monitor, or just leave it off?
Disconnect it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#36)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-28-2012, 07:55 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Disconnect it.
Thanks for the suggestion. I'll give it a go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-28-2012, 20:47 | posts: 24,205 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstrosser View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. I'll give it a go.
Hey mate have a look at this..
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...rmessages.aspx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-28-2012, 20:59 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Yeah, that was the first place I looked after getting the card. Unfortunately, mothing there was helpful.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
adrock311
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 4gb SC
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 8 gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: 850 watt Thermaltake
Default 03-31-2012, 18:24 | posts: 753

I keep having the atikmpag.sys 116 BSOD with 6870 crossfire, it only happens when a game is starting up, and not every time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 04-01-2012, 02:17 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Update: No BSOD since the 12.3 drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Rzeki
Newbie
 
Videocard: xfx 7970 black edition x3
Processor: i7 3960x
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 14785 watt thermaltake
Default 04-02-2012, 05:18 | posts: 1

trifire xfx 7970s 3way eyefinity with random crashes on all three cards running individually, and all combinations of xfire, running 12.3 reporting in.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
adrock311
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 4gb SC
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 8 gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: 850 watt Thermaltake
Default 04-02-2012, 07:11 | posts: 753

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rzeki View Post
trifire xfx 7970s 3way eyefinity with random crashes on all three cards running individually, and all combinations of xfire, running 12.3 reporting in.
if its BSOD 116 atikmpag.sys , try reading this:

from here: http://forums.wowgrunt.com/sc2/threa...3438&region=us

THE ABOVE FIXED A LOT OF ISSUES FOR ME, BUT THIS BELOW IS WHAT FINALLY LET ME PLAY THE GAME!

Credits go to MooMoo

Link
http://dev.chiasoft.net/index.php?topic=6987.0

This applies to Windows Vista/7 Users.
*Just note, I will not be responsible if you mess something up, but this requires Windows Registry Tweaks, so please make sure you are familiar before attempting.*

The reason/issue:
This is crashing is because Windows Vista/7 have the stupid "TDR" built into the OS set at 2 seconds, and it does it kinda poorly in my opinion.

In plain english:
Windows Vista/7 checks/polls your video card every so often, to make sure it hasn't "crashed", kind of like a "ping" to the card. Normally, the graphics driver/card responds right away.
Well what happens is, when you are running SCII and some other Graphics Intensive Games, your graphics card is busy processing the game commands and renders, so it may not respond to windows within 2 seconds. This is the part that crashes the game, as per Windows Default, when the 2 second Timeout Detect Period passed, Windows kicks in the Graphics/GPU/VPU recovery process. (Shuts off and restarts the Video card, and drivers.)
So at this point SCII just lost the device it was sending all the graphics rendering commands to. Hence the black screen with the lines/ looping sound, etc.

The Fix:
We will raise the TDR timeout period to 10 seconds. (this should be sufficient, don't go any higher as it may be bad for your video card IF an actual issue does arise.)
1. Open Registry Editior (regedit.exe)
2. Navigate to "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Contr ol\GraphicsDrivers"
3. Create a new 32_BIT DWORD Key, and name it "TdrDelay" (case-sensitive) and assign it a Decimal Value of "10". (If one already exists, just change the value from 2 to 10)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
HarryRag
Member Guru
 
HarryRag's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX680-DC2O-2GD5
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 3.9Ghz Air
Mainboard: Evga X58 SLI
Memory: OCZ 12Gig Platinum XTC
Soundcard: Corsair Vengeance 1500
PSU: OCZ ZX 1250W
Default 04-02-2012, 12:32 | posts: 117 | Location: Behind my Keyboard

Thnx for the info, I'm gonna give it a go since only the cape verdi driver doesn't TDR or Bsod for me.

small update, crash went to a 117 (pc locked in black screen) instead of the previous 116 which was an BSOD.

Last edited by HarryRag; 04-02-2012 at 15:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 04-03-2012, 18:17 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

First BSOD since update happened overnight. =/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 04-04-2012, 18:28 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

The dreaded BSOD during desktop tasks is back. I have many words I'd like to utter, but my bet is that they are against the TOS for this forum.

I can't say this enough... AMD really f-ed up on this one...very badly. They've managed to make me, a lifelong AMD user, start considering Nvidia.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Krogtheclown
Maha Guru
 
Krogtheclown's Avatar
 
Videocard: Tri 780 6000x10
Processor: i5 3570k@4.6 water
Mainboard: ASUS MAXIMUS V EXTREME
Memory: 12GB Corsair
Soundcard: Logitech surround
PSU: 1500watt Silver Stone
Default 04-04-2012, 20:32 | posts: 934 | Location: Illinois

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstrosser View Post
The dreaded BSOD during desktop tasks is back. I have many words I'd like to utter, but my bet is that they are against the TOS for this forum.

I can't say this enough... AMD really f-ed up on this one...very badly. They've managed to make me, a lifelong AMD user, start considering Nvidia.
use 11.12 the original driver and that should do it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
ibfr33k
Newbie
 
Videocard: PC 7970 1200/1600 1.179v
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.5ghz 1.26v
Mainboard: AsRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 4x4GB
Soundcard: Logitech G35
PSU: OCZ 650
Default 04-04-2012, 22:32 | posts: 21 | Location: Missery

I had some odd off and on trouble when I upgraded from my 5870 to the 7970. It was time for me to do my usual reformat and reload windows 7 and when I did it fixed all the problems I have been having. Before I reloaded windows I couldn't install the 12.4 drivers. But now it installs just fine and my BF3 runs smoother than ever.

I tried uninstalling then reinstalling with no fix. I used the Atimon uninstaller and it didn't help. So I guess there was something that was being left behind for it to not work smoothly without random lockups. After the reformat, smooth as silk.

Have you tried reinstalling windows? Might be worth a try.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 04-05-2012, 00:44 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibfr33k View Post
Have you tried reinstalling windows? Might be worth a try.
It's a valid suggestion, but I'm not willing to give that one a go at this point. I've never had to reinstall Windows to install graphics drivers. I own three other AMD cards that work flawlessly -- HD 6870, HD 6450, and HD 4650. I'm very confident that it is not my system, but instead, poorly programmed drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 04-05-2012, 00:49 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krogtheclown View Post
use 11.12 the original driver and that should do it.
Thanks for the suggestion. I gave the 11.12 drivers a go at one point, and found that they have more problems than any of the recent drivers (at least for what I do). The most recent drivers fixed some issues specific to the simulator I bought the card for (X-Plane), so unfortunately even with the BSOD, these drivers are still far better than the others out there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 04-05-2012, 01:25 | posts: 2,978 | Location: Canada

You should none the less test your PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bsod, hd 7970, windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.