Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#476)
Feneeth of Borg
Member Guru
 
Feneeth of Borg's Avatar
 
Videocard: MobRadHD5650 675/1140 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 450M
Mainboard: Gateway SJV71_CP (v1.26)
Memory: Nanya 1066 2x2GB 7-5-4-18
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio v2.65
PSU: Gateway NV79C47u (90W)
Default 05-13-2009, 18:11 | posts: 137 | Location: Unimatrix 002

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pylor View Post
I used this program like it said to and i started playing cs source, only the stutering was worse. The only thing i can contribute this to is that my framerate is going over my refresh rate, noticing this i decided to run stress test and i got 66.02 fps (on dx9, presi tweak), this is more than 20 fps more than i got before, did valve release a patch or is this because i lowered the latency to 64? also would the fps going over the refresh rate cause a stutering effect? i did notice a tad bit of tearing.
This is because the concept of PCI latency timers seem to be misunderstood by you, because each one is the amount of cycles the device gets until the PCI bus moves on to the next, so turning down all but the video card would end up with incredible framerates, but struggling audio and networking. Remember, Balance is the key.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#477)
amablue
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVidia 8800
Processor: Core 2 Duo
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ???
Default 07-10-2009, 06:19 | posts: 1

I got PCI latency tool, but it doesn't show my video card on the list of devices. I have an nvidia 8800, but all I see on the list is my wireless adapter and a bunch of Intel stuff. Anyone know why?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#478)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 480 + 8800 GT PhysX
Processor: i7 920 D0 @4.2 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Memory: 6GB HyperX @1600 6-7-6-18
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + CL 6700's
PSU: ePower Tiger 1200W
Default 07-10-2009, 15:47 | posts: 12,549 | Location: Southampton, UK

Because PCI is not the same as PCI Express.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#479)
ForgedReality
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HD4870x2OC + 9600GT PhysX
Processor: Intel Core i7 920@4ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe OC Palm
Memory: 3gb OCZ DDR3 1333@1600
Soundcard: Onboard SoundMax HD
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 12-02-2009, 18:30 | posts: 216

Tried installing the latest version of this tool on win7 64bit, and Windows tells me it won't let the program load a driver because it isn't digitally signed.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#480)
Feneeth of Borg
Member Guru
 
Feneeth of Borg's Avatar
 
Videocard: MobRadHD5650 675/1140 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 450M
Mainboard: Gateway SJV71_CP (v1.26)
Memory: Nanya 1066 2x2GB 7-5-4-18
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio v2.65
PSU: Gateway NV79C47u (90W)
Default 12-09-2009, 02:38 | posts: 137 | Location: Unimatrix 002

Quote:
Originally Posted by zenkmander View Post
Leave everything alone BUT your video card. If your video card is at 248 or around there, for example, try lowering it to 32 and applying (make sure you click Save and Apply on Startup, etc). If 32 doesn't perform well, up it to 64 or 128.
Sorry but you are incorrect, its not like ram latencies in which its simply lag. If you turn down the agp controller your performance will decrease, period. Don't make claims that its helping if you don't have proof or even logic to defend your claims, look at the pci bus page on wikipedia, and my performance agrees with it, 248 worked the best for my radeon 9800 and my 2600 (agp).

There is another way to improve performance, by disabling unused devices, ide controllers, usb controllers, card readers, modems, etc, go into device manger and select "view by connection" disable pretty much everything that doesn't have anything connected to it. On my laptop, I reduced the devices fighting for bandwidth form 17 to only 12, considerable gains in networking, graphics, even my mouse was higher framerate.

Most sound cards can handle 32, I suggest 64 for network adapters, and 248 for agp bus. There is a reason its set this way from the start, and its not because its the most stable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#481)
VisitorX
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 560 Ti
Processor: AMD Phenom 9550 Quad Core
Mainboard: Foxconn A7GM-S
Memory: Kingston 8 Gig DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 600
Default 07-02-2011, 20:54 | posts: 13

hi i have a question which settings is good for me with an nvidia 9800 gtx + ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#482)
killerxr290
Banned
 
Videocard: Im Out
Processor: Im Out
Mainboard: Im Out
Memory: Im Out
Soundcard: Im Out
PSU: Im Out
Default 07-02-2011, 21:44 | posts: 1,564 | Location: Im Out

lol

PCI-E cards dont have any latency timers. So you cant change your PCIE latency, PCI you can but your video card is PCIE so it would be pointless
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#483)
VisitorX
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia 560 Ti
Processor: AMD Phenom 9550 Quad Core
Mainboard: Foxconn A7GM-S
Memory: Kingston 8 Gig DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: 600
Default 07-02-2011, 22:02 | posts: 13

Thanks for answer...

for what i have the settings in bios menu.. i changed it to 128 and now 3d applications run a lil better..

it meens equal which settings i do its pointless ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#484)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 07-04-2011, 07:47 | posts: 19,041 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by killerxr290 View Post
lol

PCI-E cards dont have any latency timers. So you cant change your PCIE latency, PCI you can but your video card is PCIE so it would be pointless
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisitorX View Post
Thanks for answer...

for what i have the settings in bios menu.. i changed it to 128 and now 3d applications run a lil better..

it meens equal which settings i do its pointless ??
PCI latency is basically just how much time you allow the PCI bus controller to allow each device to master the bus. Since the PCI bus is basically a Time-Division Multiple Access (TDMA) technology, each device gets a slice of time to the full bandwidth before it has to give up the bandwidth channel for the next device.

You don't get this with PCI Express because it's not a bus system, it's a point-to-point interconnect, all devices gets its dedicated lanes and NEVER share resources. Thus, having a latency setting is quite useless since there's nothing to share.

What VisitorX experienced is probably a placebo effect caused by the switch.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#485)
TruMutton_200Hz
Ancient Guru
 
TruMutton_200Hz's Avatar
 
Videocard: N/A
Processor: i3 3110M
Mainboard: MD 99070 Medion Akoya
Memory: DDR-3 4gig
Soundcard: MiniMax DAC Plus, UMC-200
PSU: Li-ion
Default 07-04-2011, 09:19 | posts: 2,767 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
You don't get this with PCI Express because it's not a bus system, it's a point-to-point interconnect, all devices gets its dedicated lanes and NEVER share resources. Thus, having a latency setting is quite useless since there's nothing to share.
PCIe data transfer is packet based so latency still matters to some devices (such as graphics cards and soundcards) but not to all devices. The real reason why PCIe has no latency setting is because the system handles device priorization automatically.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#486)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 07-04-2011, 22:21 | posts: 19,041 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by TruMutton_200Hz View Post
PCIe data transfer is packet based so latency still matters to some devices (such as graphics cards and soundcards) but not to all devices. The real reason why PCIe has no latency setting is because the system handles device priorization automatically.
PCIe latency in terms of packets are too small to detect to the point where a PCI latency switch would affect any device. Many devices that do require low latency works very well on the interconnect without any special tweaks to the interconnect.

This is not true with PCI since there's the whole bus mastering latency.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#487)
TruMutton_200Hz
Ancient Guru
 
TruMutton_200Hz's Avatar
 
Videocard: N/A
Processor: i3 3110M
Mainboard: MD 99070 Medion Akoya
Memory: DDR-3 4gig
Soundcard: MiniMax DAC Plus, UMC-200
PSU: Li-ion
Default 07-05-2011, 14:39 | posts: 2,767 | Location: Belgium

Quote:
Originally Posted by deltatux View Post
PCIe latency in terms of packets are too small to detect
Then please explain why device priorization is part of the PCIe design.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#488)
deltatux
Ancient Guru
 
deltatux's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 6870
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4.5
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD5H
Memory: Patriot 4 x 4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Raider 7.1
PSU: OCZ ModXStream Pro 500W
Default 07-06-2011, 02:30 | posts: 19,041 | Location: Toronto, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by TruMutton_200Hz View Post
Then please explain why device priorization is part of the PCIe design.
Personally, I have no clue, from what I've learned through reading hardware articles is that PCIe doesn't share its resources with other devices. My guess here would be because the software layer is the same as the older PCI so for software, the prioritization is required so traffic for PCIe devices that are sensitive gets priority in the software layer.

deltatux
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#489)
TruMutton_200Hz
Ancient Guru
 
TruMutton_200Hz's Avatar
 
Videocard: N/A
Processor: i3 3110M
Mainboard: MD 99070 Medion Akoya
Memory: DDR-3 4gig
Soundcard: MiniMax DAC Plus, UMC-200
PSU: Li-ion
Default 07-06-2011, 18:33 | posts: 2,767 | Location: Belgium

^ Here's the more accurate explanation:

http://arstechnica.com/old/content/2004/07/pcie.ars/5
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#490)
churlock
Newbie
 
Videocard: ge 9500
Processor: Xeon
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 400 watt
Default 01-18-2012, 19:07 | posts: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by ForgedReality View Post
Tried installing the latest version of this tool on win7 64bit, and Windows tells me it won't let the program load a driver because it isn't digitally signed.
This worked for me (posted by "Goodtwist" on another forum):

Simply let Windows 7 deal with the problem by pressing "Troubleshoot compatibility" in the context menu, while holding your mouse on the installation file.

What turns out to be the problem - Windows denying you to install PCI Latency Tool due to lacking admin authority - is a missing digital signature of the PCI Latency Tool Config Space Access Driver (in LtcyWDM.sys).


This advice should be posted under the instructions for the PCI Latency Timer app as a lot of people are having an issue trying to load under win 7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#491)
BetA
Ancient Guru
 
BetA's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX670 PEOC@1350Mhz
Processor: Q9550@3,8Ghz@Vendetta2
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Ketīs mBIOS :)
Memory: 4x2048 OCZ-REAPER 1080Mhz
Soundcard: CreativeX-FI X-tremeGamer
PSU: Corsair VX550W 550 Watt
Default 01-18-2012, 19:18 | posts: 3,653 | Location: outside the Box...

wait, is that tool actually usefull for me? even i have pci express? or isnt it just for agp cards etc..like in the old days..
i thought nowadays u dont have to worry about this anymore..

can someone please help me out here?

-BetA-
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#492)
Mineria
Ancient Guru
 
Mineria's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 SC 4GB ACX
Processor: Intel i7 4770K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 32G G.Skill TridentX
Soundcard: Asus Phoebus
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
Default 01-24-2012, 18:01 | posts: 3,038 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by BetA View Post
wait, is that tool actually usefull for me? even i have pci express? or isnt it just for agp cards etc..like in the old days..
i thought nowadays u dont have to worry about this anymore..

can someone please help me out here?

-BetA-
Doubt that it will do anything for your system, the app is old (not updated since December 2005) so shouldn't be used on modern systems.
Also changing from default values can give sync problems, had that with some recording software in the old days, it did help with some games back then thou.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#493)
Halmeth
Newbie
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce 7800 GS
Processor: Intel P 4 HT
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 600 Watt Thermaltake
Default 04-12-2013, 02:15 | posts: 1

Sups all... I know this is a tremendous old thread, and a tremendous old software... But i'm already using an old computer with an old AGP card (Geforce 7800 GS AGP) My issue is the next: When I play Source (valve) Games I get that stressful issue of crash to desktop with looping sound... Maybe this PCI Latency Tool can be useful for my old-lady machine... what are the best settings to get a good perfomance gaming on CS Source or Day Of Defeat Source?...

Thanks all...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
latency, pci

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.