Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark Vantage scores with your brand new GTX 295 SLI or Radeon HD 4870 X2 Crossfire in that Intel Core 2 rig? Then this is your section!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
MaxCarBench
Old
  (#1)
NormanBates
Master Guru
 
NormanBates's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
Processor: Intel Q6600@3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: similaar.com
PSU: find similar things
Default MaxCarBench - 11-06-2009, 01:29 | posts: 376 | Location: Spain

hello again

guess what: just as we did for maya a few weeks back, we've got a nice 3ds max benchmark now too

at least nicer than specviewperf; or so I hope, because this one gave me more trouble than usual

you see... I don't have max, I don't use max. Last time I used 3Dstudio was with version 3 for DOS; I just looked it up on wikipedia, and that was 1993: I got a trial version with some magazine, then it expired. Fast forward. Today a friend let me use his computer for half an hour, and so this scene was created, trying to replicate MayaCarBench as close as possible

he didn't assist me in the process, so please, forgive me if there are some rough edges here...

still, can we use it as a benchmark? let's try, at least until somebody finds some big fault in it (like: there seems to be some problems with the textures in some cars; they seem to be the cars that didn't have real textures to start with, but still that may be a problem)

here it is:
http://uploading.com/files/88mf81c6/MaxCarBench.zip


if you want to use it:
* download zip
* extract it to a local drive, it will create a project subdir tree
* set 1280x1024 resolution, or close to that
* open 3dsmax
* if you don't see it already, get the fps indicator: click on the "+" in the viewport, configure, statistics, show statistics
* file > open scene > MaxCarBench.max (it may tell you there are some missing texture files...)
* you should see ten cars and an aircraft, plus some text disclaimer on the origin of the models, some of them shaded and with textures
* press play; the camera will rotate around the models
* look at the fps indicator, and take note of the HIGHEST fps number achieved (round it down to the closest lower integer, as in 31.8 -> 31; it is easier this way)





results so far:

Code:
seth_amok --- 50 fps - i7-920@4.0GHz - 6GB - w7.64 - 8800GT unmodded 190.38
NormanBates - 31 fps -- q6600@3.0GHz - 2GB - xp.32 - HD4670 1GB unmodded 8.661
NormanBates - 31 fps -- q6600@3.0GHz - 2GB - xp.32 - HD4670 1GB modded 8.603
Cubitus ----- 18 fps - T2M520@2.3Ghz - 4GB - w7.64 - Radeon4530 (directX 9)
Cubitus ----- 11 fps ---- A64@2.0GHz - 1GB - xp.32 - Radeon9700 @ FireGL 8.043 (directX)
Cubitus ------ 1 fps ---- A64@2.0GHz - 1GB - xp.32 - Radeon9700 @ FireGL 8.043 (openGL)
first conclusion: 3dsmax is much more efficient than maya, I've got a sevenfold increase in fps! does this thing ever crawl at 1fps? should we try with an even more complex scene?
(yes, my friend's computer is nealy the same as mine: I'm his unnoficial IT advisor, and he bought it just a couple of months after I bought mine, so only the HDD is a bit better; drivers are more recent too, but I'm pretty sure that wouldn't make a difference in maya, so the 7x improvement holds)


sister benchmarks:

MayaCarBench:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=307466

MayaBikeBench:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=307873

Last edited by NormanBates; 11-23-2010 at 22:06.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Maryus3D
Member Guru
 
Maryus3D's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 285
Processor: i5 750 @ 2,6
Mainboard: ASRock P55 Deluxe
Memory: 4 GB KingMax Mars
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair 450VX
Default 11-06-2009, 06:56 | posts: 97 | Location: Romania

UFF I'm on OSX and I don't have windows anymore. Maybe I'll test soon .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
juodvarnis
Member Guru
 
juodvarnis's Avatar
 
Videocard: mobility radeon hd 5650
Processor: intel core i5 460m
Mainboard: acer aspire 3820tg
Memory: 8gb ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: 90w
Default 11-09-2009, 01:54 | posts: 49 | Location: Lithuania

there were benchmark scenes provided in some earlier 3ds max cd and there is maxscript to measure framerate precisely. i can upload it somewhere somehow if someone is intrested
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Cubitus
Member Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-09-2009, 18:12 | posts: 46

Cubitus - 11fps in Direct X9- Athlon64 +3200 (2Ghz) - 1GB - XP.32 - 3dsMax2010- Mobility Radeon 9700 modded to ATI FireGL T2 w/ 8043 drivers. CPU was at maximum.

Cubitus - 0.9fps in OpenGL- Athlon64 +3200 (2Ghz) - 1GB - XP.32 - 3dsMax2010- Mobility Radeon 9700 modded to ATI FireGL T2 w/ 8043 drivers.



I clicked view > show standart materials with maps in viewport because i had only grey cars in it except the Audi. In DirectX most textures even after that didn't showed up like in HUMMER or showed black like in FIAT Punto, but they showed up right OpenGL. Btw, i am missing a texture: us_ltv_main.tif
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
NormanBates
Master Guru
 
NormanBates's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
Processor: Intel Q6600@3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: similaar.com
PSU: find similar things
Default 11-10-2009, 21:29 | posts: 376 | Location: Spain

wow, that's a ancient system...

but it's a nice result: it looks like you just have to use max in directx mode (as I also did), and then even your rig is faster than anything we tested in maya (and that includes some really fast processors, and some really expensive authentic pro cards)

about the textures: in my system it also says one texture file is missing, but it displays the textures properly in the cars (some don't seem to have any, but the punto, humvee, etc., have been properly textured)

Last edited by NormanBates; 11-10-2009 at 21:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Cubitus
Member Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-13-2009, 13:11 | posts: 46

Yeah, it made valuable service but it is time to retire it. I am replacing it by an HP Dv7 with an HD4530, it came with W7 x64 unfortunately i installed a demo of 3dsMax2010 32bits and it doesn't start, says some DX9 dll missing. Do you know if there is any upgrade?

In Softimage 2010 32bits Trial with all HP crap and all W7 effects it is about 18-20fps faster with consumer drivers that it came with than the Clevo with modded 9700 Radeon.

Last edited by Cubitus; 11-13-2009 at 13:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kocha
Newbie
 
Videocard: NVidia Quadro FX4600
Processor: C2Q 8200@3150 MHz
Mainboard: MSI P45
Memory: 2x2 GB Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: ALC888
PSU: LC Power Hyperion 700W
Default 11-17-2009, 12:13 | posts: 12 | Location: Serbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cubitus View Post
... i installed a demo of 3dsMax2010 32bits and it doesn't start, says some DX9 dll missing. Do you know if there is any upgrade?
Try to update your DirectX runtimes:

Code:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=04ac064b-00d1-474e-b7b1-442d8712d553&displaylang=en
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Cubitus
Member Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-23-2009, 19:29 | posts: 46

yes that was it.

Cubitus - 18fps in Direct X9- Turion II Ultra M520(2.3Ghz) - 4GB - Win7 x64 - 3dsMax2010- Mobility Radeon HD4530; 9.11 Catalyst Drivers via MobilityModder. CPU was at around 40-50%.

Resolution 1600x900

Viewport was correct except front fencers in Punto appearing normals inverted and some cars didn't showed glass transparency.

Other tests:
Views>Show Material Viewport as>Standard Display

which means no textures: give me a boost to 20fps. Now without any viewport error in cars.

Views>Show Material Viewport as>HardwareDisplayWithMaps

dropped to 13fps with some normal errors.



DX10: 1fps with some 3D mistakes specially in one car with all normals inverted.

OpenGL:1fps with good viewport.

I forgot to say that the result with older notebook was with 1440x900 resolution.

Last edited by Cubitus; 11-23-2009 at 19:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
NormanBates
Master Guru
 
NormanBates's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
Processor: Intel Q6600@3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: similaar.com
PSU: find similar things
Default 11-26-2009, 15:09 | posts: 376 | Location: Spain

thanks, I added your numbers to the table

(and I thought max was more popular than maya!)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Cubitus
Member Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-26-2009, 22:30 | posts: 46

It is , but maybe not here.

Edit:
btw i just rerun the test to check with GPU-z the load and it gives me 57% Load of GPU so why are the remaining 43% idle?

Last edited by Cubitus; 11-26-2009 at 23:30.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
NormanBates
Master Guru
 
NormanBates's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
Processor: Intel Q6600@3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: similaar.com
PSU: find similar things
Default 11-27-2009, 10:12 | posts: 376 | Location: Spain

if you're not using neither all the CPU power nor all the GPU power you have at hand, maybe memory bandwith is your bottleneck? there's a lot of info about vertex position that has to be retrieved from memory in this scene, and textures too

if you are really, really interested in knowing, and have time to burn, you can throttle down your GPU's memory, and see how much that impacts performance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
avadona
Newbie
 
Videocard: xxxxx
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 B50
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W
Default 11-27-2009, 16:10 | posts: 10

subb'd
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Cubitus
Member Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-27-2009, 20:50 | posts: 46

Quote:
if you are really, really interested in knowing, and have time to burn, you can throttle down your GPU's memory, and see how much that impacts performance
Or i can make a cube(less memory ) delete all other objects and run it.

Edit1:Made the test with a cube with all objects deleted GPU load never goes above fifties 55% was the bigger number.


fps run wildly between 151 and 100

If i select the cube the fps run between 9x's and 137.

So in all the GPU load is more or less the same. Around 50's %

Is there an online game/bench that pushes the GPU to the max?

Edit2: Cinebench R10 x64 OpenGL bench pushed the GPU to 68%

Edit3: Made the Softimage bench i have posted here in another thread and i have very curious results:

Textured: Max GPU Load : 66%
Wireframe: Max GPU Load: 45%
HiddenLine: Max GPU Load: 87%

Last edited by Cubitus; 11-27-2009 at 23:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
seth_amok
Newbie
 
Videocard: 8800 GT
Processor: I7 920 at 4.0ghz
Mainboard: X58-UD3R
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1536 CL9
Soundcard:
PSU: Nexus 530W
Default 12-02-2009, 12:29 | posts: 5 | Location: Romania

On my system, i got 50 fps maximum, but the average is somewhere around 40, with drops in the range of 33-34.

I'm using just normal drivers, 190.38, stock frequencies on the 8800 GT. Also, i'm running a dual-display setup, an Eizo 19" at 1280-1024 which is for the viewport and also, a secondary monitor for menus, an Acer 22" at 1680/1050, so the performance is a bit lower than on just a single monitor setup.

OS: Windows 7 x64, forgot to mention

Last edited by seth_amok; 12-02-2009 at 15:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
NormanBates
Master Guru
 
NormanBates's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI HD3870 / ATI HD4670
Processor: Intel Q6600@3GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: similaar.com
PSU: find similar things
Default 12-08-2009, 22:25 | posts: 376 | Location: Spain

I updated the table with the details from seth_amok
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.