Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#201)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 03-28-2012, 01:49 | posts: 2,214 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Regardless of what Unwinder said UOC does not break ULPS nor does it break PowerPlay, at least on my card anyway..
The last 6 or 7 builds of AB I 've used UOC and not once has it caused a problem with my clock settings.

That's why I can't see what the difference is between the xcl and uoc.
Honestly, i have no way of telling if ulps is broken or not. Im taking unwinder at his word. Since he works with these interfaces on a daily basis, i have to assume he knows what hes talking about.

As far as UOC goes, i was having sticky clock issues, i did fix it eventually. but finally abandoned it for xlc mode as its less of an annoyance. UOC would randomly reset my overdrive without telling me. And now that AMD has removed the interface, i see no use for it anymore.

With /xlc, i dont really have to run AB at all, except i need to cusom fan profile.

Last edited by The Mac; 03-28-2012 at 01:51.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#202)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-28-2012, 01:52 | posts: 23,768 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
Honestly, i have no way of telling if ulps is broken or not. Im taking unwinder at his word.
Use this to check;
ftp://ftp.achromaticcomputing.com/ul...ity_v1.1.4.exe

It's really only a problem in Crossfire anyway tbh...

Last edited by Pill Monster; 03-28-2012 at 01:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#203)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 03-28-2012, 01:56 | posts: 2,214 | Location: USA

yeah, i use that utility to disable it. I was referring to "broken".
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#204)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-28-2012, 01:57 | posts: 23,768 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Mac View Post
yeah, i use that utility to disable it. I was referring to "broken".
Oh right...

AnywayI guess just because I don't have a problem doesn't mean nobody else is either...

So many variables around all this crap. Like why can I change voltage in Trixx but not AB??

Last edited by Pill Monster; 03-28-2012 at 02:00.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#205)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 03-28-2012, 01:59 | posts: 2,214 | Location: USA

yeah, i dont use xfire, so i just disable it. A few peniies a month in electricity isnt worth the hassle when it decides to not play nice with others...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#206)
ibfr33k
Newbie
 
Videocard: PC 7970 1200/1600 1.179v
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.5ghz 1.26v
Mainboard: AsRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 4x4GB
Soundcard: Logitech G35
PSU: OCZ 650
Default 03-28-2012, 04:56 | posts: 21 | Location: Missery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
Suuuuuure....... come on now...I know your type. You can be honest.


j/k
lol.. I tried what you said and I get the same error. I can use the 8.950.5 from Feb 24th and it installs just fine.

Oh well. I guess I'll wait on another. I don't have any problems with that one anyways . I was just wanting to try it out to see if it's any better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#207)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-28-2012, 07:37 | posts: 23,768 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibfr33k View Post
lol.. I tried what you said and I get the same error. I can use the 8.950.5 from Feb 24th and it installs just fine.

Oh well. I guess I'll wait on another. I don't have any problems with that one anyways . I was just wanting to try it out to see if it's any better.
What were the drivers you couldn't install? 12.4's? (896)

You could try just updating them instead of uninstalling then reinstalling. From memory you have a missing .inf, that's why the error is popping up. (iirc)

Last edited by Pill Monster; 03-28-2012 at 07:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#208)
orionstar2009
Newbie
 
orionstar2009's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800 gts 640 OC 641/1080
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 3G OC
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP41 UD3L
Memory: 4GB HP 800
Soundcard:
PSU: 580W
Exclamation 03-28-2012, 10:05 | posts: 18

can you please a modded this driver for mobilty hd 4570 , i have windows8 and i wanna try it.
Thank +1
   
Reply With Quote
request
Old
  (#209)
Samy
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI HD 5000 Mobile
Processor: Core i5
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 GB
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default request - 03-28-2012, 12:55 | posts: 40

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionstar2009 View Post
can you please a modded this driver for mobilty hd 4570 , i have windows8 and i wanna try it.
Thank +1
+ 2 request
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#210)
orionstar2009
Newbie
 
orionstar2009's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800 gts 640 OC 641/1080
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 3G OC
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP41 UD3L
Memory: 4GB HP 800
Soundcard:
PSU: 580W
Post 03-28-2012, 16:11 | posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samy View Post
+ 2 request
yes we need someones help here
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#211)
ibfr33k
Newbie
 
Videocard: PC 7970 1200/1600 1.179v
Processor: i7 2600k @ 4.5ghz 1.26v
Mainboard: AsRock Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: GSkill Ripjaws 16GB 4x4GB
Soundcard: Logitech G35
PSU: OCZ 650
Default 03-28-2012, 17:26 | posts: 21 | Location: Missery

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
What were the drivers you couldn't install? 12.4's? (896)

You could try just updating them instead of uninstalling then reinstalling. From memory you have a missing .inf, that's why the error is popping up. (iirc)
Yes. It's the 12.4 that I'm having troubles installing. The 12.3's that are around install just fine. If you have the .inf I'm missing please share . Oh, and maybe tell me where to put it to install .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#212)
windrunnerxj
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6850HD Vapor-X
Processor: AMD Phenom II
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 03-28-2012, 17:34 | posts: 51

Seeing all those posts about WIN8 compatibility I was really happy that AMD FINALLY made a driver fully supported by win8 but...
I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I can't install it. When using custom installation Display Driver doesn't show up there. OK, tried the manual installation via Device Manager, it installed with no errors but dxdiag says that Driver Model is WDDM 1.1 (Not 1.2 as mentioned in this topic). CCC settings don't work - Only some HydraGrid settings are available.
Is my card really that old that AMD has no support in their new drivers for it or where's the problem?
P.S. I don't understand why AMD still pays the people who work on Drivers for AMD cards. It's been a month since W8 CP out and they STILL don't have a good driver where you can just simply click install and everything works fine - CCC/Drivers itself/Afterburner/ATT...
Too bad I can't switch to NVIDIA
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#213)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7850 1gb @ 1120mhz
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 03-28-2012, 19:44 | posts: 4,348 | Location: Spain

Quote:
Originally Posted by windrunnerxj View Post
Seeing all those posts about WIN8 compatibility I was really happy that AMD FINALLY made a driver fully supported by win8 but...
I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I can't install it. When using custom installation Display Driver doesn't show up there. OK, tried the manual installation via Device Manager, it installed with no errors but dxdiag says that Driver Model is WDDM 1.1 (Not 1.2 as mentioned in this topic). CCC settings don't work - Only some HydraGrid settings are available.
Is my card really that old that AMD has no support in their new drivers for it or where's the problem?
P.S. I don't understand why AMD still pays the people who work on Drivers for AMD cards. It's been a month since W8 CP out and they STILL don't have a good driver where you can just simply click install and everything works fine - CCC/Drivers itself/Afterburner/ATT...
Too bad I can't switch to NVIDIA
why they should?, apart from working perfectly here.

W8 is beta, their drivers are also beta.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#214)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 290x/670 GTX
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 03-28-2012, 23:57 | posts: 2,868 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by windrunnerxj View Post
Seeing all those posts about WIN8 compatibility I was really happy that AMD FINALLY made a driver fully supported by win8 but...
I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I can't install it. When using custom installation Display Driver doesn't show up there. OK, tried the manual installation via Device Manager, it installed with no errors but dxdiag says that Driver Model is WDDM 1.1 (Not 1.2 as mentioned in this topic). CCC settings don't work - Only some HydraGrid settings are available.
Is my card really that old that AMD has no support in their new drivers for it or where's the problem?
P.S. I don't understand why AMD still pays the people who work on Drivers for AMD cards. It's been a month since W8 CP out and they STILL don't have a good driver where you can just simply click install and everything works fine - CCC/Drivers itself/Afterburner/ATT...
Too bad I can't switch to NVIDIA
I assume your running an AGP card?

The files have the 38xx PCI-E strings included.

Also I never bother checking but could it be that WDDM1.2 requires PCI-E is a prerequisite?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#215)
BenchAndGames
Master Guru
 
BenchAndGames's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 780
Processor: i7-4770K @ 4.1 Ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE G1 Sniper 5
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 2400 MHz
Soundcard: Tritton Pro+ 5.1
PSU: Corsair HX850W
Default 03-29-2012, 00:10 | posts: 153 | Location: Madrid

This is a driver ? Include catalyst driver ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#216)
Espionage724
Maha Guru
 
Espionage724's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI R7850 PE 2GD5/OC
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: hec HP585D 585W ATX12V
Default 03-29-2012, 09:58 | posts: 1,230 | Location: Charleroi, PA

Quote:
Originally Posted by windrunnerxj View Post
Seeing all those posts about WIN8 compatibility I was really happy that AMD FINALLY made a driver fully supported by win8 but...
I don't know what I'm doing wrong but I can't install it. When using custom installation Display Driver doesn't show up there. OK, tried the manual installation via Device Manager, it installed with no errors but dxdiag says that Driver Model is WDDM 1.1 (Not 1.2 as mentioned in this topic). CCC settings don't work - Only some HydraGrid settings are available.
Is my card really that old that AMD has no support in their new drivers for it or where's the problem?
P.S. I don't understand why AMD still pays the people who work on Drivers for AMD cards. It's been a month since W8 CP out and they STILL don't have a good driver where you can just simply click install and everything works fine - CCC/Drivers itself/Afterburner/ATT...
Too bad I can't switch to NVIDIA
- CIM didn't install Display Driver for me
- CIM listed everything else though (CCC, Hydra, etc)
- Manual driver install worked
- WDDM 1.2 reported
- A lot of CCC settings were missing (I was in Advanced Mode too)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#217)
krishnarama108
Master Guru
 
Videocard: asus ati 5850 1gb 850mhz
Processor: intel q9550 3.4ghz+
Mainboard: asus P5E(formula rev.)
Memory: ddr2-800mhz+ cl4 6GB
Soundcard: M-Audio Transit
PSU: corsair TX 650wat
Default 03-29-2012, 10:46 | posts: 288 | Location: Goloka

so this driver got wdm 1.2 ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#218)
windrunnerxj
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6850HD Vapor-X
Processor: AMD Phenom II
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750W
Default 03-29-2012, 14:34 | posts: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by rflair View Post
I assume your running an AGP card?

The files have the 38xx PCI-E strings included.

Also I never bother checking but could it be that WDDM1.2 requires PCI-E is a prerequisite?
I run a PCI-E card but it's 1.1 (maybe this is the problem). But idk, buying a new VC for the old pc doesn't seem reasonable since I have a newer PC. Long time ago I had an Asus N6600 (based on NVIDIA) and now I have MSI N560GTX-TI Twin Frozr II on my second PC - never experienced any issues with the NVIDIA.
And about Win8 beta- just asked amd's techsupport and they said that there will be no driver in the nearest future for win8. Only those first drivers when the Win8CP was released (with the broken CCC).
GPU-Z screenshot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#219)
Athlonite
Maha Guru
 
Athlonite's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 HD7850 1GHz/1300MHz
Processor: FX8320 / 3700MHz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: DDR3 Corsair Vengence LP
Soundcard: SB XFi Audio PCIe
PSU: SilverStone ST75F-P 750W
Default 03-30-2012, 19:57 | posts: 844 | Location: Hawkes Bay

probably find it's not the PCIe being only 1.1 but more the fact that your GPU doesn't support DX11


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#220)
cl0k
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX 6970
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD4
Memory: 8GB DDR3 CorsairDominator
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX850w
Default 04-02-2012, 19:17 | posts: 12

guys whats the best drivers for Battlefield 3 + Single GPU 6970 2gb??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#221)
insomniac3334
Newbie
 
insomniac3334's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670 WindForce 3x
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5GHz
Mainboard: Intel DP67 Extreme Series
Memory: 16GB Ripjaws 1600mhz
Soundcard: SB XFi Xtreme Audio
PSU: ******ic M12ii 620w
Default 04-03-2012, 15:03 | posts: 26 | Location: US

I play BF3, Skyrim and SC2 almost exclusively. Will this driver improve the performance/stability of these 3 games? Especially Skyrim, the game runs smooth but the amount of flickering/corruption drives me insane on 12.3.

thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#222)
gaul
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 6870
Processor: q9550 @ 4 GH
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Tx-950w
Default 04-03-2012, 17:00 | posts: 79

Quote:
Originally Posted by orionstar2009 View Post
can you please a modded this driver for mobilty hd 4570 , i have windows8 and i wanna try it.
Thank +1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Samy View Post
+ 2 request
Quote:
Originally Posted by orionstar2009 View Post
yes we need someones help here
sorry, i don't know HOW ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#223)
orionstar2009
Newbie
 
orionstar2009's Avatar
 
Videocard: 8800 gts 640 OC 641/1080
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 3G OC
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP41 UD3L
Memory: 4GB HP 800
Soundcard:
PSU: 580W
Question 04-03-2012, 17:25 | posts: 18

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaul View Post
sorry, i don't know HOW ?
Thanks for the answer

Is there a heros to save us???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#224)
bboy-mass
Master Guru
 
bboy-mass's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 780 SLI (3Dv2)
Processor: Intel 2600K OC 4.6G HT of
Mainboard: P8Z68 Deluxe
Memory: 8G G.Skill Ripjaw
Soundcard: X-FI
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-04-2012, 08:55 | posts: 335 | Location: Birmingham

Will this driver set be 12.5 whql ???

working ok at the moment, but rather not use beta.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#225)
The Mac
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
Processor: i7-4970K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro
Soundcard:
PSU: Corasir AX750
Default 04-04-2012, 15:04 | posts: 2,214 | Location: USA

no, this is 12.4 official beta...

If the make no changes, then it will become 12.4 WHQL after certification.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd drivers still suck

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.