Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI
Videocards - AMD - ATI AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon 9800 to HD 6900


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Radeon HD 4850 Heat issues
Old
  (#1)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Exclamation Radeon HD 4850 Heat issues - 06-28-2008, 17:43 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Okay, here's the problem. I just received my HD 4850 3 or so days ago. And I've been running F@H GPU. Now the temps are up to 82C, but the damn auto speed controller or w/e its called that comes on the card. Is only running the fan at 31% which is pretty much 2200RPM. With a GPU load of 70+ percent.

Now I'm not liking these temps at all, nor am I liking the fan controller. Can someone help me find a program that can controll the HD4850 fan?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
MileHighMilitia
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS HD4850 + TT DuOrb 700/1135
Processor: Core 2 duo E6750 2.66 Ghz
Mainboard: ECS P35T-A
Memory: 4 Gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: Built in Realtek HD audio
PSU: Cooler Master 550W
Default 06-28-2008, 17:55 | posts: 603 | Location: Colorado

Well its not the auto speed controller that is the issue. Its the temps that ATi set as safe and the speed they thought would suffice. Currently there is no program that can control fan on these cards. Soon there will be rivatuner to do exactly that but not yet. You could just be like the rest of us proud 4850 owners and get an aftermarket cooler for it. I got the ThermalTake DuOrb vga cooler. As for those temps, they are well within operating temperature, but i agree that they are just too high for these cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sunderland
Master Guru
 
Videocard: xfx 5770
Processor: E8500@4.0ghz
Mainboard: gigabyte ga-p35-ds3r
Memory: 4Gb OCZ Gold series
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair 520w
Default 06-28-2008, 18:37 | posts: 342 | Location: northeast england

well my 4870 sits at 76deg and goes upto about 85deg playing games but that is well within ati"s guide line
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
krayzieNRG
Maha Guru
 
krayzieNRG's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 6870
Processor: Q6600-3.5ghz-Corsair H50
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula X38
Memory: 4 gb Patriot
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 06-28-2008, 18:50 | posts: 947 | Location: Jamaica

consider getting the thermaltake Du-orb it works http://www.thermaltake.com/product/C...2/cl-g0102.asp

its on www.newegg.com
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
foxX
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 6950, 1Gb
Processor: Intel Q9550 @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: Asus P5E
Memory: 4x2048Mb Mushkin 5-5-5-15
Soundcard: SonySTR-DE475 + SennHD558
PSU: CM Silent Pro Hybrid 850
Default 06-28-2008, 19:15 | posts: 80 | Location: Germany

hope that ati mini-oven inside my case is also within m-audio's guide-line, and intel's guide-line, and western digital's guide-line and nec's guide-line and sirtec's guide-line and mushkin's guide-line and... you get the point
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
buster2010
Newbie
 
Videocard: VisionTek HD4850 512mb
Processor: AMD x3 8650
Mainboard: MSI K9
Memory: 2 gig Mushkin DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 650TX
Default 06-28-2008, 20:01 | posts: 1

I have the VisionTek 4850 and I got my temps to drop by unplugging the wire that controlled the fan speed on my card it was the blue wire but the fan is kinda loud.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
MileHighMilitia
Master Guru
 
Videocard: HIS HD4850 + TT DuOrb 700/1135
Processor: Core 2 duo E6750 2.66 Ghz
Mainboard: ECS P35T-A
Memory: 4 Gb DDR2-800
Soundcard: Built in Realtek HD audio
PSU: Cooler Master 550W
Default 06-28-2008, 20:07 | posts: 603 | Location: Colorado

lol ya i bet it is loud. Ati set the fan speed for a reason DuOrb is really quiet and cools well. not to mention it lets you only take up 2 slots unlike some aftermarket cooling
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
bretware
Master Guru
 
bretware's Avatar
 
Videocard: Two ATI 6850's
Processor: AMD 965, CORSAIR H50
Mainboard: ASUS M4A89TD PRO
Memory: OCZ fatality 8GB@1600
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 06-29-2008, 02:08 | posts: 297

if you make a profile in catalyst after turning on Overdrive( make sure clock and memory settings are correct). You can then go to the file "C:\Users\Bretware\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Bretware. XML. the xml file will have the same name as the catalyst profile you saved. right click and hit edit.

<Feature name="FanSpeedAlgorithm_0">
<Property name="FanSpeedAlgorithm" value="Manual" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="FanSpeedRPMTarget_0">
<Property name="Want" value="0" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="FanSpeedPercentTarget_0">
<Property name="Want" value="65" />

Change the value to "manual" and Want value to "65"

Save the file then reload your profile in catalyst.

65% seemed perfect for me, 70% was loud but you may need it if your case has poor air flow.

You will may have to select the profile everytime you start the computer, but it will work until there is a fix or better info so i can figure how to change the auto target temp.
Good Luck ,bretware

Last edited by bretware; 06-30-2008 at 01:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Cartman372
Maha Guru
 
Cartman372's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 680 FTW+ 1280/7200
Processor: i5-3570K TR TRUE Black
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
Memory: mushkin 32GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard + Creative 2.1
PSU: Corsair TX850W
Default 06-29-2008, 03:04 | posts: 977 | Location: Newton, NJ

Quote:
Originally Posted by bretware View Post
if you make a profile in catalyst after turning on Overdrive( make sure clock and memory settings are correct). You can then go to the file "C:\Users\Bretware\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Bretware. XML. the xml file will have the same name as the catalyst profile you saved. right click and hit edit.

<Feature name="FanSpeedAlgorithm_0">
<Property name="FanSpeedAlgorithm" value="Manual" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="FanSpeedRPMTarget_0">
<Property name="Want" value="0" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="FanSpeedPercentTarget_0">
<Property name="Want" value="65" />

Change the value to "manual" and Want value to "65"

Save the file then reload your profile in catalyst.

65% seemed perfect for me, 70% was loud but you may need it if your case has poor air flow.

You will have to select the profile everytime you start the computer, but it will work until there is a fix or better info so i can figure how to change the auto target temp.
Good Luck ,bretware
Amazing! Thank you very much! It worked perfectly, and within the first minute the temps dropped from 82C to 52C running on 70% speed (which isn't that loud)

Problem is, when I tried 100% (just for ****s and giggles) after 20 seconds or so the fan started to buzz.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
honestjohn
Maha Guru
 
honestjohn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Hawk HD 5770 @ 1010C
Processor: Core2Duo E6600 @ 3.4 Ghz.
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R
Memory: 8GB G.Skill DDR2 PC2-6400
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi Xtreme
PSU: SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM
Default 06-29-2008, 04:27 | posts: 1,299 | Location: I Don't Know, But It Smells Funny

Quote:
Originally Posted by bretware View Post
if you make a profile in catalyst after turning on Overdrive( make sure clock and memory settings are correct). You can then go to the file "C:\Users\Bretware\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE\Bretware. XML. the xml file will have the same name as the catalyst profile you saved. right click and hit edit.

<Feature name="FanSpeedAlgorithm_0">
<Property name="FanSpeedAlgorithm" value="Manual" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="FanSpeedRPMTarget_0">
<Property name="Want" value="0" />
</Feature>
<Feature name="FanSpeedPercentTarget_0">
<Property name="Want" value="65" />

Change the value to "manual" and Want value to "65"

Save the file then reload your profile in catalyst.

65% seemed perfect for me, 70% was loud but you may need it if your case has poor air flow.

You will have to select the profile everytime you start the computer, but it will work until there is a fix or better info so i can figure how to change the auto target temp.
Good Luck ,bretware
Damn man, you're a Genius. Works like a charm but fan at 65% sounds like a hair dryer for me. I'll find something I can live with. I'll be spreading the word but giving you credit if you don't mind.

Last edited by honestjohn; 06-29-2008 at 06:01.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
gexx
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati HIS Radeon 4890
Processor: intel quad core 6600
Mainboard: asus p5b deluxe
Memory: kingston 800 4 gigs dual
Soundcard: onboard SOundmax HD
PSU: 750corsair psu
Default 06-29-2008, 05:11 | posts: 22 | Location: Canada

very nice thank you works great.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Rich2526
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI 5830
Processor: Intel i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Epsilon 600W
Default 06-29-2008, 10:41 | posts: 12 | Location: Chesterfield, UK

I can't seem to get it to work. I make a profile but it doesn't appear in the folder, all i have is a file called profiles.

edit: i've found it and it works

Last edited by Rich2526; 06-29-2008 at 10:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
fasteddy
Master Guru
 
fasteddy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x Asus HD6950oc H20
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz H20.
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe B3
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: SB Z, Logitech Z5500.
PSU: Corsair AX1200.
Default 06-29-2008, 11:09 | posts: 632 | Location: UK.

Wow, well done bretware!

Set mine at 65% and it dropped temps by 22C...

You have to set "show hidden and system files" in folder options to view the profiles.
Also, Unlock the overdrive setting ... if you haven't done so already.

Edit... works after a reboot too!

Great find mate!

Last edited by fasteddy; 06-29-2008 at 11:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
rflair
Don Commisso
 
rflair's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980/290X
Processor: 3770K@4.4/Q9550@3.83
Mainboard: Asus P877V-Pro/Asus P5K-E
Memory: 16G 2GHz/8G 900MHz
Soundcard: Onboard/Fiio E10
PSU: Corsair HX850/PPC 860
Default 06-29-2008, 13:28 | posts: 2,952 | Location: Canada

Works great, set 35% fan speed, idle's at 45-46c now.

With the fan at only 35%, quite quiet, I loaded up FurRenderingBenchmark and set it for stability test, after 10 minutes temperature topped out at 81c. This is fantastic, especially for only 35% speed on a stock fan and running Fur benchmark. And this was with 790MHz on the core.

For those of you who never ran Fur benchmark nothing hits a video card as hard as this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
thejamppa
Master Guru
 
thejamppa's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVga GTX 460 768mb SC
Processor: E8400 @ 3,0 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Pro
Memory: 2 x 2Gb Mushkin SP2-6400+
Soundcard: Soundblaster Live 24-bit
PSU: Corsair HX 620
Default 06-29-2008, 15:12 | posts: 388 | Location: Finland

sweet thing, thanks man. That saves me buying after market cooler. I wonder if these things work with 4870? ^^
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
sunderland
Master Guru
 
Videocard: xfx 5770
Processor: E8500@4.0ghz
Mainboard: gigabyte ga-p35-ds3r
Memory: 4Gb OCZ Gold series
Soundcard:
PSU: corsair 520w
Default 06-29-2008, 15:29 | posts: 342 | Location: northeast england

cheers for this had to set it to 35 as anything above that was a bit noisey for me but running at 42deg cheers,do you have to keep loading your profile everytime you bootup or will it kick in automatic
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
fasteddy
Master Guru
 
fasteddy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x Asus HD6950oc H20
Processor: 2600k 4.6Ghz H20.
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe B3
Memory: 16gb Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: SB Z, Logitech Z5500.
PSU: Corsair AX1200.
Default 06-29-2008, 15:48 | posts: 632 | Location: UK.

Mine comes in automatically... sorted!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
marc2003
Member Guru
 
marc2003's Avatar
 
Videocard: sapphire hd4850 512mb
Processor: intel q6600 @ 3.42ghz
Mainboard: gigabyte p35 ds3l
Memory: 8gb ocz pc2-6400
Soundcard: audigy2 platinum ex
PSU: corsair hx 520w
Default 06-29-2008, 22:37 | posts: 79 | Location: cheltenham, england

Quote:
Originally Posted by bretware View Post
<snip>
that's great. i can't wait to pick up a 4850 this week.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
enessel
Master Guru
 
enessel's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6850
Processor: Phenom II x4
Mainboard: ASUS CM1630
Memory: 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard VIA X-540
PSU: Rocketfish 700W
Default 06-30-2008, 00:30 | posts: 720 | Location: NY

With all the hell we went through with the 3800 series with the fan speed and we could have just edited an xml file this whole time!!!???!!!

Last edited by enessel; 06-30-2008 at 01:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
bretware
Master Guru
 
bretware's Avatar
 
Videocard: Two ATI 6850's
Processor: AMD 965, CORSAIR H50
Mainboard: ASUS M4A89TD PRO
Memory: OCZ fatality 8GB@1600
Soundcard: X-Fi
PSU: Corsair 750TX
Default 06-30-2008, 01:15 | posts: 297

Sorry about that, It will keep the settings with out having to reload the the profile on reboot.

A few things about ati cooling,
Fans running at the highest speeds can cause two problems, the first is virbration that can cause problems on boards that do not have a locking retainer. 2nd I've seen fan speeds about 80% and over tax some power supplys causing random shut downs.

80c is way too hot!!!!!!!!, 80 degrees Celsius = 176 degrees Fahrenheit.

Between 50c and 65c is what i'm getting(Fan at 50 now). 65c is where i draw the line.

bretware
Should work with the 4870, but it would be better if i could get the auto target temp. working or a fix from ATI

Last edited by bretware; 06-30-2008 at 01:22.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
paulc
Newbie
 
Videocard: Powercolor 4850 512MB
Processor: Intel Q6600 B G0
Mainboard: Maximus II Formula
Memory: 2GB Corsair
Soundcard: Sumpreme Fx
PSU: Corsair HX 620
Default 06-30-2008, 01:40 | posts: 4 | Location: Asia

The duorbs work

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
mummert90
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD 4850
Processor: P4 @ 4.0
Mainboard: Abit AA8EX
Memory: 2 gig
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-30-2008, 02:23 | posts: 12

I'm in love.......gonna have to set that up soon as I get the 2nd 4850.

Great find on the fan speed fix-appreciate it.

Last edited by mummert90; 06-30-2008 at 02:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
krayzieNRG
Maha Guru
 
krayzieNRG's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS 6870
Processor: Q6600-3.5ghz-Corsair H50
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula X38
Memory: 4 gb Patriot
Soundcard: Creative sound blaster
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 06-30-2008, 02:37 | posts: 947 | Location: Jamaica

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulc View Post
The duorbs work

told u it work ur rig is a beauty,got one my 8800gtx in my antec 900 with all blue even my zalman 9700 is black with blue led(modd)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
wolvixxx
Newbie
 
Videocard: HIS HD4850
Processor: AMD X2 4600+
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-30-2008, 05:37 | posts: 1

I made it up to /ATI/ACE but no profile that I just made. Just like Rich2526 it just says Profiles.xml. I've been trying for 2 hours, please help how to find the darn file. Thanks.

edit: Found it and set to 65%, idling at 46 degrees C as we speak. Thank you very much.

Last edited by wolvixxx; 06-30-2008 at 05:48.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
blksnake
Newbie
 
blksnake's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD5870 1GB DDR5
Processor: AMD Phenom II 940
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 4GB DDR2
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec TruePower 650
Thumbs up 06-30-2008, 06:19 | posts: 2 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by bretware View Post
<snip>
Thanks! Worked great!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.