Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
GTX480+9800(physx) Benches
Old
  (#1)
SHIVAN484
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gtx 480 + 9800gt (physx)
Processor: Core i7 860
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 8192 DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake
Thumbs up GTX480+9800(physx) Benches - 04-23-2010, 15:14 | posts: 181 | Location: West Australia

Just got the new card and putting it through its paces , here are some scores for anyone interested. I will update as I run through some more.

World in Conflict 1920x1200 16CSAA 16AF all settings on and max.

Min 29 Avg 59 High 99

Dawn of War II 1920x1200 all highest settings

Min 29.7 Avg 62.44 Max 132

Heaven Bench 1920x1200
8AA 16AF extreme tesselation 614

Normal tesselation all default settings 1186

Extreme tesselation all others default 921

Hawx DX10.11920x1200 8AA
Avg 91 Max 307

Crysis 32bit DX10 All settings very high 16CSAA
Min 24.39
Avg 31.11
Max 36.34

Halflife 2 Lost Coast Max Settings 1920x1200 6AA 16AF
241.12

3dmark03 83548
3dmark06 19898
Vantage 20015
All 3dmarks just run at default

All run on Core i7 860 , 8gb ram, GTX480 all settings stock
I have tested a range of others that dont have built in benchmarks so far Dirt 2, Dragon age, and a few older titles but all of those are just max everything out , put on vsync and enjoy a smooth as 60fps.

Addition Batman AA 1920x1200 all settings maxed 16Q AA

just gtx480 GTX480+9800
Min 28 35
Avg 53 68
Max 82 104

Last edited by SHIVAN484; 04-23-2010 at 15:25.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX480 - new CRT 21"
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5GHz CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Exclamation 04-23-2010, 17:09 | posts: 3,925 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

you can sell 9800gt because gtx480 (render+physx) is faster than gtx480+9800gt(physx). if you try test vantage and batman then you confirm my that phrase. but... ATTENTION: new gtx4x0 has next generation of physx and it can accelerate rigid bodies (for batman and wait for more new games)!! 9800gt can't accelerate its.

Last edited by ricardonuno1980; 04-23-2010 at 17:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SHIVAN484
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gtx 480 + 9800gt (physx)
Processor: Core i7 860
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 8192 DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake
Default 04-24-2010, 02:50 | posts: 181 | Location: West Australia

I will test vantage with both combinations, but having the 9800 did improve my benchmarks in batman compared to without.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Cybernetic
Member Guru
 
Videocard: nvidia GTX470
Processor: INTEL CORE i5 750
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH 55i
Memory: G-SKILL 4GBTD 1600MHz.
Soundcard:
PSU: ENERMAX FMAII 535W.
Default 04-24-2010, 04:04 | posts: 49 | Location: THAILAND

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardonuno1980 View Post
you can sell 9800gt because gtx480 (render+physx) is faster than gtx480+9800gt(physx). if you try test vantage and batman then you confirm my that phrase. but... ATTENTION: new gtx4x0 has next generation of physx and it can accelerate rigid bodies (for batman and wait for more new games)!! 9800gt can't accelerate its.
umm, that's true ? thanks for info.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
loneknives
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Galaxy gtx 670 GC
Processor: i7 2600k
Mainboard: intel bp67bg
Memory: corsair 8gb 1600
Soundcard: motherboard sound card
PSU: apevia 750w
Default 04-24-2010, 05:58 | posts: 225 | Location: rosemead, CA

could you benchmark batman same setting as your 480 gtx + 9800?
using just the gtx 480 ^^ want to see the difference

thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
fr33k
Maha Guru
 
fr33k's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX680 SC
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS SABERTOOTH z77
Memory: CORSAIR XMS3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essense STX
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 04-24-2010, 09:32 | posts: 1,822 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybernetic View Post
umm, that's true ? thanks for info.
this is not true, and you get rigid bodys as long as you have a fermi. even with an extra card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GeForce GTX 780 DC2
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: SF Golden Green Pro 600W
Default 04-24-2010, 09:49 | posts: 10,508 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardonuno1980 View Post
you can sell 9800gt because gtx480 (render+physx) is faster than gtx480+9800gt(physx). if you try test vantage and batman then you confirm my that phrase. but... ATTENTION: new gtx4x0 has next generation of physx and it can accelerate rigid bodies (for batman and wait for more new games)!! 9800gt can't accelerate its.
That's not true. Only when the scene is not graphics heavy single GTX 480 beats GTX 480 + 9800 GT combo. In games this is never going to happen. Vantage is different since the whole point of physics test in it is to stress physics processing and it's not graphics heavy at all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 780's SLI
Processor: Core i7 4960X 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus RIVE Black Edition
Memory: 32GB DDR3 Corsair 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 04-24-2010, 13:03 | posts: 495 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
That's not true. Only when the scene is not graphics heavy single GTX 480 beats GTX 480 + 9800 GT combo. In games this is never going to happen. Vantage is different since the whole point of physics test in it is to stress physics processing and it's not graphics heavy at all.
Actually, it is true. I tried benching with my 480 and used a 285 for physx in Vantage. Tried the 480 on its own and got a better score. See for yourself in one of the tests. The test in vantage where there is a lady made up of millions of green sand grains which move like waves. In that feature test with the 285 as physx i was getting around 37fps. After taking the 285 out of the machine and allowing the 480 to render physx, i was getting around 113fps in that same test.

Also in the flags blowing in the wind test, the 285 as physx was giving me 29fps, the 480 on its own was giving me 60fps.

The physx processor in the 480 is far more advanced than the 285's. Seriously guys, unless you're using another 400 series card as ur dedicated physx card, its gonna slow ur main card down.

Last edited by RavenMaster; 04-24-2010 at 13:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
insomniahd
Master Guru
 
insomniahd's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 480 GTX
Processor: AMD PHENOM II x6 1090 BE
Mainboard: MSI 890FX -GD70
Memory: 2x2gb DDR3 1600 Dominator
Soundcard: CREATIVE ULTIMATE EVE
PSU: COOLERMASTER GX 750W
Default 06-22-2010, 17:09 | posts: 216 | Location: india,siliguri

wat if i use my 480gtx with 8600gt????? boost or bottleneak???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
dchalf10
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX670 1293/6800
Processor: i7-870@3.84ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 1156 UD3H
Memory: 4GB 1600CL8
Soundcard: Yamaha 7.2
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 06-22-2010, 17:17 | posts: 4,043

1 Huge favour...could you do a crysis bench with 4 and then with 8aa on the assault benchmark timedemo ( that is in crysis, not crysis warhead )

So many benches don't have min frames or have no AA or insane amounts of AA.

I just want to see what it would run in 'real' cirumstances. I want to see if it cracks the 30 frame minimum @1080p ( or 1200p ) on very high 4aa on the assault bench. If it does that will be a massive win.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
roguesn1per
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX580
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GB X58 UD5
Memory: Corsair--24Gig
Soundcard: Z5500s
PSU: CoolMaster 600W
Default 06-22-2010, 17:23 | posts: 9,514 | Location: Aussie Perth WA

Am i missing something

out of everything there the only thing that would use physx is vantage and batman :S
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dchalf10
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX670 1293/6800
Processor: i7-870@3.84ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 1156 UD3H
Memory: 4GB 1600CL8
Soundcard: Yamaha 7.2
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 06-22-2010, 17:24 | posts: 4,043

Mirrors Edge Sacred 2, UT3, Just Cause 2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
roguesn1per
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: GTX580
Processor: Core i7 920 @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GB X58 UD5
Memory: Corsair--24Gig
Soundcard: Z5500s
PSU: CoolMaster 600W
Default 06-22-2010, 17:34 | posts: 9,514 | Location: Aussie Perth WA

but he didnt test those games?

i know games use physx, but he didnt really test physx.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Copey
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 460 1GB
Processor: Phenom II 955 Black
Mainboard: Gigabyte 790X-UD3P
Memory: 4GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: Antec QP 850W
Default 06-22-2010, 17:54 | posts: 10,678 | Location: U.K

Its been proven a few times that on games that actually use physX that a dedicated card is still faster.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
q8_devil
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gtx 295
Processor: intel i7 920
Mainboard: EVGA X58
Memory: Corsair ddr3 3x2
Soundcard: HT OMEGA STRIKER
PSU: thermaltake 1200w 80 plus
Default 06-22-2010, 19:00 | posts: 201

Quote:
you can sell 9800gt because gtx480 (render+physx) is faster than gtx480+9800gt(physx). if you try test vantage and batman then you confirm my that phrase. but... ATTENTION: new gtx4x0 has next generation of physx and it can accelerate rigid bodies (for batman and wait for more new games)!! 9800gt can't accelerate its.
so much wrong.

anyway try mirror edge-cryostasis- sacred 2 and you will notice huge difference.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 06-22-2010, 19:30 | posts: 13,439 | Location: √╥

Quote:
Originally Posted by dchalf10 View Post
Mirrors Edge Sacred 2, UT3, Just Cause 2.
just cuase2 is using cuda not physx, its similar to direct compute in Stonegiant demo.




To OP

you know whats funny and sad at the same time.. i get almost same fps in Batman aa as you with 480gtx, ok i know reso plays a very BIG part, im only at 1280x1024 and i used just 2xaa (vs yours 16qaa) rest maxed inc physx on high, but still i got min 29|avg 56|max 74fps..

now if i where upgrading to that reso and gpu i would have the same 30'ish fps bs all over again... thats the most annoying sad part for me lol


anyway hf with that gpu its still a killer gpu, especially when OC'ed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
dchalf10
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX670 1293/6800
Processor: i7-870@3.84ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 1156 UD3H
Memory: 4GB 1600CL8
Soundcard: Yamaha 7.2
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 06-22-2010, 19:43 | posts: 4,043

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHunter View Post
you know whats funny and sad at the same time.. i get almost same fps in Batman aa as you with 480gtx, ok i know reso plays a very BIG part, im only at 1280x1024 and i used just 2xaa (vs yours 16qaa) rest maxed inc physx on high, but still i got min 29|avg 56|max 74fps..

now if i where upgrading to that reso and gpu i would have the same 30'ish fps bs all over again... thats the most annoying sad part for me lol


anyway hf with that gpu its still a killer gpu, especially when OC'ed
It's easy to purposely cripple even the best of GPUS

Eg. Mirrors Edge for me now @1080p all maxed physx on 4aa I get a 60 frame average. BUT I get a 30 frame minimum in physx scenes ( no just the blatent glass breaking/cloth effects, but with the subtle stuff like the dust and wind physx effects ) and this makes the game unplayable.

If I were to force 32xaa it with a gtx480 it would halve it's frame rate....and then force AO....it would halve it again....then add a little super sampling...and halve it again.

So you can never really max out a game:

Fallout 3 maxed does not = fallout 3 with 8aa with a 60 frame min.

Fallout 3 maxed = 32xaa, 16af, AO high res texture mods and some chronic .INF modding.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
TheHunter
Banned
 
Videocard: MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
Processor: Intel C2Q 9450 @ 3.576GHZ
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X48-DS5 [F8H]
Memory: Corsair D. 2x2GB @1073MHZ
Soundcard: XFi Fatality Pro [SB046A]
PSU: Tagan Piperock 600W [48A]
Default 06-22-2010, 19:58 | posts: 13,439 | Location: √╥

lol i would be happy with just ingame maxed settings and small aa or forced anisotropic filtering if there is none in game. That's pretty much a maxed out game for me, i dont mind about forced ao it takes a huge hit (its ok in cod4 though) i know i saw it in DMC4 and if a game supports it by default why force it double like fear2, nfs shift, grid,..

btw
i can keep mirror's edge at 60fps with maxed ingame settings including physx with 16xcsa,.. the lowest i saw was ~38fps in fog (i think its in some sewer), but most of the time it stayed around 60fps.


But yea i agree if you want a game maxed maxed, its another story.

Last edited by TheHunter; 06-22-2010 at 20:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 4GB FTW
Processor: i7 4770k / H100i
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: SB X-FI Fatality
PSU: BFG 680 Watt
Default 06-22-2010, 20:00 | posts: 4,458 | Location: Washington DC

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardonuno1980 View Post
ATTENTION: new gtx4x0 has next generation of physx and it can accelerate rigid bodies (for batman and wait for more new games)!! 9800gt can't accelerate its.

I tried this patch that you linked to in one of your other many posts talking about this and it didn't do anything. I couldn't tell a difference between playing Batman with my 2x9800GTX+'s or with my GTX470.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
dchalf10
Banned
 
Videocard: GTX670 1293/6800
Processor: i7-870@3.84ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte 1156 UD3H
Memory: 4GB 1600CL8
Soundcard: Yamaha 7.2
PSU: Corsair HX-850
Default 06-22-2010, 20:13 | posts: 4,043

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheHunter View Post
lol i would be happy with just ingame maxed settings and small aa or forced anisotropic filtering if there is none in game. That's pretty much a maxed out game for me, i dont mind about forced ao it takes a huge hit (its ok in cod4 though) i know i saw it in DMC4 and if a game supports it by default why force it double like fear2, nfs shift, grid,..

btw
i can keep mirror's edge at 60fps with maxed ingame settings including physx with 16xcsa,.. the lowest i saw was ~38fps in fog (i think its in some sewer), but most of the time it stayed around 60fps.


But yea i agree if you want a game maxed maxed, its another story.
I'm running @1080p I think that would explain the frame rate dips.

It's @60 frames 99% of the time. If I had vsync off it would run even higher, but it plummets with AA + phsyx in certain scenes, in the level where the chopper is shooting after you etc...that sequence it $#!+ for my GPU...really great game though, i'm saving my next GPU for when I can 'max' it out...whatever that means and to what degree... fingers crossed for some AO action...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
SHIVAN484
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gtx 480 + 9800gt (physx)
Processor: Core i7 860
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 8192 DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake
Default 06-23-2010, 04:09 | posts: 181 | Location: West Australia

Actually I just realised I had crippled my own system to a small degree and will rerun my benchmarks. I have a GA-P55-UD6 mb and the 9800 was in the second pcie slot which forces the first to run at 8x instead of 16x .. I since moved it to the 3rd slot and the 480 is back on 16x .. Be interesting to see if it makes much difference.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
amieneel
Maha Guru
 
amieneel's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5770 + 240 GT PhysX
Processor: i5-2500K
Mainboard: BIOSTAR TZ68K+
Memory: 8GB(4x2)G.SKILL RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: Corsair VX 550
Default 06-23-2010, 19:06 | posts: 890 | Location: India

Guys i have a question ( may be it's a wrong section or sounds funny ) .. If i wanna use a 9600 gt for physx in my present rig , how do i use it in my system ? Acctualy i don't have any idea about, how to use a nvidia card for physx only .. Can someone give me some idea ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
Copey
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 460 1GB
Processor: Phenom II 955 Black
Mainboard: Gigabyte 790X-UD3P
Memory: 4GB Patriot Viper
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: Antec QP 850W
Default 06-23-2010, 22:23 | posts: 10,678 | Location: U.K

^^ check this out matey

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=318870
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
amieneel
Maha Guru
 
amieneel's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5770 + 240 GT PhysX
Processor: i5-2500K
Mainboard: BIOSTAR TZ68K+
Memory: 8GB(4x2)G.SKILL RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: Corsair VX 550
Default 06-24-2010, 08:53 | posts: 890 | Location: India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Copey View Post
Thanks mate ...

and if i use 2 nvidia cards .. ( if one of them is for physx ? ) ..

Regards ..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.