Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Catalyst 8.6 drivers Beta 4800 Series Support!!
Old
  (#1)
RBEJ
Master Guru
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Catalyst 8.6 drivers Beta 4800 Series Support!! - 05-30-2008, 11:29 | posts: 156

Download:

ATI Catalyst 8.6 Windows Vista Beta (32|64)
ATI Catalyst 8.6 Windows XP Beta (32|64)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
drouge
Master Guru
 
drouge's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x HIS HD5970
Processor: XEON W3580
Mainboard: P6T Deluxe V2
Memory: OCZ 2000
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: silverstone 1000W
Default 05-30-2008, 18:03 | posts: 433 | Location: on the edge

I like em.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
v4npro
Master Guru
 
v4npro's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i7 2600K
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68
Memory: 8GB G.Skill
Soundcard: HT|Omega Claro+
PSU: CoolMaster 1000W
Default 05-30-2008, 18:15 | posts: 731 | Location: Maryland

anyone tried them out yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Chenumi
Newbie
 
Chenumi's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 290
Processor: i5 2500K @ 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 Pro
Memory: 16GB RipJaws X 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: SBZ and HK Soundsticks 3
PSU: PCP&C Silencer 910Watt
Default 05-30-2008, 18:28 | posts: 24 | Location: Hull

First bluescreen I have had with this card, not recommended back to 8.5 for me
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
dave11
Master Guru
 
dave11's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Mobility HD5650 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 430M 2.27G
Mainboard: Dell Studio 1749
Memory: 8GB 1066mhz
Soundcard: IDT + 2.1 JBL speakers
PSU: 90W Transformer
Default 05-30-2008, 18:40 | posts: 296 | Location: North East, England

Same as 8.5 but with a few new splash screens, images and logos. Well that's all i can see different anyway.

Dave
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Si7777
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon 4870 X2
Processor: Intel C2D E8500 @ 4.05GHz
Mainboard: ASUS PQ5 Deluxe
Memory: 4GB OCZ FlexII
Soundcard: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatalit
PSU: 750 Watt
Default 05-30-2008, 19:51 | posts: 11

Hmm...

Tried these out on Vista x64. I don't think I'll keep these unfortunately. I ran a 3DMark Vantage benchmark to see what improvement might have been made, but found that it broke the game tests and feature test 6 (the Futuremark flags) completely (rendering completely wrong of elements such as the water on Jane Nash, the trails on the ship test etc.).

Interestingly though, I gained over 400 3DMarks, all through the GPU score. I'll go back to 8.5 (these ARE beta, after all), but I am a little optimistic that, if the problems are corrected, there might be some improvement.

[EDIT] Tested Call of Duty 4 and Crysis (64-bit, DX10 version) and found no visual problems like what I found in 3DMark Vantage. Crysis didn't seem to be improved much from previous Catalyst versions.

Last edited by Si7777; 05-30-2008 at 20:11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
tickleonthetum
Newbie
 
tickleonthetum's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 2600 XT 256Mb
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 3.06GHz H
Mainboard: Epox 4PGAI 533MHz S478
Memory: DDR333 2Gb (2 x 1Gb)
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Aud
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 05-30-2008, 22:07 | posts: 6 | Location: United Kingdom

According to the list this version finally has support for HD 2600 XT AGP cards, downloading now but i won't get my hopes up just yet!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
wkmgt
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 3x MSI GTX280 Stock Air
Processor: Intel QX9650 Vapochill LS
Mainboard: EVGA 790i
Memory: 2 Gigs Patriot PC3 14400
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 1200 watt
Default 05-31-2008, 09:19 | posts: 195

I had some graphics anomalies the 1st time I ran Vantage right after installing these drivers. Upon rebooting, those went away and I saw a nice improvement in my score. These drivers are also more consistent, run to run.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Si7777
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon 4870 X2
Processor: Intel C2D E8500 @ 4.05GHz
Mainboard: ASUS PQ5 Deluxe
Memory: 4GB OCZ FlexII
Soundcard: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatalit
PSU: 750 Watt
Default 05-31-2008, 11:21 | posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkmgt View Post
I had some graphics anomalies the 1st time I ran Vantage right after installing these drivers. Upon rebooting, those went away and I saw a nice improvement in my score. These drivers are also more consistent, run to run.
After reading your post, I rebooted and ran 3DMark Vantage again and the corruption was no longer present as you said. I think I will keep these after all . UT3 was a little smoother than with previous Catalysts also.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
tickleonthetum
Newbie
 
tickleonthetum's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 2600 XT 256Mb
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 3.06GHz H
Mainboard: Epox 4PGAI 533MHz S478
Memory: DDR333 2Gb (2 x 1Gb)
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Aud
PSU: CoolerMaster 1000W
Default 05-31-2008, 16:20 | posts: 6 | Location: United Kingdom

Well I am stunned they installed for my Sapphire HD 2600 XT 256Mb AGP (the first set since 7.x to do so) and they work fine! Hopefully this will still be true of the final release.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
arfster
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-01-2008, 03:27 | posts: 16

They're same as the ones station-drivers had the other day.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Aenima
Newbie
 
Videocard: H3870x2
Processor: C2Q 6600@2700 Mhz
Mainboard: ASUS P5N-E SLI
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 PC6400
Soundcard: Creative X-fi, creative 4.1
PSU: OCZ 700 Watt
Default 06-01-2008, 10:41 | posts: 8 | Location: Denmark

These drivers actuallly fixed a BSOD error i was getting with the CCC at boot (since 8.4). Performance is ok in 'real' games. I still get some rare CTDs with UT3.

ASUS P5N-E SLI, Q6600, HD3870x2, 4GB RAM, Vista 64-bit Ultimate

Last edited by Aenima; 06-01-2008 at 10:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
xg-ei8ht
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 1gb 6870 Sapphire
Processor: I5 2500K@ 4.5GHZ
Mainboard: Asrock
Memory: 8GB KINGSTON 1600
Soundcard: Onboard 7.1
PSU: Hiper 580watt
Default 06-01-2008, 13:32 | posts: 1,740 | Location: London Baby

I'm still on 7.10's.

Anything in the 8's makes strange things occur, its kinda like an xfile.

Seriously though. Dirt has strange glitches, grid same thing. and a few crashes.

I know i should also post this in another section, but if you have assasins creed and are having problems and only have 1gb of ram, get another gb. theres a bug for 1gb.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
StreeTunder
Maha Guru
 
StreeTunder's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 4870 1024Mb
Processor: Q9450 2.66Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte IntelX38-DS4
Memory: Corsair 4GB PC6400 XMS2
Soundcard: Creative XFI Xtreme Gamer
PSU: Coolermaster 650w
Default 06-01-2008, 21:14 | posts: 1,014 | Location: Portugal

I just installed this ones, in CCC it shows driver version 8.5, shouldnt be 8.6?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Gucci
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sparkle 9800GX2 OC
Processor: Phenom 9950BE 125w (@3.1)
Mainboard: ASUS M3A78-EM
Memory: OCZ 4096MB PC6400@1033Mhz
Soundcard: Built In Motherboard
PSU: Corsair VX550W
Default 06-02-2008, 05:34 | posts: 127 | Location: Sweden

I have to correct my latest statement, this driver sure is beta, it gives me strange symptoms and crashes and doesnt like me...

Seriously thou, when i boot my PC it says the drivers are corrupt everytime, and that i need to reinstall, it does that every time i dont reinstall them before reb00t, and doesnt give me any "better" performance.

So thx but no thx, 8.5 is the best thing that has ever happend to the HD38** series on its relatively short life...
   
Reply With Quote
3850 Agp
Old
  (#16)
Gump
Master Guru
 
Gump's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Radeon HD 6850
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Memory: 8 GB (4x2048) G.Skill
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS Plat / Logite
PSU: Corsair 650 Watt
Thumbs up 3850 Agp - 06-03-2008, 02:51 | posts: 655

Seems to work well for 3850 AGP.

No need for "Hotfix" already in the INF.
3dMark 06 got a little boost ~ 2.5% - and runs well in my only current game "Overclocked - A History of Violence"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 760
Processor: Intel Xeon W3680
Mainboard: Mac Pro 5.1
Memory: 6gb ddr3 1333
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Mac PRO PSU
Default 06-03-2008, 14:24 | posts: 10,515 | Location: Toledo Ohio

Didn't try these, are they worth it right now even though they're beta?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
A M D BugBear
Maha Guru
 
A M D BugBear's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 690 @ +135/+128+/+465
Processor: W3300 Xeon @ 4.15Ghz
Mainboard: Asus SaberTooth X58
Memory: G.Skill RipJaws
Soundcard: SOUNDBLASTER X-FI(USB)
PSU: Enermax revolution 1020W
Default 06-03-2008, 16:17 | posts: 1,776

Hey dave11, hows the hd2900xt treating you thus far? I havent had mine in so long. Are the drivers thats out now giving you alot better performance gains since it came out? I know going from 7.7 to 7.8 was a very very very huge increase in the performance dept in oblivion, even better then 2 8800gtx's in sli and I aint kiddin. 7.7 in oblivion ran very slow w/alot of things being maxed out, but in 7.8? tottaly different story.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
dave11
Master Guru
 
dave11's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI Mobility HD5650 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 430M 2.27G
Mainboard: Dell Studio 1749
Memory: 8GB 1066mhz
Soundcard: IDT + 2.1 JBL speakers
PSU: 90W Transformer
Default 06-03-2008, 16:34 | posts: 296 | Location: North East, England

Quote:
Originally Posted by A M D BugBear View Post
Hey dave11, hows the hd2900xt treating you thus far?
Its fine (for now), the drivers seem to have improved the smoothness in games although I cant comment on the FPS, don't measure it.

Seems a lot more stable and consistent than when I first got it.

Dave
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
AYEJAY
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-04-2008, 04:42 | posts: 11

Well these drivers still bluescreen my system in Vista at Boot with my 3850 AGP. All the Hotfixes do it too. WTF am i supposed to do to get this damn card working in Vista??

My System Specs:
AMD Athlon64 4000+
3GB DDR, Dual Channel
Gigabyte GA-K8NS Ultra 939 Motherboard(Nforce3 Chipset)
Sapphire ATI Radeon 3850AGP
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
isidore
Ancient Guru
 
isidore's Avatar
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX670M
Processor: i7-3610QM @ 3.2Ghz
Mainboard: Asus RoG
Memory: Asus 8Gb
Soundcard: Asus G75VW
PSU: Asus RoG
Default 06-04-2008, 07:46 | posts: 5,683 | Location: Timisoara, Romania

i gonna give this one a try...i skiped 8.5, i was to lazy to install it..LOL....but i'n gonna try this one, cause i started playing dx10 games on vista, and i want the best possible performance..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
AntiHeroUK
Newbie
 
AntiHeroUK's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 3870 XT
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-X38-DQ6
Memory: OCZ 4GB Kit (4x1GB) DDR2 800Mhz CL4
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermaltake TR-2 500W
Default 06-04-2008, 12:31 | posts: 6 | Location: Northern Ireland

I'll stick these on and see how it goes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
kazso
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Toxic 3870 512MB
Processor: AMD Athlon64 X2 5600+
Mainboard: MSI K9A2 Platinum
Memory: Kingmax DDR2 1066Mhz 1024 MB x4
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Gamer
PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 650W
Default 06-08-2008, 16:29 | posts: 1

This driver is ok. The only problem is that Crysis is freezing after a few seconds (usually at the EA logo), but only in Windows XP. And it doesn't matter if i enable or disable CrossFireX.
In Windows Vista 64 i had no problems.
Now i'm using 8.5 in Win XP and 8.6 Beta in Vista
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
dmak
Master Guru
 
dmak's Avatar
 
Videocard: zotac 770
Processor: 2500k
Mainboard: Asus Gene z
Memory: 4x4 1600 ddr3
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsiar 750TX
Default 06-10-2008, 00:58 | posts: 425 | Location: Manitoba

well for me they caused a bluescreen on every boot making them a bit hard to uninstall, and they also caused a red screen of death (yes a red screen) while trying out crysis... btw I am on vista home premium 64 bit, with sp1 installed. (and not on a beta version)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
MaxBlade
Master Guru
 
MaxBlade's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970/GT770/7970/+ more
Processor: I7, I5 @4.8
Mainboard: Z97x Gigabyte/msi/Asus
Memory: 16g
Soundcard: To many :)
PSU: 1000
Default 06-10-2008, 01:35 | posts: 691

Not one problem here. No blue/red screens.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.