Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
artifacts in crysis warhead
Old
  (#1)
alcest
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 4850 gddr3 512
Processor: Intel Dual-Core E2160 @3.
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-PRO
Memory: A-Data 2x1 GB 800Mhz+
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Music
PSU: SEASONIC SII 430W
Default artifacts in crysis warhead - 10-02-2008, 21:46 | posts: 92 | Location: Slovakia

Hello guys,
i have strange artifacts in crysis warhead on ati 4850, i uploaded 2 videos from it here:

http://www.upnito.sk/download.php?dw...b34f437fb6018d

http://www.upnito.sk/download.php?dw...30717595d8ff7e

its in slovak (that link) so 'suhlasim s pravidlami' means 'i agree with terms', and 'stiahnut' is 'download'
could you pls look at it, and suggest the reason for it?

i have both ram and gpu overclocked, and i think it might be ram, thats causing troubles

Last edited by alcest; 10-02-2008 at 21:49.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 10-02-2008, 22:06 | posts: 3,690 | Location: Serbia, NS

You have an overclocked gpu.. you get artifacts...

The artifacts that you're getting are definitely from the OC'ed card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
alcest
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 4850 gddr3 512
Processor: Intel Dual-Core E2160 @3.
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-PRO
Memory: A-Data 2x1 GB 800Mhz+
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Music
PSU: SEASONIC SII 430W
Default 10-02-2008, 22:25 | posts: 92 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undying View Post
You have an overclocked gpu.. you get artifacts...

The artifacts that you're getting are definitely from the OC'ed card.
ok, but there are differently clocked ram and gpu, and i dont believe that both cause artifacts, moreover it is overclocked with ati overdrive, so something might be wrong with crysis.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 10-03-2008, 00:03 | posts: 3,690 | Location: Serbia, NS

Try downclock your GPU and see if that helps,check temeperatures its maybe is overheating...(nothing is wrong with Crysis)

And yeah the HD 4850 requires at least a 450W power supply.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Psychlone
Ancient Guru
 
Psychlone's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD5970 Engineering
Processor: i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock x79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH
Soundcard: Gigaworks S750 7.1ch 700W
PSU: SPH1200
Default 10-03-2008, 06:53 | posts: 3,716 | Location: Searching for more light...

Nothing is wrong with the game, I just beat it for the 4th time and have yet to experience anything negative.

Too high of a GPU overclock will cause 'popping' - little white or black dots, while too high of a memory overclock will cause 'tearing' - distorted textures that stretch off into space.

Decrease your overclocks a bit...and just because you overclocked with CCC doesn't mean that you didn't go out of bounds for your card - no card overclocks the same, and you've got one that doesn't like where you've put it.

Psychlone
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
alcest
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 4850 gddr3 512
Processor: Intel Dual-Core E2160 @3.
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-PRO
Memory: A-Data 2x1 GB 800Mhz+
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Music
PSU: SEASONIC SII 430W
Default 10-03-2008, 22:16 | posts: 92 | Location: Slovakia

temps are max 50-52,
psu is powerfull enough, according to ati overdrive that card can go up to 790 mhz on gpu, and over 1158 mhz on ram, and i had to downgrade gpu to 730 to work with crysis, and even then there were these artifacts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
runawayprisoner
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon HD4870 512M
Processor: Intel C2Q Q9450 @ 3.6GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-04-2008, 01:00 | posts: 55

The temperature sensors are not to be trusted. This is a clear sign of something overheating, and as said before, downclock. Try stock clocks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
alcest
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 4850 gddr3 512
Processor: Intel Dual-Core E2160 @3.
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-PRO
Memory: A-Data 2x1 GB 800Mhz+
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Music
PSU: SEASONIC SII 430W
Default 10-05-2008, 00:55 | posts: 92 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by runawayprisoner View Post
The temperature sensors are not to be trusted. This is a clear sign of something overheating, and as said before, downclock. Try stock clocks.
ok, so i wont trust sensors, are there any good torture tests for ati, or for gpu in general? (i just wont go back to stock clocks, why in the hell did i replace stock heatsink then?)

Last edited by alcest; 10-05-2008 at 01:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
alcest
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 4850 gddr3 512
Processor: Intel Dual-Core E2160 @3.
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-PRO
Memory: A-Data 2x1 GB 800Mhz+
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Music
PSU: SEASONIC SII 430W
Default 10-05-2008, 01:40 | posts: 92 | Location: Slovakia

due to no time (its 02:20 past midnight)
i tried only one gpu stress test 'Tropics' (only 2 cycles), and my gpu passed,
anyway here is log file from gpu-z 0.2.8, could somebody tell, what are the max (safe) temps for 4850? (mine from this log are: DISPIO - 53c, MEMIO - 56c, SHADERCORE -55c)
i will burden my gpu next day, and post results, but if somebody can tell at what temps is his gpu causing problems, or what are those max temps for ati,
pls post.

http://rapidshare.com/files/15099864...r_Log.txt.html

btw did somebody look at those 2 videos i posted at thread start?
maybe it will make clear whats my problem?
thanx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
runawayprisoner
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon HD4870 512M
Processor: Intel C2Q Q9450 @ 3.6GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-05-2008, 05:21 | posts: 55

Tropics is not exactly a stress test. More like a demo in reality.

And again, temp sensors are not to be trusted. You can blow a 100CFM fan directly onto those and they'll report something like 20C whereas your GPU or memory modules would be hovering at 60-70C in reality. Use temperature probes to measure your temperature accurately. Temperature sensors won't be accurate anymore after another cooler is installed, since the stock cooler would distribute heat all over, and the stock cooler was closer to the sensors. (i.o.t. the sensors are only good for the stock cooler)

That aside, the stock cooler for HD4850 is really not too efficient, which is why replacing it was a must for a lot of owners.

I know this because my HD4850 died from overclocking as well. I never went that route again. Got myself a HD4870 in that stead.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
alcest
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 4850 gddr3 512
Processor: Intel Dual-Core E2160 @3.
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-PRO
Memory: A-Data 2x1 GB 800Mhz+
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Music
PSU: SEASONIC SII 430W
Default 10-05-2008, 10:09 | posts: 92 | Location: Slovakia

ok, i got it, i will downclock for now, anyway do somebody know some stress test applications?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
runawayprisoner
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon HD4870 512M
Processor: Intel C2Q Q9450 @ 3.6GHz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-05-2008, 18:21 | posts: 55

As it is right now, stress testing will just wear your card out, or even kill it (in my case). If you still want to try, use Atitools. It has a built-in stress test that stresses pretty well.

Absolutely touch FurBench... never. It stresses your card way beyond the average level, and will kill overclocked or overvolted card very easily.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: 3GB HD7970OC/2GB HD7770
Processor: 4770K@4.5GHz/Q6600@3.6GHz
Mainboard: Z87-GD65 / P5K PREMIUM
Memory: 8GB@1600MHz/4GB@1066MHz
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: 1200W/900W
Default 10-05-2008, 18:25 | posts: 5,361 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychlone View Post
Nothing is wrong with the game, I just beat it for the 4th time and have yet to experience anything negative.

Too high of a GPU overclock will cause 'popping' - little white or black dots, while too high of a memory overclock will cause 'tearing' - distorted textures that stretch off into space.

Decrease your overclocks a bit...and just because you overclocked with CCC doesn't mean that you didn't go out of bounds for your card - no card overclocks the same, and you've got one that doesn't like where you've put it.

Psychlone
What drivers are you using for Crysis I have 8.10 beta installed they are great but I get flashing textures in Crysis.
   
Reply With Quote
re
Old
  (#14)
alcest
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ASUS 4850 gddr3 512
Processor: Intel Dual-Core E2160 @3.
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-PRO
Memory: A-Data 2x1 GB 800Mhz+
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Music
PSU: SEASONIC SII 430W
Default re - 10-05-2008, 22:35 | posts: 92 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by runawayprisoner View Post
As it is right now, stress testing will just wear your card out, or even kill it (in my case). If you still want to try, use Atitools. It has a built-in stress test that stresses pretty well.

Absolutely touch FurBench... never. It stresses your card way beyond the average level, and will kill overclocked or overvolted card very easily.
ok, many thanks for info,
just now i am running crysis warhead benchmark, and it even looks beautiful
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Psychlone
Ancient Guru
 
Psychlone's Avatar
 
Videocard: Radeon HD5970 Engineering
Processor: i7 3820
Mainboard: ASRock x79 Extreme6/GB
Memory: F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH
Soundcard: Gigaworks S750 7.1ch 700W
PSU: SPH1200
Default 10-06-2008, 02:35 | posts: 3,716 | Location: Searching for more light...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
What drivers are you using for Crysis I have 8.10 beta installed they are great but I get flashing textures in Crysis.
I started with the 8.9 official CCC's and updated to the beta 8.10 set and experienced the same flashing textures (group of trees at a distance, a few large rocks at a distance, etc.) - but I found that if I load the game, exit to the main menu and reload it again, it clears it up...probably something to do with texture memory having to be reloaded, but they *are* beta drivers, so don't expect that to be an issue when they become official.

I'm still using the beta 8.10's because they're all-around just better drivers. And, to date, those flashing textures are the only problem that I've ever experienced with any beta or official Catalyst drivers. Ever.

Psychlone
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.