Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Mount & Blade: Warband
Old
  (#1)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default Mount & Blade: Warband - 01-04-2011, 16:19 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Hey guys, a mate tipped me off on this game and it seems quite interesting, but I'm not sure how good it is, seems there was a 4.99 steam deal for the game aroud xmas but missed that.


Anyone of you who plays it or tried it at some point and got any feedback?

www.mountandbladewarband.com

For people who havn't heard about it here is some ingame phootage!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-04-2011, 16:24 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Mount & Blade is hands down one of the best games I've played in a long time. I was put off by the small file size( a few hundred MB), but it turned out a game I put a few hundred hours into.

I don't have the online version, but a couple thousand people do and I hear it's pretty fun online.

There are alot of topics about it on this forum.

There is also a HUGE modding community for it, and I mean it, HUGE.

http://www.mbrepository.com/

For example this polished Landscape mod makes the game much atmospheric:



Lotsa mods like this.

Last edited by Mkilbride; 01-04-2011 at 16:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 01-04-2011, 16:35 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Oh that looks awesome Mkilbride

I'm quite a competative player so in the long run only online MP would suffice!

My favorite game of all times would probably be Dark age of camelot ( before all the expansion galore ) and this game reminds me some of that, but no gay magic, only melee and archering/throwing weapons.


How do you progress though? Is it a PvE game, or 100% focused on pvp/faction vs faction?

3 factions right?

Last edited by Sneakers; 01-04-2011 at 16:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-04-2011, 16:42 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Singleplayer is obviously 100% PvE, with faction fighting. MP is just kinda, you setup siege battles or open battlefields and players spawn at both ends and select their classes. It has the most revolutionary fighting system since Jedi Academy.

6 Factions in total.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=In-NQwTHX4c
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
King4x4
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 4xSapphire 290x@1200mhz
Processor: 4930k@4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVBE
Memory: G.Skill TridentX 16gb
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Zx
PSU: 2xSeasonic X-Series 1250w
Default 01-04-2011, 16:47 | posts: 182 | Location: Saudi Arabia

This game is like crack... I just can't stop.

Playing a bit on the original campaign until you get the hand of it then head off to the countless mods avaliable.

Currently playing Prophecy Of Pendor... bloody put more time in it then the original game
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 01-04-2011, 16:48 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkilbride View Post
Singleplayer is obviously 100% PvE, with faction fighting. MP is just kinda, you setup siege battles or open battlefields and players spawn at both ends and select their classes. It has the most revolutionary fighting system since Jedi Academy.

6 Factions in total.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=In-NQwTHX4c
Ah ok so there is no real "leveling" n stuff?

What defines a "better" player is it simply his "skill/experience/tactics" or is there a way to get high quality weapons, potions, armor etc etc?

/edit

Any of you playing the Warband game online? How about clans/guilds and so on how does that work?


/edit2

I mean I have seen that there are score boards and stuff, and that the online sieges seem to be time limited, so is there any rewards in the end of each "round" ?

New dyes, fancy armor, weaponay, and that gold I seen that can you buy stuff with that ( guess you can ) ?

Last edited by Sneakers; 01-04-2011 at 16:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-04-2011, 17:01 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

You get the gold for killing, you buy new gear. Gear does not go from game to game, it's kinda...hmm, like Counter-Strike, you kill and get money to buy better stuff.

There is leveling in SP and stuff, but you can also conquer a Kingdom in SP which is fun.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 01-04-2011, 17:02 | posts: 18,545 | Location: Turkey

i wish to play this in a LOTR theme :/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-04-2011, 17:04 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
i wish to play this in a LOTR theme :/
http://www.moddb.com/mods/lotr-mod
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
metaltoiletry
Maha Guru
 
metaltoiletry's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD5870
Processor: i5 750
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Pro
Memory: 8GB G.Skill DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Titanium
PSU: Corsair HX620
Default 01-04-2011, 18:28 | posts: 1,327 | Location: On a hill.

I've been having fun with this game. Had no idea about all the mods for it... holy crap! Thanks for the tip!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 01-04-2011, 19:40 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Damn this is great

One thing I noticed though when applying aa performance just dies

using 266.44 drivers

Also SLI seem to work.

/edit

Any way to save your control settings? Mine seem to reset?

/edit

Seems the game runs wierd only when SLI is turned on, now I'm doing 32xqaa with 8x ssaa and game looks real nice and perma 65 fps

Started some SP but man I'm gonna skip that and go for some multi :o

Last edited by Sneakers; 01-04-2011 at 21:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
saif
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 280X DualX OC
Processor: AMD FX-8350 BE
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 Evo
Memory: G.Skill 2x4GB 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi Extreme Audio PCI
PSU: Antec Ea 650W
Default 01-04-2011, 21:23 | posts: 643 | Location: Argentina - Buenos Aires

Multiplayer is just awesome, you practice and its lots of skills in play

you can watch over here some duel fighting
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2Y89GFt5Io
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-04-2011, 21:26 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Yeah, wish someone woulda picked up Warband for me during the sale, but only thing I got is a 10$ GameStop card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 01-04-2011, 21:36 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkilbride View Post
Yeah, wish someone woulda picked up Warband for me during the sale, but only thing I got is a 10$ GameStop card.
Yah 4.99 would been great

Ah well steam has it at 19.99 now.


Have to check out the mods, do they work online aswell?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Year
Ancient Guru
 
Year's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: Intel® i7 2600
Mainboard: Asus P67 Evo
Memory: G.Skill Sniper DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Auzentech Bravura 7.1
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850W
Default 01-04-2011, 21:40 | posts: 11,696 | Location: ♫

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneakers View Post
Hey guys, a mate tipped me off on this game and it seems quite interesting, but I'm not sure how good it is, seems there was a 4.99 steam deal for the game aroud xmas but missed that.


Anyone of you who plays it or tried it at some point and got any feedback?

www.mountandbladewarband.com

For people who havn't heard about it here is some ingame phootage!
been playing Mount&Blade for a long time, it's not everyone's cup of tea but the game is fantastic, personally one of my favorite games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
Mkilbride
Banned
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
Processor: 2500K @ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock P67 Professional
Memory: 8GB DDR 1600MHZ
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium Prof.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 01-04-2011, 21:43 | posts: 8,074 | Location: US, New Hampshire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneakers View Post
Yah 4.99 would been great

Ah well steam has it at 19.99 now.


Have to check out the mods, do they work online aswell?
Yes, there are many mods for Online, like Infantry Line battles

http://www.moddb.com/mods/mount-and-...-battalion-mod

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 01-04-2011, 22:23 | posts: 18,545 | Location: Turkey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mkilbride View Post
haha awesome man thank u
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 01-04-2011, 22:53 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Lol epicly funny to sneak up on some archer and clonk him in the head with a mace haha :p

Man this is just class entertainment
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 01-05-2011, 14:32 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Warning !!!
This game has great addiction level This is great game offcourse..don't forget to sleep and eat
Mkilbride are you using polished landscape mod? I do but i don't have that depth of field effect ..
Do you know about this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Mr.Bigtime
Ancient Guru
 
Mr.Bigtime's Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 680 @ 27" SA950
Processor: I7 4770K @ 3.5 GHZ
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 PRO
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Soundcard: ONBOARD & LOGITECH Z906
PSU: Coolermaster something
Default 01-05-2011, 14:41 | posts: 18,545 | Location: Turkey

u guys play SP or MP? talk to me pls.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 01-05-2011, 14:49 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bigtime View Post
u guys play SP or MP? talk to me pls.
Just SP pal And it's fun as hell, i like when i besiege castle...mine 100 armies vs 300 armies and still win I sneak behind enemy lines using two handed sword butcher day
And in battlefield 100 vs 500 still win too Yeah
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 01-05-2011, 15:34 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Hmm, how can you play with 100 and 300 units on one map? I start to loose alot of fps once I go beyond 80 / 80 on each side.

I'm using 1.1000 patch though, I just dled it to try it out gonna buy it as soon as I get confirmation I'm not gonna have 500 ping online. All servers showing up has crazy high ping it seems :l..


I play MP only though with a cupple of mates this way, and create a server online for them to join and then I throw in bots and we just massacare eachother and them ..

Game is extremly funny but would be better if everyone was an actual player, but as I said I need to investigate this ping thing..not paying 30 bucks to activate and get 300 ping or more.


Also, these mods you ppl talk about, is this serverside only or clientside? I mean can I mod my own textures and play on "native servers" or the server has to support the mod aswell?

Game looks great with 8x AA imo but sure I wouldn't mind abit more bling bling after all im a 3dguru


/edit

Regarding the nummber of bots, cpu is like tasked 10-15% so its basically idling..GPUs well SLI doesn't seem to work that well so I have set it to 32x SLI AA 16x SSAA in NVCP but I don't think it works at all since if I don't activate AA in the game there is no AA at all, regardless of the NVCP config.

Then again maybe it only catches on ones the ingame AA path is activated, since I think the game looks great and really don't see peoples concerns about gfx - wich I probably wouldnt with that crazy high AA.

Here is a SS

Last edited by Sneakers; 01-05-2011 at 15:41.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 01-05-2011, 15:59 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneakers View Post
Hmm, how can you play with 100 and 300 units on one map? I start to loose alot of fps once I go beyond 80 / 80 on each side.

I'm using 1.1000 patch though, I just dled it to try it out gonna buy it as soon as I get confirmation I'm not gonna have 500 ping online. All servers showing up has crazy high ping it seems :l..


I play MP only though with a cupple of mates this way, and create a server online for them to join and then I throw in bots and we just massacare eachother and them ..

Game is extremly funny but would be better if everyone was an actual player, but as I said I need to investigate this ping thing..not paying 30 bucks to activate and get 300 ping or more.


Also, these mods you ppl talk about, is this serverside only or clientside? I mean can I mod my own textures and play on "native servers" or the server has to support the mod aswell?

Game looks great with 8x AA imo but sure I wouldn't mind abit more bling bling after all im a 3dguru


/edit

Regarding the nummber of bots, cpu is like tasked 10-15% so its basically idling..GPUs well SLI doesn't seem to work that well so I have set it to 32x SLI AA 16x SSAA in NVCP but I don't think it works at all since if I don't activate AA in the game there is no AA at all, regardless of the NVCP config.

Then again maybe it only catches on ones the ingame AA path is activated, since I think the game looks great and really don't see peoples concerns about gfx - wich I probably wouldnt with that crazy high AA.
Actually the battle divide into parts if the armies are just too much. Each battle cluster consist of 60+ to 80 enemies whom got killed imo. I'm not using AA and still it lags and get a lot of pause at heavy battle but i don't care This just happen for a while maybe hardisk activity or lack of ram or GPU
The graphic still good at 1080p and AA not quite needed as this is not too noticeable imo
You should use that polished landscape pal...I'm sure you'll be surprise by the quality of the graphic
Here it is
http://forums.taleworlds.com/index.p...,122423.0.html

Edit My SS

Last edited by Gembel; 01-05-2011 at 16:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Sneakers
Maha Guru
 
Sneakers's Avatar
 
Videocard: 580 GTX DiCII h2o W2600HP
Processor: Xeon W3520@4.5 Ghz HT on
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth X58
Memory: Corsair 6gbDDR3 XMS3 1600
Soundcard: Creative X-FI X-trm Gamer
PSU: Corsair HX Modular 1000W
Default 01-05-2011, 18:37 | posts: 2,653 | Location: Sweden

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gembel View Post
Actually the battle divide into parts if the armies are just too much. Each battle cluster consist of 60+ to 80 enemies whom got killed imo. I'm not using AA and still it lags and get a lot of pause at heavy battle but i don't care This just happen for a while maybe hardisk activity or lack of ram or GPU
The graphic still good at 1080p and AA not quite needed as this is not too noticeable imo
You should use that polished landscape pal...I'm sure you'll be surprise by the quality of the graphic
Here it is
http://forums.taleworlds.com/index.p...,122423.0.html

Edit My SS

Looking good

I'm looking for graphic mods who work with native and that mod called cRPG wich everyone seems to be playing alot.

I think the graphic looks really well even with native but if it can get better without performance loss then why not

Running AA makes the whole game look really nice, fix all jaggies around trees and leafs n stuff.

Not sure why reviewers like IGN gave the game really poor graphics score..guess same reason MW2 was their GOTY and 10/10 lats year etc lol..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Gembel
Master Guru
 
Gembel's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX660 DirectCU 2
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI Z77MA-G45
Memory: 16GB CORSAIR Vengeance
Soundcard: Realtek - Edifier S330D
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX
Default 01-06-2011, 08:17 | posts: 776 | Location: Indonesia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sneakers View Post
Looking good

I'm looking for graphic mods who work with native and that mod called cRPG wich everyone seems to be playing alot.

I think the graphic looks really well even with native but if it can get better without performance loss then why not

Running AA makes the whole game look really nice, fix all jaggies around trees and leafs n stuff.

Not sure why reviewers like IGN gave the game really poor graphics score..guess same reason MW2 was their GOTY and 10/10 lats year etc lol..
Sure pal it's good With modern PC you won't get performance loss. With my setup I play at 1080p Shadow high, grass density 50%, tree degrade distance 50% and other max except NO AA...At normal battle 50 vs 50 i'm not getting any lag. FPS hovering around 40-60

Here's some more


   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.