Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
NHL.com very slow on firefox, fast on IE
Old
  (#1)
chazly413
Maha Guru
 
chazly413's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6870 2GB
Processor: Athlon II X4 630
Mainboard: ASUS M4N98TD EVO
Memory: 2x4GB DDR31333
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master 600W
Question NHL.com very slow on firefox, fast on IE - 03-16-2012, 05:08 | posts: 1,136 | Location: Maryland, USA

So I've had this problem for a while now where NHL.com runs very slow on my firefox for some reason. By slow I mean there are a few dynamic elements on the website and when they transition, my browser all but freezes up for a few moments; it's very annoying.

So today I decide to start up IE and go to NHL.com and it runs smooth as glass. I'm not sure what other info I need to provide.. Any ideas? I don't think it's the flash as other flash websites run fine but I believe the lagging elements may be javascript. Also, for what it's worth, I did a fresh reinstall of Firefox today.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Quatrix
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850 W
Default 04-08-2012, 17:53 | posts: 10

Same here. It's very clunky in Firefox 11 but runs much faster in Chrome, Opera, and Internet Explorer. It's a lot better if I run Firefox in safe mode (firefox -safe-mode). I tried disabling all extensions and it was still slow, so it must be some other setting. I haven't had time to narrow it down further. I'll let you know what I find.

Last edited by Quatrix; 04-08-2012 at 17:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 3770K@5Ghz HT H20
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-WS
Memory: G.Skill 8GBx2 2400
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 04-08-2012, 18:08 | posts: 6,349 | Location: USA

have firefox run in ram instead of your hard drive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Phragmeister
Maha Guru
 
Phragmeister's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 560-Ti
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P6TD V2
Memory: Corsair Dom 12GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 04-08-2012, 20:47 | posts: 1,313 | Location: UK

^This.

Browser cache and TEMP files on a RAM Disk = win.

I just bought a Pro licence of Primo RAMDisk a few days ago after using Dataram RAMDisk Free for as long as I can remember. The read and write speeds are a lot faster with Primo, and can definitely recommend it, if you've got the spare monies of course.

Ordering another 6GB RAM this week.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Quatrix
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850 W
Default 04-08-2012, 23:06 | posts: 10

That doesn't make any sense. It wouldn't explain why nhl.com runs much better in other browers, as they use the disk too. Nor does disk cache activity have any noticeable effect on a modern PC. Nor does safe mode (in which nhl.com runs smoothly) do anything to the cache settings. I have an i7-2600K, and both the Firefox binaries and its cache are on an SSD.

Like I said, I'll let the poster know when I track down the cause.

Last edited by Quatrix; 04-09-2012 at 16:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Quatrix
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 690
Processor: i7-2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 850 W
Default 04-10-2012, 21:47 | posts: 10

chazly, go to Options > Advanced, uncheck "Use hardware acceleration", and see if nhl.com runs better. That did the trick for me, though turning off acceleration shouldn't be necessary I still need to figure out why.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
chazly413
Maha Guru
 
chazly413's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6870 2GB
Processor: Athlon II X4 630
Mainboard: ASUS M4N98TD EVO
Memory: 2x4GB DDR31333
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master 600W
Default 04-11-2012, 18:39 | posts: 1,136 | Location: Maryland, USA

It definitely seems better, thanks! I'll let you know more about how it's working in a few days.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
chazly413
Maha Guru
 
chazly413's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 6870 2GB
Processor: Athlon II X4 630
Mainboard: ASUS M4N98TD EVO
Memory: 2x4GB DDR31333
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Cooler Master 600W
Default 04-30-2012, 22:09 | posts: 1,136 | Location: Maryland, USA

Just checking in. NHL.com is working fine and I have not noticed any ill effects with other websites. Thanks again!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
firefox nhl slow ie

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.