Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 2000, XP or Vista giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Linux ?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Slipstreaming Sata Drivers please help!
Old
  (#1)
killallthattry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 SC
Processor: AMDPhenomII x6 1100T 3.3G
Mainboard: Asus M4A78T-E
Memory: Cros. Veng 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: OCZ Stealth X Stream 600w
Default Slipstreaming Sata Drivers please help! - 02-18-2012, 05:41 | posts: 102 | Location: NJ

Hello fellow gurus,

I am having big problems with slipstreaming sata drivers onto a windows xp professional sp2 cd. Now I have tried everything read all tutorials but none of them is specific enough to understand. I have a Panasonic CF-W8EW... to fix for my uncle but as u probably already know the the windows cd does not have sata drivers on it so I cant install windows.

I am using this program nLite which helps in isntalling the drivers onto the windows cd. When trying add the sata drivers onto the cd I cannot see them through nLite. They have to be unpacked and be in .inf format. There is a way of getting the extracted files into .inf format.......that is what I don't understand how to do. Please help me out I have sat here for 10 hours no lie trying to figure this out.

Here is the link to the sata drivers I have download maby u guys will have better luck than me......

http://tpgweb2.net/panasonic/CF-W8_Win7_Drivers.zip

You have to extract it and then extract it once more. Once you get a folder full of drivers it will be named......

"ahci_8.9.0.1023_s8n8f8r8w8t8y8_x_w7xp_d090896 "

That is the SATA driver I am talking about I have no idea how to get it to work with nLite.

Please help! If you can get it to be to to what its supposed to be please send it to my email killallthattry@yahoo.com
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-18-2012, 08:01 | posts: 24,260 | Location: NZ

If you have a newer XP disk it may come with sata drivers already, if it doesn't you'll need to load the drivers onto a floppy. During the install it will ask you to press F6 if you want to load extra drivers.

When you press F6 it will ask you where to install SATA drivers from, insert the floppy and select the driver you want to load...if your install disk has SP2 integrated then chances are SATA drivers are already on the disk.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7870 OC 2 GB
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 02-18-2012, 15:27 | posts: 1,284 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

He has SP2 from the looks of it.If you need to load drivers it's because you are trying to use raid or AHCI mode.Otherwise use this method if you really need to slipstream.
http://maxeasyguide.blogspot.com/200...lation-cd.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
killallthattry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 SC
Processor: AMDPhenomII x6 1100T 3.3G
Mainboard: Asus M4A78T-E
Memory: Cros. Veng 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: OCZ Stealth X Stream 600w
Default 02-18-2012, 18:46 | posts: 102 | Location: NJ

Hey guys thank you for the reply's...I don't own a floppy drive like most of us here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbmcmillan View Post
He has SP2 from the looks of it.If you need to load drivers it's because you are trying to use raid or AHCI mode.Otherwise use this method if you really need to slipstream.
http://maxeasyguide.blogspot.com/200...lation-cd.html
I have tried this but I do not understand how to do it. I extract the driver just like it says to do but nLite is not seeing it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-18-2012, 18:48 | posts: 24,260 | Location: NZ

^Have you actually tried to install XP yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
killallthattry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 SC
Processor: AMDPhenomII x6 1100T 3.3G
Mainboard: Asus M4A78T-E
Memory: Cros. Veng 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: OCZ Stealth X Stream 600w
Default 02-18-2012, 19:23 | posts: 102 | Location: NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
^Have you actually tried to install XP yet?
Yes I have multiple times......ether I get a blue screen or "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
killallthattry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 SC
Processor: AMDPhenomII x6 1100T 3.3G
Mainboard: Asus M4A78T-E
Memory: Cros. Veng 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: OCZ Stealth X Stream 600w
Default 02-18-2012, 19:26 | posts: 102 | Location: NJ

Would I be able to use this on the laptop....

http://download.cnet.com/SATA-Driver..._4-162224.html
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-18-2012, 20:08 | posts: 24,260 | Location: NZ

^Is there an option in the bios to set the drives to IDE mode?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
killallthattry
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 SC
Processor: AMDPhenomII x6 1100T 3.3G
Mainboard: Asus M4A78T-E
Memory: Cros. Veng 8GB DDR3-1333
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: OCZ Stealth X Stream 600w
Default 02-18-2012, 20:09 | posts: 102 | Location: NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
^Is there an option in the bios to set the drives to IDE mode?
Nope no option like that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-18-2012, 20:11 | posts: 24,260 | Location: NZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by killallthattry View Post
Nope no option like that.
what options do have listed under storage devices?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.