Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Games, Gaming & Game-demos
Games, Gaming & Game-demos You can talk about the latest games here and more ..


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Win 7 64 bit + OpenGL + Counter-Strike
Old
  (#1)
FliE
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD 5870
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3,8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
Memory: OCZ DDR 1600 Mhz 3x 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APS-650C
Default Win 7 64 bit + OpenGL + Counter-Strike - 04-25-2010, 17:15 | posts: 7 | Location: Fin

Equals trouble ahead.

Good day kind people of Guru 3D.

I'm a counter-strike player for 11 years and running, and I just recently purchased a new computer, equipped with a XFX Radeon HD 5870, and no complaints from the performance department.

However, while all new games work (Just Cause 2, FarCry 2 & SHIFT for example), I am having problems with Counter-Strike 1.6, and the OpenGL mode. I have been trying to solve this for a good two months now, and tried every solution google could throw at me, but all my attempts have been futile.

The problem, in layman's terms, is with flickering textures. Google told me this can be fixed by disabling 'Back -or Depth buffer' from RivaTuner settings, but obviously RivaTuner doesn't yet support 5870, even with the fix/hack that's supposed to make it compatible.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLiR969S0Tk

Here's a video to better portray the problem.

So any suggestions on how to fix this? I've already tried almost everything humanly possible, from new drivers to different version of opengl to replacing the atioglxx.dll with one from an older version and so on but nothing works. The dll switching supposedly does the trick for some but I get the error message 'Failed to load loadlibrary error 998' or something along those lines, so no dice.

All help appreciated. While I can keep myself entertained with some real life activities and other games cs is just something that's almost part of my daily routine already and it's annoying to be without.

Thanks in advance!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Cybermancer
Don Quixote
 
Cybermancer's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
Processor: Intel E8400 @ 3.6 GHz
Mainboard: XFX 680i LT
Memory: 6 GB Corsair DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: PC Power & Cooling 750W
Default 04-26-2010, 17:05 | posts: 13,828 | Location: Cyberspace

Welcome to Guru3D, FliE.

Thread moved to:

Games, Gaming & Game-demos
http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=13
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
IPlayNaked
Banned
 
Videocard: XFire 7950 1200/1850
Processor: Intel i5 2500k 5 Ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z77A-GD55
Memory: 8GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard: Logitech G930
PSU: Corsair 650w
Default 04-26-2010, 17:40 | posts: 6,559

Not very familiar with CS myself, but surely you can run it in DX something? It doesn't have to be openGL?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
[ R ]
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 9800GTX+ Quad Pipe
Processor: E6500 @ stock (for now) /
Mainboard: ASUS P5K3 Deluxe
Memory: 2 x 1GB Corsair XMS3 1333
Soundcard: Onboard sound
PSU: CoolerMaster 500W EP+
Default 04-26-2010, 20:56 | posts: 791 | Location: Lahore , Pakistan

Quote:
Originally Posted by IPlayNaked View Post
Not very familiar with CS myself, but surely you can run it in DX something? It doesn't have to be openGL?

i think thats D3D, and have you tried the usual? right click exe and choose run as admin or run in compatability to a lower OS etc? have you tried downclocking your clocks of your GPU
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Labyrinth
Ancient Guru
 
Labyrinth's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 560 Ti
Processor: C2Q Q9450 @ 3.55Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q
Memory: Corsair8GB DDR2
Soundcard: XFI Xtreme Music
PSU: Corsair TX 750W
Default 04-27-2010, 05:34 | posts: 3,896 | Location: Cheshire, England

What drivers for your 5870?
does this happen in half life 1 too ?
try disabling catalyst AI and try again
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
FliE
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD 5870
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3,8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
Memory: OCZ DDR 1600 Mhz 3x 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APS-650C
Default 04-27-2010, 16:44 | posts: 7 | Location: Fin

CS is such an old game OpenGL is really the only choice. D3D and Software both affect the gameplay somewhat and make the mouse 'sluggish'. And I think the anticheat everyone uses doesn't support anything but OpenGL. The problem disappears in D3D mode, though.

Catalyst AI, clocks, resolution, windowed/full screen, drivers, compatibility or admin rights make no difference, and the problem affects HL too. And I'm currently running the latest drivers, 10.3 I believe.

It most likely is because Windows' very lacking support for OpenGL, and that 'Back / Depth Buffer' -thing is so far the only thing I've heard about and that I haven't been able to test.

Thanks for the suggestions, though! Is my only hope really to just wait for the new RivaTuner that hopefully lets me adjust the OpenGL settings ?

Last edited by FliE; 04-27-2010 at 16:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
damage-_-inc
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI ICEQ4 Turbo 4850
Processor: Intel C2D q9550
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-DS3L
Memory: Crucial Ballistix 4GB
Soundcard: Onboard... for now
PSU: Corsair 650W
Default 04-27-2010, 21:12 | posts: 130

A 1.6 player from Finland... I <3 u
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
gamerk2
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVIDIA 570 GTX 1.2 GB
Processor: Intel i7 2600k @ 3.9GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Xense
PSU: 750W
Default 04-28-2010, 13:18 | posts: 2,104 | Location: Medford, NY

The return of crappy ATI OpenGL drivers, prehaps? Considering their track record in that area, its certainly a possibility. [I eagery await Rage/Doom4 just to test this theory out...].
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Stukov
Ancient Guru
 
Stukov's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6970 UL / 4870X2 (dead)
Processor: Intel i5 3570k 4.2-4.4Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Professional
Memory: 16GB Gskill 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Audigy
PSU: Corsair 850watt
Default 04-28-2010, 14:30 | posts: 4,876 | Location: South Dakota

I was pretty sure that Half-life was built around D3D not OpenGL, but I can be wrong.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Tranzmit
Master Guru
 
Tranzmit's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS HD 7970 X Turbo
Processor: Core i5 3570k Ivy Bridge
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 12
Soundcard: Auzentech Forte 7.1
PSU: 850 W CM Real power pro
Default 04-28-2010, 14:53 | posts: 162 | Location: Australia

old cs player here too in fact i used to play the .7 beta when the p90 was the gun to use as it didnt have any bullet spread heh heh. that was when it was obviously still a mod for half life and yes half life and open GL were the way it went with worse performance as its technically running a modified Quake engine. and that was made to run on the voodoo's using mini GL if anyone remembers

Sorry i have no idea as to why your having issues beyond trying the latest beta drivers/
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ady1969
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX460 1 Gb
Processor: Phenom II 940 BE
Mainboard: Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4Gb Mushkin XP2-8800 1100
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Music
PSU: BeQuiet 650W
Default 04-28-2010, 14:56 | posts: 6

i just instaled cs1.6 and work ok with HD5770 ,OpenGL 1920X1200 32bits
with Catalyst 10.4b driver on Win7 X64
run in compatibility Win XP sp3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
FliE
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD 5870
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3,8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
Memory: OCZ DDR 1600 Mhz 3x 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APS-650C
Default 04-28-2010, 22:08 | posts: 7 | Location: Fin

Well I installed the latest package from ATI site, 10.4, but no improvement (although I'd like to say the flickering was reduced a bit but I'm not sure).

I read some good things about the beta 10.4, any official dl link for it? I found one that links to Megaupload but I'm not exactly thrilled about getting my drivers from Megaupload :p
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Aura89
Ancient Guru
 
Aura89's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770 OC Twin Frozr
Processor: AMD FX 4100 @ 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock 970 Extreme3
Memory: GeIL 8Gb DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Sounblaster Z/DT 990 Pro
PSU: Antec 650 Watt
Default 04-28-2010, 22:24 | posts: 5,009 | Location: Washington State, USA

All i have to say on this subject is that CS 1.6 and OpenGL has always, always given me problems, D3D or whatever is the only thing i've been able to play the game with and actually have it look RIGHT
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
ady1969
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX460 1 Gb
Processor: Phenom II 940 BE
Mainboard: Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4Gb Mushkin XP2-8800 1100
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Music
PSU: BeQuiet 650W
Default 04-29-2010, 07:19 | posts: 6

yes ,Megaupload version are ok 4 me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
FliE
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD 5870
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3,8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
Memory: OCZ DDR 1600 Mhz 3x 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APS-650C
Default 04-29-2010, 23:38 | posts: 7 | Location: Fin

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=319297

This one? I'm currently downloading it, will try it out tomorrow (or later this weekend) if it's legit.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
stooeh
Newbie
 
stooeh's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia GTX 295 1792MB
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-EX58-UD5
Memory: Patriot 3x2GB 1600MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750 Watt
Default 04-30-2010, 00:05 | posts: 34 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stukov View Post
I was pretty sure that Half-life was built around D3D not OpenGL, but I can be wrong.
When Half-Life came out it ran much better in OpenGL than it did in d3d (for both my banshee and Geforce 1).
OGL support in games is pretty poor compared to D3D nowadays
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
inklimited
Ancient Guru
 
inklimited's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6850 900MHz
Processor: i5 2500K 4.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: 4GB XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: RealTek HD 7.1
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Default 04-30-2010, 04:48 | posts: 6,139 | Location: NSW Australia

Have you tried a driver refresh? Tried rolling back drivers to an earlier set?

Driver Refreshing:
-Uninstall Catalyst
-Delete everything from Documents and Settings related to ATI or ACE
-Delete everthing from registry related to ATI or ACE
-Delete the C:\ATI driver install temp folder
-Install new drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
inklimited
Ancient Guru
 
inklimited's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 6850 900MHz
Processor: i5 2500K 4.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI P67A-GD53
Memory: 4GB XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: RealTek HD 7.1
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 600W
Default 04-30-2010, 05:00 | posts: 6,139 | Location: NSW Australia

...and try fiddling with the Z buffer (after you refresh )
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
FliE
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD 5870
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3,8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
Memory: OCZ DDR 1600 Mhz 3x 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APS-650C
Default 05-02-2010, 11:09 | posts: 7 | Location: Fin

I now have the 10.4b drives installed (seem legit thus far) but the problem still persists sadly. I think the drivers helped a little, though.

Oh and the only OpenGL setting I can change from the control center is triple buffer (on/off). I used to have z-buffer there as well but it disappeared at some point.

God forsaken new OS I'd change over to XP SP3 in a heartbeat if it wasn't for D3D 10 & 11 and new games that only work on 7...

[Edit:] After the first match with 10.4b it became apparent that OpenGL 4.0 had in fact made the problem HEAPS worse in full screen. Reverting back to 9.1 now :/

Last edited by FliE; 05-02-2010 at 15:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
ady1969
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX460 1 Gb
Processor: Phenom II 940 BE
Mainboard: Asus M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4Gb Mushkin XP2-8800 1100
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Music
PSU: BeQuiet 650W
Default 05-02-2010, 15:40 | posts: 6

i use cs16full v3 with cs16patch full v19 and work ok
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
FliE
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD 5870
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3,8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
Memory: OCZ DDR 1600 Mhz 3x 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APS-650C
Default 05-08-2010, 13:25 | posts: 7 | Location: Fin

A quick bump & a status update, hoping that someone might have an answer for this.

Problem still persists. I've tried every driver from 9.0 to 9.9 and none of them install properly or work with 5870. 9.10 is the first version that works, but the problem is still there. I'm currently running 10.4 and taking a break from CS until the problem is solved.

Nothing so far has worked or even helped, does anyone have any further suggestions? All help highly appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Corrupt^
Ancient Guru
 
Corrupt^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX770 - G2773HS
Processor: Core i7 2600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte P67-UD4-B3
Memory: Corsair DDR3 16GB 1600
Soundcard: Essence ST - Sennh. HD650
PSU: Antec Truepower 850W
Default 05-08-2010, 16:45 | posts: 5,388 | Location: Belgium

As sad as it may sound, I don't think the problem is going to get fixed by ATI, hell in CSS ATI still has tons of bugs which they still haven't fixed, even after several years.

As silly as it sounds, if you don't have the problem in windows xp, go for a dual boot :x
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
FliE
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX HD 5870
Processor: Intel i7 920 @ 3,8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe v2
Memory: OCZ DDR 1600 Mhz 3x 2GB
Soundcard:
PSU: APS-650C
Default 05-11-2010, 16:47 | posts: 7 | Location: Fin

Heh, the problem is fixed now apparently, running the official 10.4

What did I do, then? Well the only help I can give to those with the same problem is... Watch Pokemon season 2 and change the anti-aliasing filter from box to narrow-tent, 'cause those are the only things I did differently. Which one did the trick? Your guess is as good as mine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
buddyfriendo
Ancient Guru
 
buddyfriendo's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 480 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7 920 3.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T
Memory: Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB
Soundcard: Onboard -_-
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 05-11-2010, 17:09 | posts: 3,419 | Location: New England - M@ss

Quote:
Originally Posted by FliE View Post
Heh, the problem is fixed now apparently, running the official 10.4

What did I do, then? Well the only help I can give to those with the same problem is... Watch Pokemon season 2 and change the anti-aliasing filter from box to narrow-tent, 'cause those are the only things I did differently. Which one did the trick? Your guess is as good as mine.
If I have AA set to anything other than Box in Source games they act funny and I get horrible performance. It's always been that way, so I just leave it be...
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.