Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section
Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything Catalyst related. AMD Catalyst drivers are for all AMD ATI based graphics cards. This is also the place to discuss modified Catalyst drivers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Random BSODs (HD 7970)
Old
  (#1)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default Random BSODs (HD 7970) - 03-23-2012, 19:13 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Hi all,

I have tried just about every driver set out there. Right now I'm using the latest official betas (8.96-120315a-135399E). The only GPU-intensive application I use is X-Plane 10, an OpenGL-based flight simulator. I have never experienced a BSOD while using XP10; however, when I'm trying to do my work, I find I get random BSOD. When I'm not using XP10, I am usually using OneNote, Firefox, Zend Studio 9, and VirtualBox. This is when GPU usage is at its lowest.

Can anyone provide any insight into this problem? I'm so close to returning this card for the new Nvidia...and I've been an AMD guy for many years.

System Specs:
Windows 7 SP1 (64-bit)
Intel Core i7-2600 (no OC)
16GB DDR3 RAM
(2) OCZ Vertex 3
(2) 7,200 RPM HDs
3GB XFX Radeon HD 7970 Core (no OC)
750w Thermatake PSU

Thanks,
Chris
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ipredator
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 680M @980/2400
Processor: Intel i7 980 @4Ghz
Mainboard: Intel X58
Memory: 24GB Corsair 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Inbuilt
PSU: 300W
Default 03-23-2012, 19:24 | posts: 494

Did you check if idle clocks are correct? And did you fresh install the few drivers you tested, with Driver Sweeper/ATIman uninstaller?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Valagard
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II 7970 Top
Processor: i7 4770K 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
Memory: 16Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-23-2012, 19:55 | posts: 1,066

Try uninstalling drivers with ATIMan, then installing new drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-23-2012, 20:04 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Alright, per your advice, I ran ATIman and cleaned everything out. I am now getting a kdbsync.exe error on startup.

Code:
kdbsync.exe cannot be started up because OpenCL.dll is missing from the computer.

Last edited by cstrosser; 03-23-2012 at 20:11.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Portman87
Member Guru
 
Portman87's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6870 DD 920/1130 1GB
Processor: PII 955 C3 4GHz NB 2.6GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: 2x2DDR3 1600 Kingston BLU
Soundcard: ALC892 SPA2602/10
PSU: FSP Group AURUM GOLD 700W
Default 03-23-2012, 20:06 | posts: 96 | Location: Bulgaria

Try this one http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...07Support.aspx and use Atiman Uninstaller 6.3.1. Driver Sweeper isnt working for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-23-2012, 20:08 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

As for idle clock speeds, it is usually around 500 MHz, and goes up to 925 MHz occasionally. It's at 500 MHz most of the time during idle operation.

Last edited by cstrosser; 03-23-2012 at 20:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 3GB SLI
Processor: 5960X @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: G930
PSU: 850W XFX
Default 03-23-2012, 20:20 | posts: 319 | Location: London

what BSODs are you getting?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-23-2012, 20:21 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by bishi View Post
what BSODs are you getting?
It's an atikmpag.sys error. Just went throught the whole ATIman thing, so we'll see if that helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Portman87
Member Guru
 
Portman87's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6870 DD 920/1130 1GB
Processor: PII 955 C3 4GHz NB 2.6GHz
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3
Memory: 2x2DDR3 1600 Kingston BLU
Soundcard: ALC892 SPA2602/10
PSU: FSP Group AURUM GOLD 700W
Default 03-23-2012, 20:44 | posts: 96 | Location: Bulgaria

Check if installation is complete without errors and warnings at the last window.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-23-2012, 21:04 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Portman87 View Post
Check if installation is complete without errors and warnings at the last window.
I've never encountered an error during the driver install process.
-Chris
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
sb.0326
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970
Processor: 1090T @4.1ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard X-Fi
PSU: Corsair Pro 1200 Gold
Default 03-23-2012, 20:52 | posts: 17

Are you running dual monitors? For me I can only use two driver versions at the moment because every other one returns a BSOD withing 5-6 minutes everytime upon boot up.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=360149

Thread I had regarding this issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-23-2012, 21:10 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by sb.0326 View Post
Are you running dual monitors? For me I can only use two driver versions at the moment because every other one returns a BSOD withing 5-6 minutes everytime upon boot up.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=360149

Thread I had regarding this issue.
Thanks for the response. I am running dual monitors, but I cannot reproduce the BSODs by waiting a certain amount of time, and can't seem to find a pattern. They are random... I went more than 24 hours without a crash at one point.

With the most recent drivers, it seemed like it was better for a while, but it started up again. No crashes since ATIman uninstall but that was only 50 minutes ago, and I wouldn't say I was getting a crash every hour.

Thanks again! These forums have been a big help so far.

-Chris
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
sb.0326
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7970
Processor: 1090T @4.1ghz
Mainboard: Crosshair V
Memory: 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Onboard X-Fi
PSU: Corsair Pro 1200 Gold
Default 03-23-2012, 21:28 | posts: 17

I can certainly empathize. Nothing more frustrating than spending your hard earned cash on something that maybe kinda sorta sometimes works.

Least for me I could narrow it down and single out the cause.

Hope the new drivers work for you..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
aoya
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX BEDD 7970
Processor: Intel i5-2500K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic X-650
Default 03-23-2012, 22:11 | posts: 2

I have this problem too. The only one that works no problem is RC11.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX780 3GB SLI
Processor: 5960X @ 4.4ghz
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: G930
PSU: 850W XFX
Default 03-23-2012, 23:49 | posts: 319 | Location: London

see if giving your cards +20% power helps
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-24-2012, 09:01 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Some benchmark results:

FurMark v1.9.2 - 1280x720 (FS), AA:0, DynBkg
FPS: 74/101/83 (min/max/avg)
Score: 4997 pt. (83 FPS, 60000 ms)

FurMark v1.9.2 - 1920x1080 (FS), AA:0, DynBkg
FPS: 43/45/42
Score: 2579 pt. (42 FPS, 60000 ms)

3DMark 11
3DMark Score: P7594
Graphics Score: 7772
Physics Score: 7372
Combined Score: 6743
GraphicsTest1: 34.59 FPS
GraphicsTest2: 39.2 FPS
GraphicsTest3: 48.06 FPS
GraphicsTest4: 23.18 FPS
PhysicsTest: 23.41 FPS
CombinedTest: 31.36 FPS

The other HD 7970 cards seem to be scoring much higher. These results seem awfully low for a card of this caliber.

Thoughts?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
adrock311
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 670 4gb SC
Processor: i5 2500k @ 4ghz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3
Memory: 8 gb DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: 850 watt Thermaltake
Default 03-24-2012, 13:58 | posts: 753

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstrosser View Post
Hi all,

I have tried just about every driver set out there. Right now I'm using the latest official betas (8.96-120315a-135399E). The only GPU-intensive application I use is X-Plane 10, an OpenGL-based flight simulator. I have never experienced a BSOD while using XP10; however, when I'm trying to do my work, I find I get random BSOD. When I'm not using XP10, I am usually using OneNote, Firefox, Zend Studio 9, and VirtualBox. This is when GPU usage is at its lowest.

Can anyone provide any insight into this problem? I'm so close to returning this card for the new Nvidia...and I've been an AMD guy for many years.

System Specs:
Windows 7 SP1 (64-bit)
Intel Core i7-2600 (no OC)
16GB DDR3 RAM
(2) OCZ Vertex 3
(2) 7,200 RPM HDs
3GB XFX Radeon HD 7970 Core (no OC)
750w Thermatake PSU

Thanks,
Chris
try this! disable flash video hardware acceleration and also hardware acceleration in main browser options in all web browsers.

stopped the atikmpag.sys BSOD's for me.

Last edited by adrock311; 03-24-2012 at 14:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-25-2012, 07:59 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

EDIT: I spoke too soon (seconds...literally). I just had another crash, although this was different. Instead of getting little black rectangles, a frozen mouse, and a BSOD, both screens went black. I tried switching the monitors on/off, and switching cable modes to see if that brought it back. During this time, I could hear the audiobook I was playing in the background; however, I know it was frozen because both CAPS and SCRLK were not working. I ended up resetting the computer after waiting two minutes.

So I made it a little over a day without a crash--from 3/23 @ 15:04 to 3/25 @ 02:50.

Last Crash: 2012/03/25 2:50 AM

PREVIOUS MESSAGE: So far so good. I left the computer running overnight and no crash. Hopefully this will persist. No BSOD since: 03-23-2012 15:04

Last edited by cstrosser; 03-25-2012 at 08:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-27-2012, 01:33 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Got two more crashes within the past 24 hours. The first happened when I left my computer on overnight. The second when I walked away for maybe 5-10 minutes. Still no updates from AMD. I also sent a message to XFX, but have no received anything back yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-27-2012, 02:34 | posts: 24,034 | Location: NZ

atikmpag.sys BSOD could be a TDR (timeout & recovery) error if it gives code 116.

Often nstalling the drivers without CCC or preventing CCC from running at startup stops the bsod, also, maybe try the latest 896 12.4's, they are really good....

Do you have an antivirus running or maybe DaemonTools this can also cause the tdr bsod...

I uninstall from device manager then run driver sweeper, reboot and install the new drivers through device manager instead of using the Catalyst Installer... that always works for me...
Your startup error can be fixed by running CCleaner and deleting the AVT startup entry...

Last edited by Pill Monster; 03-27-2012 at 02:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-27-2012, 03:23 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Thanks for the response!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
atikmpag.sys BSOD could be a TDR (timeout & recovery) error if it gives code 116.

Often nstalling the drivers without CCC or preventing CCC from running at startup stops the bsod, also, maybe try the latest 896 12.4's, they are really good....

I've had the most luck with the 896 drivers, but to be frank, they still suck. My HD 7970 has better benchmarks than my HD 6870, but I get better in game performance from my HD 6870 (Laminar Research, makers of X-Plane 10, is partly to blame). In addition, I don't get the crashes with the HD 6870. I'm close to returning this thing...thankfully I'm still in the 30 day window.

Quote:
Do you have an antivirus running or maybe DaemonTools this can also cause the tdr bsod...
I use Norton Security Suite. Now I'm curious...any other HD 7970 users out there use Norton?

Quote:
I uninstall from device manager then run driver sweeper, reboot and install the new drivers through device manager instead of using the Catalyst Installer... that always works for me...
Per the advice of others, I used ATIman to uninstall the drivers. I did a clean sweep and tested each version. The 8.96-120315a-135399E drivers are the best, but still have the BSOD problem, as stated.

Quote:
Your startup error can be fixed by running CCleaner and deleting the AVT startup entry...
I actually ended up fixing this one by reinstalling the drivers, and selecting the SDK option.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 03-27-2012, 05:29 | posts: 24,034 | Location: NZ

If you can run the 6870 without a bsod then chances are it could be the card. If all else fails RMA it...at least that way you'll eliminate the card as the cause.

I think someone else with an XFX 7970 posted recently with problems too, his card was freezing up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
cstrosser
Newbie
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon HD 7970 (3GB)
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600
Mainboard: Gigabyte
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: Thermatake
Default 03-27-2012, 05:43 | posts: 31 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pill Monster View Post
If you can run the 6870 without a bsod then chances are it could be the card. If all else fails RMA it...at least that way you'll eliminate the card as the cause.

I think someone else with an XFX 7970 posted recently with problems too, his card was freezing up.
Until we have non-beta drivers, I don't know think we can give a probability either way. That's half the battle. AMD has told me, "Once official drivers are released we can assist with troubleshooting." The AMD service rep said the official drivers would likely be out on Wednesday of last week (3/21). That didn't happen, and they haven't responded to any subsequent emails.

I am pretty close to doing what you have suggested though... exchanging for another HD 7970 or returning the card. This has been an exercise in frustration.

Just to add some detail... the crashes typically happen when I am away from the computer. In addition, I have experienced a bunch of crashes while doing desktop-type tasks; however, I have never experienced a crash while using X-Plane 10 (OpenGL-based flight sim). Watch though...now that I have said this, I'll get one. =/

Last edited by cstrosser; 03-27-2012 at 05:45.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 03-27-2012, 05:43 | posts: 6,582 | Location: USA

yeah maybe try increasing stock volts a tad. if no fix it looks like its time to rma the card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Valagard
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus DirectCU II 7970 Top
Processor: i7 4770K 4.3Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Pro
Memory: 16Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 03-27-2012, 05:54 | posts: 1,066

Sounds like the card is failing, RMA it
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bsod, hd 7970, windows 7

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.