Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Which card will be better for BF3
Old
  (#1)
TonyR
Master Guru
 
TonyR's Avatar
 
Videocard: RADEON HD 6850 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2.8GHz h20
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-PH67-UD3 H67
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative XI-FI
PSU: Corsair 650W TX Series
Default Which card will be better for BF3 - 02-21-2012, 13:57 | posts: 379 | Location: Uk Milton Keynes , Bucks

Sapphire HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 DVI HDMI DisplayPort PCI-E Graphics Card

OR

Gigabyte GTX 560 OC Edition 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card

OR

Asus GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card

The last card really is pushing my budget though.

Last edited by TonyR; 02-21-2012 at 14:07.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
bobdude
Maha Guru
 
bobdude's Avatar
 
Videocard: PS4
Processor: PS4
Mainboard: PS4
Memory: PS4
Soundcard: PS4
PSU: PS4
Default 02-21-2012, 14:14 | posts: 1,879 | Location: AZ

i had the Sapphire HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 ran bf3 smoothed and max
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Matt26LFC
Maha Guru
 
Matt26LFC's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970Ghz CF Qnix2710 96Hz
Processor: i5 3570K/Raystorm/120.5
Mainboard: Z77X-UD5H
Memory: 8GB 1866Mhz Platinums
Soundcard: ALC889 / HD449s
PSU: HX1050
Default 02-21-2012, 15:41 | posts: 2,499 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdude View Post
i had the Sapphire HD 6870 1GB GDDR5 ran bf3 smoothed and max
Really? And at what res was that!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
TonyR
Master Guru
 
TonyR's Avatar
 
Videocard: RADEON HD 6850 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2.8GHz h20
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-PH67-UD3 H67
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative XI-FI
PSU: Corsair 650W TX Series
Default 02-21-2012, 14:17 | posts: 379 | Location: Uk Milton Keynes , Bucks

What fps did you get?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
MonstroMart
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GB GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core I5 750 @ 3840
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Pro @ 160
Memory: Cor Ven 8GB DDR3-1600 CL8
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700W
Default 02-21-2012, 16:15 | posts: 204 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Asus GTX 560Ti DirectCU II 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card.

But you should tell us what your budget is and in which country you are living so we can help you better decide which card to buy.

There's a good rebate for a MSI 6950 this week on NCIX if you live in Canada.

http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=64...SI%2FMicroStar

If you live in US you may try a price match even if NCIX us price is higher for this card.

But you can't go wrong with an Asus 560ti if the price is good. But in Canada it's easier to find good rebate for 6950 don't know why.

Last edited by MonstroMart; 02-21-2012 at 16:33.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-21-2012, 16:32 | posts: 6,659 | Location: USA

560TI is the fastest out of those listed. and no a 6870 will not max out bf3 with good fps... maybe with a low res of 1024x768
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-21-2012, 17:45 | posts: 3,999 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
560TI is the fastest out of those listed. and no a 6870 will not max out bf3 with good fps... maybe with a low res of 1024x768
Don't exaggerate in how slow the HD6870 is. Looking at benchmarks the HD6870 and 560TI are very close in performance, some games the HD6870 is faster, other games the 560Ti is. Most of those comparisons are with older drivers (due to the age of the comparison). Since then the AMD drivers have had more optimisations than the Nvidia drivers.

The correct answer out of the 560Ti and the 6870 is the one you can get cheaper, and for me locally thats the 6870 by a reasonable margin.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
TonyR
Master Guru
 
TonyR's Avatar
 
Videocard: RADEON HD 6850 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2.8GHz h20
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-PH67-UD3 H67
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative XI-FI
PSU: Corsair 650W TX Series
Default 02-21-2012, 17:59 | posts: 379 | Location: Uk Milton Keynes , Bucks

So what sort of fps would i get with the 560ti max ress everything on ultra.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-21-2012, 19:57 | posts: 6,659 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Don't exaggerate in how slow the HD6870 is. Looking at benchmarks the HD6870 and 560TI are very close in performance, some games the HD6870 is faster, other games the 560Ti is. Most of those comparisons are with older drivers (due to the age of the comparison). Since then the AMD drivers have had more optimisations than the Nvidia drivers.

The correct answer out of the 560Ti and the 6870 is the one you can get cheaper, and for me locally thats the 6870 by a reasonable margin.
Dont put words into my mouth, i never said the 560TI was much faster. And im not exaggerating anything, there is no way in hell a 6870 can run all ultra with 4xmsaa at a decent res with ok fps. Regardless 560TI is overall faster and especially in bf3; it wont drop to 10 fps when using msaa as we all know amd cards suck when using msaa.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Wormwood
Maha Guru
 
Wormwood's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 780 Ghz
Processor: i5 2500k @4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: 8GB Corsair Veng 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Xonar D2X & Somic MH463
PSU: Seasonic X-750 Gold
Default 02-21-2012, 16:36 | posts: 1,535 | Location: Temeswar,Romania

Get the 560ti ...for 15-20 pounds more i say its worth it more than a gtx 560 non-ti or 6870, but if you can't stretch your pockets that much get the non TI version over that 6870
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#11)
Lukc
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus560Ti 975/2150@1.037v
Processor: i5-2500k 4.5ghz@1.3v
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Memory: Vengeance 1600mHz 8GB
Soundcard: Xonar D1
PSU: Antec HCG 620W
Default 02-21-2012, 18:35 | posts: 346 | Location: Slovenija

still low, but playable. all those cards ahve only 1gb of memory and bf3 use a lot of it..

also 560ti overclock nicely.. (mine can go up to 1000mhz core and 2200 memory at 1.1v) dunno about ati cards..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 02-21-2012, 18:39 | posts: 830

http://www.guru3d.com/article/battle...nchmark-test/6

XFX 6870 132.77 http://www.ebuyer.com/279585-xfx-hd-...i-hd-687a-zhfc

Asus 560Ti 157.44 http://www.ebuyer.com/254405-asus-gt...-dcii-2di-1gd5

At 1920x1080 high settings no msaa, the 6870 gets 50 - 60 fps, the 560Ti should get similar fps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-21-2012, 22:35 | posts: 3,999 | Location: Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by PinguX View Post
http://www.guru3d.com/article/battle...nchmark-test/6

XFX 6870 132.77 http://www.ebuyer.com/279585-xfx-hd-...i-hd-687a-zhfc

Asus 560Ti 157.44 http://www.ebuyer.com/254405-asus-gt...-dcii-2di-1gd5

At 1920x1080 high settings no msaa, the 6870 gets 50 - 60 fps, the 560Ti should get similar fps.
Locally the HD6850 costs AUS$150 and the 560Ti AUS$230, so when I said the correct answer is the 6870, I was considering the 560Ti to not be worth the extra 50 percent cost.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 02-21-2012, 23:01 | posts: 830

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
Locally the HD6850 costs AUS$150 and the 560Ti AUS$230, so when I said the correct answer is the 6870, I was considering the 560Ti to not be worth the extra 50 percent cost.
I posted those links so he could compare the cards performance in BF3 and the price.

I agree the 560Ti is not worth the extra cost cost over the 6870.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
TonyR
Master Guru
 
TonyR's Avatar
 
Videocard: RADEON HD 6850 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2.8GHz h20
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-PH67-UD3 H67
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative XI-FI
PSU: Corsair 650W TX Series
Default 02-21-2012, 20:21 | posts: 379 | Location: Uk Milton Keynes , Bucks

Ive read most of what everyones saying , what about 6790 1GB on crossfire? Or would the single Asus 560Ti be better?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
MonstroMart
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GB GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core I5 750 @ 3840
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Pro @ 160
Memory: Cor Ven 8GB DDR3-1600 CL8
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700W
Default 02-21-2012, 21:04 | posts: 204 | Location: Quebec, Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyR View Post
Ive read most of what everyones saying , what about 6790 1GB on crossfire? Or would the single Asus 560Ti be better?
IN game where crossfire scales well the dual 6790 is almost as fast as a single 580.

But 2 6850 will be slightly faster than two 6790 and you might find them at the same price.

Also if a game doesn't scale well (or at all) you're stuck with a 6790 which is not a very good card. A 6850 is less damaging when it doesn't scale well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
TonyR
Master Guru
 
TonyR's Avatar
 
Videocard: RADEON HD 6850 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2.8GHz h20
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-PH67-UD3 H67
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative XI-FI
PSU: Corsair 650W TX Series
Default 02-21-2012, 21:29 | posts: 379 | Location: Uk Milton Keynes , Bucks

ATI Radeon 6850 HD 775MHz 2GB PCI-Express HDMI

Someone mentioned the memory is used a hell of a lot in BF3 , is that card decent compared the list we got so far?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan H20 1472/7600
Processor: i7 5820K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-A
Memory: Crucial 4x4GB 2666
Soundcard: Xonar Phoebus-PC360/HD598
PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000
Default 02-21-2012, 21:38 | posts: 6,659 | Location: USA

Now you are running into a card that cant utilise that much ram, ie not fast enough
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
MonstroMart
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GB GeForce GTX 670 OC 2GB
Processor: Intel Core I5 750 @ 3840
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Pro @ 160
Memory: Cor Ven 8GB DDR3-1600 CL8
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700W
Default 02-21-2012, 21:49 | posts: 204 | Location: Quebec, Canada

If the goal is to play BF3 my choice would be either a 560ti or a 6950 (the less expensive one). I'm not a fan of crossfire or sli.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-21-2012, 22:11 | posts: 18,525 | Location: New Jersey, USA

I think you would want more than a 1gb card. shoot for a 2gb 6950 and flash to 6970 if possible and overclock the card
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
RogueGam3er
Newbie
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570
Processor: Intel 15 650 3.2 ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus III Gene
Memory: DDR3 4x 2gb corsair
Soundcard:
PSU: Everest 85plus 700
Default 02-21-2012, 22:56 | posts: 1 | Location: Bolton

I have the Evga Gtx 570 with the new update smooth as anything but if i had to choose between the 2 cards id go for the 560Ti
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: HIS R9-280x Iceq X2 Turbo
Processor: i5-3570K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Memory: DDR3-2400 2x8GB
Soundcard: ALC898 + Microlab FC-730
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 02-22-2012, 00:45 | posts: 3,999 | Location: Australia

I made a mistake looking up the 6850 instead of 6870. Still though, the 560Ti is around 35 percent more expensive than the 6870, and does not represent that in performance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
TonyR
Master Guru
 
TonyR's Avatar
 
Videocard: RADEON HD 6850 1GB
Processor: Intel Core i5 2.8GHz h20
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-PH67-UD3 H67
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR3 1333MHz
Soundcard: Creative XI-FI
PSU: Corsair 650W TX Series
Default 02-22-2012, 14:15 | posts: 379 | Location: Uk Milton Keynes , Bucks



Went with the 560ti asus , i also got 2gbs of extra ram , so i will be on 6gbs , is that ram ok with my current lot? I went for the same brand , but the model i got was apparently discontinued.

My current ram is

Corsair 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 1333MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 unbuffered

and i got

Corsair 2GB DDR3 1333Mhz XMS3 Memory Module Unbuffered 1.5V CL9 (9-9-9-24)

I think there about the same , so no issues right?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
PinguX
Maha Guru
 
PinguX's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7870 LE
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: Asrock Z77 Pro
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 8GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
PSU: OCZ Stealth XStream2 600W
Default 02-22-2012, 15:31 | posts: 830

Adding a single ram module will cause your ram to run in single channel. Order one more of that 2GB Corsair module.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
---TK---
Ancient Guru
 
---TK---'s Avatar
 
Videocard: 780Ti SC SLI/Qnix 2710
Processor: 2600k 4.5Ghz HT On
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Memory: RipJaws X 2x8GB 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Phoebus + DT880 Pro 250
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
Default 02-22-2012, 17:06 | posts: 18,525 | Location: New Jersey, USA

^^^^indeed 1 more 2gb stick
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.