Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
UPDATED!!! GTX480 SLI +280 Physx Results!!!
Old
  (#1)
gloves085
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3930k Heatkiller 3 wc
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32GB Ballistix VLP
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champ PCIEx
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default UPDATED!!! GTX480 SLI +280 Physx Results!!! - 04-15-2010, 20:51 | posts: 141 | Location: Aldershot, UK

UPDATE: Having seen the results from a couple others with single 480 + Physx card I decided to look at my results again. It seems I had a damaged Sli bridge and the inital results below were false:

I have since replaced my Sli bridge and it seems a Physx card can still make a difference.

Single 480 + 480 Physx: Min:42 Max: 126 Ave: 80
480 Sli: Min: 33 Max: 103 Ave: 67
480 Sli +280 Physx: Min: 64 Max: 166 Ave: 103

This is with 16 AF and 16QAA

My apologies for my original misleading results.


Sorry for not posting screenshots but I was amazed and had to share right away.

I have just run Batman Arkham Asylum Benchmark with 480s in sli doing physics and also 480s Sli with a GTX280 as Physics. In order to keep both runs on a level playing field I did not add the new GTX 480 Physx patch. Both runs were at max settings with 16Q AA @ 1920 x 1200.

I was not expecting these results!

GTX 480 Sli 480 Physx / GTX 480 Sli GTX 280 Physx
Min: 37 / 34
Max: 107 / 105
Ave: 71 / 69

Edit: I have since added the 480 Physx patch and the results for the 480s with no 280 were identical to the 480 with 280 previously, so I stand by my margin for error comment.

This was off only one run each but I believe even at min FPS the margin for error is acceptable.

The difference is negligible, I was amazed!! These cards really are GPGPU monsters, they can do Physx in their sleep!

Anyone wanna buy a couple GTX 280s?


Kudos to Ricardonuno1980 for predicting this. TBH I didn't believe the cards were that good.


Edit: I ran 3DMark Vantage in both modes also. Of course the thing to bear in mind there is that the Physics test doesn't stress the cards at all so no surprises that with 280 CPU score = 50k, without = 59k. It's a no brainer, the 280s are going to a new home soon!

Last edited by gloves085; 04-23-2010 at 06:08. Reason: Vantage info:
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970GTX 4gb
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 04-15-2010, 20:56 | posts: 4,410 | Location: Spain

just for curiosity, how much one of those 280s would go? xP
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
gloves085
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3930k Heatkiller 3 wc
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32GB Ballistix VLP
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champ PCIEx
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 04-15-2010, 20:59 | posts: 141 | Location: Aldershot, UK

LOL, I think it's the insured postage that would kill your wallet.

I'm currently deciding whether to put one in my partner's machine to replace his 2 x 8800GTXs on water, but he doesn't game so I think I'll probably put them on ebay, sadly none of my friends at work would know what to do with them and I hate parting with old gear.

Last edited by gloves085; 04-15-2010 at 21:03. Reason: Ooops, Freudian slip!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970GTX 4gb
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 04-15-2010, 21:18 | posts: 4,410 | Location: Spain

aint you from UK? xP european have no fees

postage idk but a fan from china was only 10$

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 04-15-2010 at 21:21.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5 CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 04-15-2010, 21:38 | posts: 4,171 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)


ave - 107 / 105; max - 71 / 69 -> bad but max - 107 / 105; ave - 71 / 69 -> good. you mistake it. lool
after new patch for batman AA, did you get crash or message error to desktop?

Last edited by ricardonuno1980; 04-15-2010 at 21:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
gloves085
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3930k Heatkiller 3 wc
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32GB Ballistix VLP
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champ PCIEx
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 04-15-2010, 21:46 | posts: 141 | Location: Aldershot, UK

Ok, thanks for proving me wrong twice in one day Ricardo, fixed now


The annoying things is I've now got to rip the 280 back out of my case and that is MAJOR surgery!

Oh and I did not run the 280 in Physx after the patch, I couldn't see the point.

Last edited by gloves085; 04-15-2010 at 21:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
gloves085
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3930k Heatkiller 3 wc
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32GB Ballistix VLP
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champ PCIEx
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 04-15-2010, 21:55 | posts: 141 | Location: Aldershot, UK

@ Black Ice Spain

I'm not quite ready to part with the 280s yet maybe a week or so in case I burn out the 480s with overclocks or overvolts. but if you take a look at ebay and then PM me with an offer I will get back to you seeing as you asked first.

Please bear in mind they are EVGA GTX 280 SSCs and have been perfectly reliable, the warranty with evga is not transferrable, but they can be delivered boxed.

NOTE!: I am not open to offers from anyone else, but Black Ice asked and IF I sell I will offer him first before putting them on ebay. I don't think I can say fairer than that as this is not a Marketplace thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
The Phoenix
Maha Guru
 
The Phoenix's Avatar
 
Videocard: gigabyte 970 g1
Processor: 3770k@4.8ghz/hyper212+
Mainboard: biostar tz68a+ z68
Memory: 8 gig g-skill DDR3
Soundcard: onboard hd audio
PSU: CORSAIR 650w
Default 04-15-2010, 22:01 | posts: 964

dark void benchmark,even with 260 for physx it wont let me select above low physx setting,but anyway gtx480 by itself scored 95 fps,gtx480+260 doing physx,over 130 fps,i dont have batman so i couldnt test that,but alas im rather inpressed with the dark void gains,also tested darkest of days and gained about 12fps more with the 260 doing physx,probly will score higher on physx if i overclock the 260
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970GTX 4gb
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 04-15-2010, 22:07 | posts: 4,410 | Location: Spain

ill consider it if i see em in ebay (only one, i dont have two slots), anyways im happy with this one and was planning to hold it. so dont see me as a buyer xP. Was curiosity also xP.

Last edited by Black_ice_Spain; 04-15-2010 at 22:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
gloves085
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3930k Heatkiller 3 wc
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32GB Ballistix VLP
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champ PCIEx
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 04-16-2010, 00:38 | posts: 141 | Location: Aldershot, UK

@ The Phoenix


Hmm, that is interesting, but I am in Sli, maybe Physx is now rendering across both cards, but I couldn't see a difference and for the extra strain on my PSU, not to mention squeezing the 280 between my 480s and upping temps, I can't justify it.

These 480s are awesome aren't they!

I may try a little more testing over the weekend before I ditch the cards.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
The Phoenix
Maha Guru
 
The Phoenix's Avatar
 
Videocard: gigabyte 970 g1
Processor: 3770k@4.8ghz/hyper212+
Mainboard: biostar tz68a+ z68
Memory: 8 gig g-skill DDR3
Soundcard: onboard hd audio
PSU: CORSAIR 650w
Default 04-16-2010, 00:42 | posts: 964

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloves085 View Post
@ The Phoenix


Hmm, that is interesting, but I am in Sli, maybe Physx is now rendering across both cards, but I couldn't see a difference and for the extra strain on my PSU, not to mention squeezing the 280 between my 480s and upping temps, I can't justify it.

These 480s are awesome aren't they!

I may try a little more testing over the weekend before I ditch the cards.
definatly raises the temps on average about 8C more then the 480 by itself,and i agree im luvin this card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Black_ice_Spain
Ancient Guru
 
Black_ice_Spain's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970GTX 4gb
Processor: 2500K @ 4.4 / 1.28v
Mainboard: Z77P-D3
Memory: 8gb 1600 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DG
PSU: AC Strike-X 600W
Default 04-16-2010, 00:42 | posts: 4,410 | Location: Spain

480s are more awesome for physx and cuda things than they are for games.

Well, that considering that they are awesome for everything xD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
eclap
Ancient Guru
 
eclap's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming 970 1450/7800
Processor: i5 2500k @4.5 1.2v
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8GB G-Skill RipjawsX 1600
Soundcard: Aune T1. AD700. DT880
PSU: XFX Black 750W 80+ Gold
Default 04-16-2010, 00:53 | posts: 26,886 | Location: Hampshire, UK

Aldershot?? I'm between Basingstoke/Fleet... so... how much do you want for a 280gtx?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
The Phoenix
Maha Guru
 
The Phoenix's Avatar
 
Videocard: gigabyte 970 g1
Processor: 3770k@4.8ghz/hyper212+
Mainboard: biostar tz68a+ z68
Memory: 8 gig g-skill DDR3
Soundcard: onboard hd audio
PSU: CORSAIR 650w
Default 04-16-2010, 01:04 | posts: 964

gloves085 are you overclocking the 285s? precision wont let me change the core clock on the 260 hmmm it would score higher if i could i believe
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
gloves085
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3930k Heatkiller 3 wc
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32GB Ballistix VLP
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champ PCIEx
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 04-16-2010, 02:35 | posts: 141 | Location: Aldershot, UK

Odd!?! Precison worked fine for me on the 280s perhaps it is a side effect of having the 480 installed. Have you tried Afterburner? It is based on the same Rivatuner code.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
The Phoenix
Maha Guru
 
The Phoenix's Avatar
 
Videocard: gigabyte 970 g1
Processor: 3770k@4.8ghz/hyper212+
Mainboard: biostar tz68a+ z68
Memory: 8 gig g-skill DDR3
Soundcard: onboard hd audio
PSU: CORSAIR 650w
Default 04-16-2010, 02:51 | posts: 964

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloves085 View Post
Odd!?! Precison worked fine for me on the 280s perhaps it is a side effect of having the 480 installed. Have you tried Afterburner? It is based on the same Rivatuner code.
nah hadnt tried that yet but i think i will an we will see what happens
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 690 @ +135/+128+/+465
Processor: W3300 Xeon @ 4.15Ghz
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth X58
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Enermax revolution 1020W
Default 04-16-2010, 02:57 | posts: 1,804

Screw the physx card, play it without it. not many games utilizes it in full potential anyways, gtx 480 and or sli and no physx card, crazy man, leave the 480's alone, you are all set to go buddie.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
JCD3nton
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 480 SLI
Processor: i7 920
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 04-16-2010, 07:53 | posts: 3

Hmm, if there's no difference maybe there's no need for me to keep my GTX280. I have a pair of 480s coming tomorrow, can't wait. I would have been scared to run a pair of 480s with GTX280 physx on a corsair HX1000 anyway.

edit: oh snap, I actually see that the OP is using an HX1000. So OP, have you fried your PSU yet or does it seem safe?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
gloves085
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 680 SLI
Processor: i7 3930k Heatkiller 3 wc
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: 32GB Ballistix VLP
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatality Champ PCIEx
PSU: Corsair HX 1000w
Default 04-16-2010, 10:34 | posts: 141 | Location: Aldershot, UK

Actually I added a second PSU for the 280 as a temporary measure to be on the safe side. I had one power cut off when using just the HX1000w, but I had CPU and both 480s overclocked so I decided to play it safe. It's a nice PSU and I didn't want to risk frying it either
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
JCD3nton
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 480 SLI
Processor: i7 920
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX1000
Default 04-16-2010, 12:22 | posts: 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloves085 View Post
Actually I added a second PSU for the 280 as a temporary measure to be on the safe side. I had one power cut off when using just the HX1000w, but I had CPU and both 480s overclocked so I decided to play it safe. It's a nice PSU and I didn't want to risk frying it either

Was the HX1000 sufficient for just the overclocked 480s without the 280 or did you need a second PSU for that too?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
ricardonuno1980
Ancient Guru
 
ricardonuno1980's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX580 3GB :D
Processor: i5-2500K@4.5 CM212EVO
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 REV 3.0
Memory: HyperX 2x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: NOX 1000W
Default 04-16-2010, 12:47 | posts: 4,171 | Location: Carvalhos (Gaia)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCD3nton View Post
Hmm, if there's no difference maybe there's no need for me to keep my GTX280. I have a pair of 480s coming tomorrow, can't wait. I would have been scared to run a pair of 480s with GTX280 physx on a corsair HX1000 anyway.

edit: oh snap, I actually see that the OP is using an HX1000. So OP, have you fried your PSU yet or does it seem safe?
yes, 1000w is good enough but no need gtx280. I will buy same 2 videocards (or 2 gtx490's) w/ new 1000w after my 9800gt sold for only july.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
eagled1
Master Guru
 
eagled1's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 SLI 4GB
Processor: 2700k @4.9 on H2O
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IV Extreme Z
Memory: 16GB GSkill @ 1866 Sniper
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 04-16-2010, 15:36 | posts: 361

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloves085 View Post


Edit: I have since added the 480 Physx patch and the results for the 480s with no 280 were identical to the 480 with 280 previously, so I stand by my margin for error comment.

This was off only one run each but I believe even at min FPS the margin for error is acceptable.

The difference is negligible, I was amazed!! These cards really are GPGPU monsters, they can do Physx in their sleep!






Edit: I ran 3DMark Vantage in both modes also. Of course the thing to bear in mind there is that the Physics test doesn't stress the cards at all so no surprises that with 280 CPU score = 50k, without = 59k. It's a no brainer, the 280s are going to a new home soon!
that's exactly what I found....having a dedicated Physx card with the 480 is not necessary at all. (I was using the GTX 285..still negligible)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.