Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
AMD Catalyst 12.10 WHQL_Modded for LEGACY GPUs - SUPER STABLE SUPER PERFORMANCE
Old
  (#1)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Talking AMD Catalyst 12.10 WHQL_Modded for LEGACY GPUs - SUPER STABLE SUPER PERFORMANCE - 10-31-2012, 15:42 | posts: 314

AMD Catalyst 12.10 WHQL Modded_ Legacy GPU(s) - Super Stable, Super Performance.. (31/OCT/2012)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Download Link : (Windows Vista / 7 / 8 - x32 ONLY)


>> 32Bit Modded Driver Download Link <<


Download Link : (Windows Vista / 7 / 8 - x64 ONLY)


>> 64Bit Modded Driver Download Link <<


** Disable Driver Signature Enforcement before installation.
** Download all the parts, extract it to a single folder and install the driver.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alternate method of modding the driver.

Download the 12.10 WHQL x32Bit Original Package :

Direct Link >> AMD 12.10 WHQL Win V/7/8 x32bit Official

Download the MODDED x32Bit Driver Files (.rar) :

Link >> 12.10_WHQL_x32bit_Modded_Package_Legacy_AnkX.rar

************************************************** ********

Download the 12.10 WHQL x64Bit Original Package :

Direct Link >> AMD 12.10 WHQL Win V/7/8 x64bit Official

Download the MODDED x64Bit Driver Files (.rar) :

Link >> 12.10_WHQL_x64bit_Modded_Package_Legacy_AnkX.rar



** Download the Original and the Modded Files according to the OS (32 bit / 64 bit) and just replace the Folder named "Packages" in the original Driver with this folder "packages" from the modded driver (.rar).

Then follow the installation procedure.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Features in Driver :

WDDM 1.1 Feature Levels Supported = 10.1,10,9.3,9.2,9.1,9
Clock Bug Fixed.
Open CL Supported.
Direct Compute Supported.
DXVA Playback Supported.
GPU Performance Support in Photoshop.
AVT supported.
Dx9 Errors rectified.

Installation Procedure :

** Uninstall & remove all previously installed Driver.
** Do remember to uninstall the old Catalyst Control Center also. ( Delete the "ATI Technologies" folder from the Program Files/Program Files(x86) folder(s). )


Step 1.> Unrar the Driver files.

Step 2.> Install the Driver through Device Manager (Do Not use the AMD Setup)

** x32 bit OS Users:

Download the x32 bit Modded Package.

and use the Use Driver path "..\12.10 WHQL x32bit Modded Legacy_AnkX\Packages\Drivers\Display\W8_INF"

** x64 bit OS Users:

Download the x64 bit Modded Package.

and use the Use Driver path "..\12.10 WHQL x64bit Modded Legacy_AnkX\Packages\Drivers\Display\W86A_INF"


--------------------------- END OF DRIVER INSTALLATION PROCEDURE -------------------------------------


Catalyst Control Center (CCC) Installation Procedure:

* Make sure the system is not having any component of CCC installed in it. ( Delete the "ATI Technologies" folder from the Program Files/Program Files(x86) folder(s).)


Step 1.> ONLY install the CCC from the 12.6 WHQL through the Normal install method. (Dont install any other component)

Step 2.> after the old CCC installation, Open Task Manager and terminate these processes if running:

* clistart.exe
* ccc.exe
* mom.exe
* msiexec.exe

Step 3.> Go to the Folder "..\Packages\Apps\CCC2\Core-Static-Net4" of the MODDED DRIVER and run the "ccc-core-static.exe" installer.


------------------------------ END OF CCC INSTALLATION PROCEDURE ------------------------------------------

Associated Apps Installation :


Go to the Folder "..\Packages\Apps" Of the MODDED DRIVER and Manually istall all Apps according to the OS (x32/x64).


----------------------------- Installation End ----------------------------------------


** Personal Test/Conclusion :

I have tried to make the driver as perfect as it can be. Tested on almost 12 New games (on HD 4650) namely :

Crysis 2
Prototpe 2
COD Black Ops
Max Payne 3
Dark Siders 2
Sleeping Dogs
Battle Field 3
Singularity
NFS Run & Shift 2
I am Alive

and few more..

These Drivers not only has a stable performance in all the games but performace increase can also be felt than the 12.11 Beta Modded Driver.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Overclocking GPU :

Just download this .rar file.

http://rapidgator.net/file/52869949/..._AnkX.rar.html

Extract all the data and copy all the .dll files to your system folder.
Use any 3rd party application like Rivatuner, MSI Afterburner, ATI Tray Tool, etc

** for 32bit OS users : Copy the .dll files to " ..\windows\system32 " Folder

** for 64it OS users : Copy the .dll files to " ..\windows\system32 " AND "..\windows\syswow64" Folder.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last edited by ankinferno; 10-31-2012 at 16:20.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 15:56 | posts: 377

Thank you. How do I run a benchmark to see the difference between this driver and the 12.6 one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 16:09 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Thank you. How do I run a benchmark to see the difference between this driver and the 12.6 one?
Well you can use Bench Marking software like 3DMark, Aquamark, Lightsmark, Furmark, etc.

Or you can use a lay method for general testing in games like Sleeping Dogs, SS4, and many other games provide internal benchmark options where you can do bench marks to see differences.

else you can use any FPS Counter software in a game to see the difference when playing the game. Many game like Battle Field provides the command line option to enable FPS showing which can be handy.

OR you can use Radeon Pro, which can hook onto d3d9 and d3d10 games to show you the FPS count while playing....

Remember.., make sure all settings in CCC and games are same while performing tests with different Drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 16:18 | posts: 377

Quote:
Originally Posted by ankinferno View Post
Well you can use Bench Marking software like 3DMark, Aquamark, Lightsmark, Furmark, etc.

Or you can use a lay method for general testing in games like Sleeping Dogs, SS4, and many other games provide internal benchmark options where you can do bench marks to see differences.

else you can use any FPS Counter software in a game to see the difference when playing the game. Many game like Battle Field provides the command line option to enable FPS showing which can be handy.

OR you can use Radeon Pro, which can hook onto d3d9 and d3d10 games to show you the FPS count while playing....

Remember.., make sure all settings in CCC and games are same while performing tests with different Drivers.
I will use the fps test in css.

Device manager doesn't want to update the generic driver. I installed the inf by myself, is that ok?

edit2 : I did some group policy trick to prevent windows from installing the generic driver, then I chose the modded driver folder and before clicking on "next" I disabled the policy and windows installed the new driver.

Last edited by trocio2; 10-31-2012 at 16:56.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 16:59 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
I will use the fps test in css.

Device manager doesn't want to update the generic driver. I installed the inf by myself, is that ok?
did you remove the old driver completely first.??

and did the new driver installed successfully..???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 17:00 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
edit2 : I did some group policy trick to prevent windows from installing the generic driver, then I chose the modded driver folder and before clicking on "next" I disabled the policy and windows installed the new driver.
gr8..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
player
Newbie
 
Videocard: dv6
Processor: dv6
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: dv6
Default 10-31-2012, 16:03 | posts: 28

thx testing
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 17:09 | posts: 377

Dammit. Windows cannot load the driver. The old drivers were completely removed and windows installed the new inf.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 17:12 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Dammit. Windows cannot load the driver. The old drivers were completely removed and windows installed the new inf.
Is your Windows loading properly..?? or giving a BSOD..??

Which type of OS are you using..? 32 bit / 64 bit..??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
The Goose
Maha Guru
 
The Goose's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga gtx680sc sli-h2o
Processor: I7 4820@4.6ghz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus rampage formula BF3
Memory: 16g Gskill redZ 2133 ddr3
Soundcard: Recon3D pro series
PSU: Ocz ZX-1250
Default 02-03-2013, 08:30 | posts: 1,539 | Location: shropshire,UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Dammit. Windows cannot load the driver. The old drivers were completely removed and windows installed the new inf.
Try running a reg ceaner before installing new drivers
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 17:16 | posts: 377

Windows (8 pro with media center x64) starts ok but it gave me a code 31 error in device manager. It rejects your modded driver. I have a 4670.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Default 10-31-2012, 17:24 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Windows (8 pro with media center x64) starts ok but it gave me a code 31 error in device manager. It rejects your modded driver. I have a 4670.
Same as mine,, Win 8 Pro x64..

Ok do this..

go to c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.

there will be a folder named '' ati*something*something* ''
just rename the folder to some thing else.. but remember to take a note of the actual name of the folder.

by doing this,, it will not install the default Ati Driver when the gpu driver is uninstalled from the Device manager.

Then go to c:\windows\inf\

There also you will find a file named '' ati*something*something* .inf ''

rename it to something else.

now open your Device Manager and uninstall the GPU Driver.
Select the option of 'delete driver files' when uninstalling.

Now reboot.. your pc should be booting with the Basic Display driver and not the default ATI driver..

then go to Device Manager and update the Basic Display driver Manually with this Modded Driver.. It should install nicely...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 17:40 | posts: 377

Quote:
Originally Posted by ankinferno View Post
Same as mine,, Win 8 Pro x64..

Ok do this..

go to c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.

there will be a folder named '' ati*something*something* ''
just rename the folder to some thing else.. but remember to take a note of the actual name of the folder.

by doing this,, it will not install the default Ati Driver when the gpu driver is uninstalled from the Device manager.

Then go to c:\windows\inf\

There also you will find a file named '' ati*something*something* .inf ''

rename it to something else.

now open your Device Manager and uninstall the GPU Driver.
Select the option of 'delete driver files' when uninstalling.

Now reboot.. your pc should be booting with the Basic Display driver and not the default ATI driver..

then go to Device Manager and update the Basic Display driver Manually with this Modded Driver.. It should install nicely...
I did what you say and I used the "search driver software in the computer" option to install the driver. Now it works fine

I get a few more fps in games and the new ccc is fast.

Last edited by trocio2; 10-31-2012 at 17:54.
   
Reply With Quote
AMD 4670 MOD drivers to plat diablo 3
Old
  (#14)
noil
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD 7970
Processor: Mobile core I7 3610QM
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Clevo P150EM
Default AMD 4670 MOD drivers to plat diablo 3 - 04-04-2014, 15:32 | posts: 17

Quote:
Originally Posted by trocio2 View Post
Windows (8 pro with media center x64) starts ok but it gave me a code 31 error in device manager. It rejects your modded driver. I have a 4670.
Hello my friend...

I HAve a Q6600 with AMD 4670 512ddr3 and i cant play diablo 3 im almost play spectrum or

I see you test many drivers here,

Can you tell me the best mod drivers for my graphic card for Windows 8.1 media center X64??

Plz my friend.. give me some hellp here
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
DigitalMind
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6870 Elite 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 960T-X6
Mainboard: ASUS M4A77T
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4 GB DDR3
Soundcard: VIA VT1708S
PSU: ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
Default 10-31-2012, 17:28 | posts: 12 | Location: Romania

testing now
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
JohnnyS
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD Radeon 4850
Processor: Intel E8400
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax 425
Default 10-31-2012, 18:44 | posts: 1

Thanks ankinferno for the modded drivers.

But I seem to have the same problems as trocio2 (code 31).

So I tried your solution:
I have got six folders that start with ati @ c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.
The next problem is that I cant change folder name, Windows wont let me (UAC is disabled and I'm admin).

I have two files that start with ati @ c:\windows\inf\
I renamed those.

Still not working. Windows isn't installing some old Ati driver after restart automatically anyway because I did the same thing trocio2 did ( group policy trick).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 10-31-2012, 19:08 | posts: 377

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyS View Post
Thanks ankinferno for the modded drivers.

But I seem to have the same problems as trocio2 (code 31).

So I tried your solution:
I have got six folders that start with ati @ c:\windows\system32\DriverStore\FileRepository.
The next problem is that I cant change folder name, Windows wont let me (UAC is disabled and I'm admin).

I have two files that start with ati @ c:\windows\inf\
I renamed those.

Still not working. Windows isn't installing some old Ati driver after restart automatically anyway because I did the same thing trocio2 did ( group policy trick).
Look. The new inf should be in Windows database (you can add it manually), like this:



If you cant change a file name in system32 you need are lacking privileges.

Try this tool (or keep looking in the web..)

http://www.addictivetips.com/windows...-in-windows-8/

Once you do that, uninstall the device and it will show up as a generic graphics adapter and you can choose the modded driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
DigitalMind
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6870 Elite 1GB
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 960T-X6
Mainboard: ASUS M4A77T
Memory: Kingston HyperX 4 GB DDR3
Soundcard: VIA VT1708S
PSU: ENERMAX Liberty ELT500AWT
Default 10-31-2012, 19:23 | posts: 12 | Location: Romania

i can't install the driver .........: The Best driver software for your device is already installed : Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date....
WTF ?

Last edited by DigitalMind; 10-31-2012 at 19:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
ankinferno
Master Guru
 
ankinferno's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7900
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: Intel DH77DF
Memory: DDRIII - 6GB / 1333 MHz
Soundcard: Realtek / CreativeSBSA335
PSU: __
Smile 11-01-2012, 06:20 | posts: 314

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMind View Post
i can't install the driver .........: The Best driver software for your device is already installed : Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date....
WTF ?
Do not use the Normal AMD setup... It wont work...

Plz follow the installation process through the device manager Only..

Read My post Twice.. and follow every Step... It has to work..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Benik3
Master Guru
 
Benik3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD6630M+Intel HD3000
Processor: Intel i3 2310 2.1GHz
Mainboard: Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E520
Memory: 4GB SDRAM DDR3
Soundcard: Conexant Cx20590
PSU: -
Default 11-01-2012, 16:49 | posts: 442

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalMind View Post
i can't install the driver .........: The Best driver software for your device is already installed : Windows has determined the driver software for your device is up to date....
WTF ?
Update it this way:
- search for your device, right click on it and choose Update Driver Software...

- select Browse my computer for driver software (locate and install driver software manually)

- select Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer

- click on Have Disk... button

-choose .inf file from the folder where you extracted drivers\Packages\Drivers\Display\W86A_INF (W8_INF for 32bit)

-choose right device and install
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
onemoar
Master Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6870@ 940/1160
Processor: Phenom II @ 4.0Ghz/2600NB
Mainboard: MSI 990XA-GD55
Memory: 8GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Antec Neo ECO 520C
Default 11-01-2012, 19:54 | posts: 249

anyone that installs this crap is a idiot .......
I wish noobs would have there copys of notepad taken away AMD really needs to start encrypting the inf files to keep noobs with greasy fingers away from them
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
trocio2
Master Guru
 
trocio2's Avatar
 
Videocard: HD 4670 512mb DDR3 pci-e
Processor: Core 2 Quad
Mainboard: Intel DQ35JO
Memory: ddr2 800 mhz, 3x2gb= 6gb
Soundcard: Logitech H390
PSU: Cooler Master
Default 11-01-2012, 20:24 | posts: 377

Quote:
Originally Posted by onemoar View Post
anyone that installs this crap is a idiot .......
I wish noobs would have there copys of notepad taken away AMD really needs to start encrypting the inf files to keep noobs with greasy fingers away from them
Show some respect. I got a performance increase with this modded driver in my old radeon. I'm sure I will never pick an AMD card again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
kevsamiga1974
Master Guru
 
kevsamiga1974's Avatar
 
Videocard: ULA
Processor: Z80A
Mainboard: 1982 Sinclair Research
Memory: Bubble Memory
Soundcard: Piezoelectric speakers
PSU: Solar Powered
Default 11-01-2012, 23:15 | posts: 758 | Location: England

At least someone can be bothered to give something for legacy cards, and do the legwork.

If you don't want to fiddle or tinker, no one's forcing you.

AMD can't be bothered providiing anything despite promising a "new" release legacy support model as silent as a grave.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
teohokage
Newbie
 
Videocard: atimobility HD4570
Processor: intel T4400
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: ..
Default 10-31-2012, 20:06 | posts: 20

when i try to install driver,say the system cannot find the file specified,help me plz
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
jdc2389
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire 6870 1gb
Processor: AMD Thuban 1045t 3.7ghz
Mainboard: ga-990fxa-ud3 1.0
Memory: 8gb Samsung 30nm ddr3
Soundcard: alc889toampedbeyerdynamic
PSU: Seasonic X series 750w
Default 10-31-2012, 20:43 | posts: 33

Will this Driver work with the 3650m?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.