Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PCI-e overclock safe or not
Old
  (#1)
cozee
Master Guru
 
cozee's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d 260GTX x2Freezer
Processor: Core 2 Duo E7500@ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus Commando
Memory: 4GB HyperX @ 1089mhz
Soundcard: Asus Sound FX
PSU: 700w Jeantech Storm
Default PCI-e overclock safe or not - 06-26-2007, 17:00 | posts: 365 | Location: FTN+SCT+SCC

Is it safe,I heard to get the bandwidth(mines 79.9gb) of upto date cards 7900gtx,GX2,8800's,etc you need to up the pci-e clock.I thought these had to be locked down or is there a safe spot.If there is what is best for a 8800gts...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
chaotic1
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: PowercolorHD6970 2GB dead
Processor: PHENOM II 1100T X6 @4Ghz
Mainboard: CrosshairIV Formula 890FX
Memory: RipJawX PC3-12800C9 2x4gb
Soundcard: OnBoard
PSU: CM Silent Pro M1000W
Default 06-26-2007, 17:06 | posts: 2,855

where did you get that number from ? , i thought the bandwidth was 64gb for the gts
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Solinari
Ancient Guru
 
Solinari's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr
Processor: Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0
Memory: 4GB Gskill Ripjaws X
Soundcard: Sound Blaster
PSU: Corsair TX 650W 80 Plus
Default 06-26-2007, 17:09 | posts: 3,213 | Location: Creative Audigy

Well 1950 x (320 ÷ 8) = 78000MB/s

Anyway, i haven't heard about this overclocking of the PCI-e bus. I would imagine it isn't important for the memory bandwidth since the RAM is on the video card itself and it's accessed on board.

This is all pure guess work though.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Phalanx
Banned
 
Videocard: XFX 8800GTX SLI @ 650/2000
Processor: Intel QX6700 @ 3.6Ghz H2O
Mainboard: EVGA 680i SLI
Memory: 4GB G.Skill PC 6400 HZ @ 1200mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Extreme Music & Logitech Z680
PSU: PC P&C Silencer 750w
Default 06-26-2007, 17:12 | posts: 657 | Location: US

You are misunderstanding memory bandwidth vs PCI-E bandwidth. The 2 are not related and upping the PCI-E clock with not help the memory bandwidth.

Your boards PCI-E clock is 100Mhz (as are all current PCI-E boards) and upping the frequescy will not really help performance of the card at all, and will only lead to instability of your system. The only time that upping the PCI-E clock will have any impact is in a dual card setup. But even then it's very small.

Last edited by Phalanx; 06-26-2007 at 17:14.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
cozee
Master Guru
 
cozee's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d 260GTX x2Freezer
Processor: Core 2 Duo E7500@ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus Commando
Memory: 4GB HyperX @ 1089mhz
Soundcard: Asus Sound FX
PSU: 700w Jeantech Storm
Default 06-26-2007, 17:20 | posts: 365 | Location: FTN+SCT+SCC

My memory Bandwidth is 7342 MB/s notice MB/s this is GB\s.Ive just looked again and its 75.9 not 79.9.My 7900gtx bandwidth was 55gb\s +.This also rises as ur overclock rises...

Heres screenshot...

http://i191.photobucket.com/albums/z.../bandwidth.jpg

Last edited by cozee; 06-26-2007 at 17:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Solinari
Ancient Guru
 
Solinari's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr
Processor: Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0
Memory: 4GB Gskill Ripjaws X
Soundcard: Sound Blaster
PSU: Corsair TX 650W 80 Plus
Default 06-26-2007, 17:36 | posts: 3,213 | Location: Creative Audigy

Memory Bandwidth is Clock Speed multiplied by Memory Bus divided by 8.

7342MB/s is 7GB/s, it's divided by 1000.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 06-26-2007, 18:24 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phalanx View Post
You are misunderstanding memory bandwidth vs PCI-E bandwidth. The 2 are not related and upping the PCI-E clock with not help the memory bandwidth.

Your boards PCI-E clock is 100Mhz (as are all current PCI-E boards) and upping the frequescy will not really help performance of the card at all, and will only lead to instability of your system. The only time that upping the PCI-E clock will have any impact is in a dual card setup. But even then it's very small.
How does increasing the PCI-E frequency lead to an instability of your system? I run mine at 110 Mhz 24/7 with 0 issues at all. In fact, it has helped to increase my overclock slightly.

PCI-E frequency increases are almost necessary when nearing the maximum of your cards overclock. ATI cards benefit much more than Nvidia cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Solinari
Ancient Guru
 
Solinari's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N560GTX-Ti Twin Frozr
Processor: Phenom II X4 955 @ 3.6Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0
Memory: 4GB Gskill Ripjaws X
Soundcard: Sound Blaster
PSU: Corsair TX 650W 80 Plus
Default 06-26-2007, 18:32 | posts: 3,213 | Location: Creative Audigy

I have heard increasing it slightly does help to stabilize overclocking as well, but 10Mhz isn't exactly going to open the flood gates in terms of bandwidth.

i have also heard that increasing doesn't help increase performance in the slightest and that anything more than a dozen or so Mhz's will most likely lead to instability, at least that's what i have gathered from what i've read.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 06-26-2007, 18:52 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solinari View Post
I have heard increasing it slightly does help to stabilize overclocking as well, but 10Mhz isn't exactly going to open the flood gates in terms of bandwidth.

i have also heard that increasing doesn't help increase performance in the slightest and that anything more than a dozen or so Mhz's will most likely lead to instability, at least that's what i have gathered from what i've read.
This is mostly true, yes. Basically increasing the PCI-E frequency helps create a more stable overclock. It doesn't directly increase performance or bandwidth in any way.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
cozee
Master Guru
 
cozee's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d 260GTX x2Freezer
Processor: Core 2 Duo E7500@ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus Commando
Memory: 4GB HyperX @ 1089mhz
Soundcard: Asus Sound FX
PSU: 700w Jeantech Storm
Default 06-26-2007, 19:14 | posts: 365 | Location: FTN+SCT+SCC

Well It didnt do anything I ran the ntune to find sweet spot,went to bios changed it ran 3d 06 but nothing.Just the chance of a major crash...
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
FlawleZ
Ancient Guru
 
FlawleZ's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7950 Boost
Processor: Phenom II 980BE @ 4.4Ghz
Mainboard: MSI GD70 790FX
Memory: 4GB OCZ Reaper DDR3 CL6
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: OCZ 850W Modular
Default 06-26-2007, 20:30 | posts: 4,263 | Location: San Antonio

Quote:
Originally Posted by cozee View Post
Well It didnt do anything I ran the ntune to find sweet spot,went to bios changed it ran 3d 06 but nothing.Just the chance of a major crash...
It's never affected my system in a negative way. Many people do it and get positive results when maxing out the clocks of their cards. It's possible your motherboard or card is much more affected by the increased PCI-E frequency.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
cozee
Master Guru
 
cozee's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d 260GTX x2Freezer
Processor: Core 2 Duo E7500@ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus Commando
Memory: 4GB HyperX @ 1089mhz
Soundcard: Asus Sound FX
PSU: 700w Jeantech Storm
Default 06-27-2007, 11:29 | posts: 365 | Location: FTN+SCT+SCC

Quote:
Originally Posted by FlawleZ View Post
It's never affected my system in a negative way. Many people do it and get positive results when maxing out the clocks of their cards. It's possible your motherboard or card is much more affected by the increased PCI-E frequency.
Nothing has crashed when Ive upped pci-e clock but ive gained no increase in performance..So what I meant was If Theres no increase then theres no point in risking a crash,its pointless me clocking something when its not recommended and it did nothing for me anyways have got my card running stable at 655/1980 at mo goin for 655/2000 next if I get instability is this when I try upping pci-e to see if this helps..Yes
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
LedHed
Banned
 
LedHed's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
Processor: E8500@4.2 1.3V Tuniq 120
Mainboard: BioStar T-Power i45 AA512
Memory: OCZ Reaper 4Gb DDR2@988
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi™ Prelude
PSU: SeaSonic M12 700W 80+ 56A
Default 06-27-2007, 17:09 | posts: 6,828 | Location: North Carolina, USA

The only time you should adjust the speed of the PCI-E clock is if you are experiencing problems and this can sometimes lead to a fix.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
cozee
Master Guru
 
cozee's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d 260GTX x2Freezer
Processor: Core 2 Duo E7500@ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus Commando
Memory: 4GB HyperX @ 1089mhz
Soundcard: Asus Sound FX
PSU: 700w Jeantech Storm
Default 06-27-2007, 17:48 | posts: 365 | Location: FTN+SCT+SCC

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedHed View Post
The only time you should adjust the speed of the PCI-E clock is if you are experiencing problems and this can sometimes lead to a fix.

This is what I meant when I said,If I O\c anymore and become unstable then to try pci-e clock...

Get ur Ocz Platinums bumped up there good for 500mhz...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
LedHed
Banned
 
LedHed's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
Processor: E8500@4.2 1.3V Tuniq 120
Mainboard: BioStar T-Power i45 AA512
Memory: OCZ Reaper 4Gb DDR2@988
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi™ Prelude
PSU: SeaSonic M12 700W 80+ 56A
Default 06-27-2007, 20:49 | posts: 6,828 | Location: North Carolina, USA

No they aren't, they cant even do 490, that is why I'm running a divider.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
cozee
Master Guru
 
cozee's Avatar
 
Videocard: Inno3d 260GTX x2Freezer
Processor: Core 2 Duo E7500@ 4.0ghz
Mainboard: Asus Commando
Memory: 4GB HyperX @ 1089mhz
Soundcard: Asus Sound FX
PSU: 700w Jeantech Storm
Default 06-27-2007, 21:26 | posts: 365 | Location: FTN+SCT+SCC

Quote:
Originally Posted by LedHed View Post
No they aren't, they cant even do 490, that is why I'm running a divider.

Maybe the 2x512mb are different ive had mine to 500+ a few mhz orthos stable,I also have to run a divider for some reason they dont like being clocked from 400mhz(ive also got 2 more identical sticks that work in every comp but mine),I dont know if this is an issue with modules or mobo,but I run 333mhz divider.At 460 the timings are close to stock,also on 1T at 2.9volts

Last edited by cozee; 06-27-2007 at 21:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Neo Cyrus
Ancient Guru
 
Neo Cyrus's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX HD 6970 @ 1015/6400
Processor: Xeon W3530 @ 4GHz
Mainboard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev. 2.0
Memory: 6GB DDR3-2000 9-9-9-24-1T
Soundcard: SB ZxR + DT 990 Pro-250
PSU: Antec High Current 900W
Default 06-27-2007, 23:18 | posts: 7,499 | Location: GTA, Canada

Sorry but you fail today's math test. I'd like to give you an A for effort, but... F.

320 bit bus * 800MHz memory / 4 = 64,000 Megabytes per second

Last edited by Neo Cyrus; 06-27-2007 at 23:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.