Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Ntework problem
Old
  (#1)
Mikcannon
Master Guru
 
Mikcannon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX670 FTW 2GB w/c
Processor: P2 X4 965 (w/c)@3.85gh
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Memory: Corsair DDR3 8g
Soundcard: Real ALC 892 + L/t 530.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Question Ntework problem - 02-15-2012, 09:36 | posts: 169 | Location: Australia

Hi,
My internet has been weird lately. Looked on the internet and op's have similar probs but no fixes.
Details: TPG ISP. ADSL2+ 50gb. Onboard network. DSL604T Gen2 modem router.

All connections seem okay at all times. But recently I might be on a website and things slow down and should timeout. Doesn't time out much at all even when no activity. I have reset the modem a few times.
The Modem router light indicates activity. WinXP say I have connectivity. I can contact the modem router and it is connected.
Everything is okay as far as tests go but here are a couple of things:
1) I pressed the LAN cable harder into the motherboard and the little green light there went out and stayed out. And now I have good connection (ATM).
2) Testing Connectivity to modem
Testing Ethernet LAN connection PASS
Testing ADSL Connection
Testing ADSL Synchronization PASS
Testing Network Connection
Testing ATM OAM segment ping FAIL
Testing ATM OAM end to end ping FAIL
Testing Internet Connectivity
Ping Primary Domain Names Server PASS
Those two fails apparently don't matter according to others.
3) PING 203.12.160.35 (203.12.160.35): 64 data bytes
72 bytes from 203.12.160.35: icmp_seq=0 ttl=228 time=30.0 ms
72 bytes from 203.12.160.35: icmp_seq=1 ttl=228 time=20.0 ms
72 bytes from 203.12.160.35: icmp_seq=2 ttl=228 time=20.0 ms
--- 203.12.160.35 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 20.0/23.3/30.0 ms
4) Traffic statistics = Rx Total Error Counts 55

# 1 and 4 are the weird items. 2 and 3 are some tests I threw in if you want them.

Last edited by Mikcannon; 02-15-2012 at 09:38.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Pill Monster
Ancient Guru
 
Pill Monster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1175/1550
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.8
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB Kingston HyperX 2400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Platinum Ex 5.1
PSU: AcBel M8 750
Default 02-15-2012, 09:56 | posts: 23,639 | Location: NZ

I've seen Rx errors in the thousands on those DSL routers so don't worry too much about it...everything looks normal to me, and yeah the ATM fails are OK as well.

Btw be sure it's well ventilated as that model is prone to overheating and cooking. They start running really slow after too much heat. (DSL3x/5x/6x)

Otherwise it could've been not connected properly, also maybe try deleting your cache....or a different DNS server?

I use 4.4.4.4

Last edited by Pill Monster; 02-15-2012 at 10:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mikcannon
Master Guru
 
Mikcannon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX670 FTW 2GB w/c
Processor: P2 X4 965 (w/c)@3.85gh
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Memory: Corsair DDR3 8g
Soundcard: Real ALC 892 + L/t 530.
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 02-20-2012, 00:47 | posts: 169 | Location: Australia

Still got reasonable speed. But I'm going to add a fan to cool it.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.