Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA
Videocards - NVIDIA This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and their technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Want to tell people how stylish a game works on that new shiny watercooled GeForce GTX 580 or SLI gaming rig? Get in here!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
nvidia Geforce4 mx 4000 and pixel Shader
Old
  (#1)
eden_orient
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default nvidia Geforce4 mx 4000 and pixel Shader - 01-25-2005, 06:07 | posts: n/a

on some of the ads i saw it saying mx 4000 has pixel shader but with splinter cell it says i don't have pixel shader, i really wanna know if it does or not




thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
NAJMI ADNAN
Maha Guru
 
NAJMI ADNAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7850 2GB
Processor: FX-8320 @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R1
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: Vantec ION2+ 600W 80+
Default 01-25-2005, 06:15 | posts: 2,171 | Location: Malaysia

No MX-4000 didnt have pixel shader. Sorry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
stalkersoftware
Master Guru
 
Videocard: BFG 6800 OC @ 380/800
Processor: AMD 64 3000 @ 2.25ghz
Mainboard: MSI K8N NEO2 Platinum
Memory: 1GB DDR 400
Soundcard: Onboard Sound
PSU:
Default 01-25-2005, 06:18 | posts: 268 | Location: India

Mx dont have pixcel and vertex shaders
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
NAJMI ADNAN
Maha Guru
 
NAJMI ADNAN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 7850 2GB
Processor: FX-8320 @ 4.3GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R1
Memory: 8GB Kingston DDR3-1600
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar HDAV1.3
PSU: Vantec ION2+ 600W 80+
Default 01-25-2005, 06:20 | posts: 2,171 | Location: Malaysia

It DOES have a Vertex Shader but only version 1.1 but no Pixel Shader whatsoever.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Drunkenmasta
Maha Guru
 
Drunkenmasta's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB GTX 260 OC + Acer 26"
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0~3.60
Mainboard: Asus P5Q Deluxe | P45
Memory: 4x2GB G.Skill Pi ~1066MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeM + Logitech Z
PSU: Silverstone 1200 + CM 810
Default 01-25-2005, 08:38 | posts: 2,104 | Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Try using Rivatuner to force Pixel Shader. Dowload from this site. 15.3 NY edition is out.

pz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DrFreeze
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i3 3240
Mainboard: Asrock H61M-ITX
Memory: 2x4gb corsair vengeance
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair VS 350
Default 01-25-2005, 15:41 | posts: 4,850 | Location: holland

lol, you cant force pixel shaders on a card which doesnt have any

the whole gf2 / gf4 mx / gf mx line uses either the nv17 or nv18 core, which is only dx7 compliant, and does not have pixel shaders
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Dr. Vodka
Ancient Guru
 
Dr. Vodka's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6850 1GB @ 930/1180
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz 1.26v
Mainboard: Sabertooth P67
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1333 @ 1866
Soundcard: Xonar DX+DIY amp + PX100
PSU: PC P&C Silencer 750w
Default 01-25-2005, 20:31 | posts: 3,801 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

it DOES NOT even have vertex shaders or pixel shaders (bah a program I tried some time ago said me: vertex/pixel shader version: 0.5 ) WTF???? directX 6??? WTF??? lol a new shader
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
kwaihou
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI FX5950 Ultra, MSI 6800 Ultra
Processor: Pentium 4EE 3.2 GHz
Mainboard: Asus P4C800E Deluxe
Memory: KingSton Dual Channel DDR400
Soundcard: Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
PSU: GPU 2: MSI FX5900 VTD128
Default 01-25-2005, 21:08 | posts: 25 | Location: Somewhere surface of earth

NVIDIA GeForce 2 (DirectX 7.0), Geforce4 MX Series no Vertex and Pixel in GPU (DirectX 7.0a), only Geforce 3 Series (Vertex Shader 1.1 Pixel Shader 1.1) (DirectX 8.0), Geforce4 Ti Series (Vertex Shader 1.1, Pixel shader 1.3) (DirectX 8.0a), GeForce FX Series (Vertex Shader 2.0+, Pixel shader 2.0+) (DirectX 9.0a and Direct X 9.0b??) and Geforce 6 Series (Vertex Shader 3.0, Pixel shader 3.0) (DirectX 9.0c)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Dr. Vodka
Ancient Guru
 
Dr. Vodka's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6850 1GB @ 930/1180
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4.5 Ghz 1.26v
Mainboard: Sabertooth P67
Memory: 2x4GB DDR3-1333 @ 1866
Soundcard: Xonar DX+DIY amp + PX100
PSU: PC P&C Silencer 750w
Default 01-26-2005, 01:41 | posts: 3,801 | Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Quote:
Originally posted by kwaihou
NVIDIA GeForce 2 (DirectX 7.0), Geforce4 MX Series no Vertex and Pixel in GPU (DirectX 7.0a), only Geforce 3 Series (Vertex Shader 1.1 Pixel Shader 1.1) (DirectX 8.0), Geforce4 Ti Series (Vertex Shader 1.1, Pixel shader 1.3) (DirectX 8.0a), GeForce FX Series (Vertex Shader 2.0+, Pixel shader 2.0+) (DirectX 9.0a and Direct X 9.0b??) and Geforce 6 Series (Vertex Shader 3.0, Pixel shader 3.0) (DirectX 9.0c)
very good arcticle. Excellent for knowing which directx uses each gpu.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
degadi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Chaintech AA6800 12/6 @ 405/900
Processor: Athlon XP 2600+ @ 2900+
Mainboard: AV78x-x
Memory: 1 GB 333/400
Soundcard: Audigy1 + 4.1 Speakers
PSU:
Default 01-26-2005, 01:55 | posts: 144 | Location: Brazil

Now i have a good question: How do i force my 6800 into running only 1.1 vertex / Pixel shaders? How can i turn it off? I tried with rivatuner, but nothing happened...

I just want to do some image quality and speed tests.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
ViperXtreme
Ancient Guru
 
ViperXtreme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 660 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 3570K @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Pro3-M
Memory: 8GB G.Skill RipJaws DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated Realtek 7.1 HD
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-26-2005, 01:57 | posts: 2,922 | Location: Philippines

the DX7 cards has shaders BUT they are not programmable like the ones first seen on the GeForce3 GPU and its still called 1st generation Hardware TnL or Transform and Lighting that time (fixed)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Gerry
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 02-03-2005, 22:29 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by Drunkenmasta
Try using Rivatuner to force Pixel Shader. Dowload from this site. 15.3 NY edition is out.

pz
Hi, I'm a newbie here and I feel so stupid, but, where can I download Rivatuner?

Thnx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Mannerheim
Ancient Guru
 
Mannerheim's Avatar
 
Videocard: VTX3D R9 280x
Processor: AMD FX8150
Mainboard: Asus M5A99X Evo
Memory: Kingston 2x4GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard: X-fi Xtreme Gamer 5.1
PSU: Chieftec 700W
Default 02-03-2005, 22:42 | posts: 4,571 | Location: Finland / Helsinki

Geforce 2 has vertex shader 1.0


   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.