SweetFX Shader Suite release and discussion thread

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by CeeJay.dk, Sep 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RecluSe

    RecluSe Guest

    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC/ACX 2.0
    How do i get sweetFX to work with DSfix?
     
  2. kaicooper

    kaicooper Guest

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GTX 780 SC ACX
    Maken

    u finished DS 2 settings?

    its soo great and also other guy screenshots r awesom
    i have GTX 580 sc..u think i can make the downsampling good without heating?
     
  3. Scorpio82Co

    Scorpio82Co Guest

    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1070 G1 8GB
    MAKEN si quieres te paso mi config.. la ves y me dices que le debo mejorar..o tambien que no debo emplear

    por cierto .. ningun enb le sirve a este juego?


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Choose effects /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/

    // Set to 1 for ON or 0 for OFF
    #define USE_SMAA_ANTIALIASING 0 //[0 or 1] SMAA Anti-aliasing : Smoothens jagged lines using the SMAA technique.
    #define USE_FXAA_ANTIALIASING 1 //[0 or 1] FXAA Anti-aliasing : Smoothens jagged lines using the FXAA technique. WIP - Currently only works in DX9 and you need to use the FXAA injector dlls.
    #define USE_LUMASHARPEN 1 //[0 or 1] LumaSharpen : Also sharpens the antialiased edges which makes them less smooth - I'm working on fixing that.
    #define USE_BLOOM 1 //[0 or 1] Bloom : Makes bright lights bleed their light into their surroundings (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_HDR 1 //[0 or 1] HDR : Not actual HDR - It just tries to mimic an HDR look (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_TECHNICOLOR 1 //[0 or 1] TECHNICOLOR : Attempts to mimic the look of an old movie using the Technicolor three-strip color process (Techicolor Process 4)
    #define USE_DPX 1 //[0 or 1] Cineon DPX : Should make the image look like it's been converted to DXP Cineon - basically it's another movie-like look similar to technicolor.
    #define USE_LIFTGAMMAGAIN 1 //[0 or 1] Lift Gamma Gain : Adjust brightness and color of shadows, midtones and highlights (avoids clipping)
    #define USE_TONEMAP 0 //[0 or 1] Tonemap : Adjust gamma, exposure, saturation, bleach and defog. (may cause clipping)
    #define USE_VIBRANCE 1 //[0 or 1] Vibrance : Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    #define USE_CURVES 1 //[0 or 1] Curves : Contrast adjustments using S-curves.
    #define USE_CARTOON 0 //[0 or 1] Cartoon : "Toon"s the image
    #define USE_SEPIA 0 //[0 or 1] Sepia : Sepia tones the image.
    #define USE_VIGNETTE 1 //[0 or 1] Vignette : Darkens the edges of the image to make it look more like it was shot with a camera lens. May cause banding artifacts.
    #define USE_DITHER 1 //[0 or 1] Dither : Applies dithering to simulate more colors than your monitor can display. This lessens banding artifacts (mostly caused by Vignette)
    #define USE_BORDER 1 //[0 or 1] Border : Makes the screenedge black as a workaround for the bright edge that forcing some AA modes sometimes causes.
    #define USE_SPLITSCREEN 0 //[0 or 1] Splitscreen : Enables the before-and-after splitscreen comparison mode.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / SMAA Anti-aliasing settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/

    #define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.12 //[0.05 to 0.20] Edge detection threshold
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 16 //[0 to 98] Determines the radius SMAA will search for aliased edges
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 6 //[0 to 16] Determines the radius SMAA will search for diagonal aliased edges
    #define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 0 //[0 to 100] Determines the percent of antialiasing to apply to corners.

    // -- Advanced SMAA settings --
    #define COLOR_EDGE_DETECTION 1 //[0 or 1] 1 Enables color edge detection (slower but more acurate) - 0 uses luma edge detection (faster)
    #define SMAA_DIRECTX9_LINEAR_BLEND 0 //[0 or 1] Using DX9 HARDWARE? (software version doesn't matter) if so this needs to be 1 - If not, leave it at 0.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / FXAA Anti-aliasing settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define FXAA_QUALITY__PRESET 9 //[1 to 9] Choose the quality preset
    #define fxaa_Subpix 0.400 //[0.000 to 1.000] Choose the amount of sub-pixel aliasing removal
    #define fxaa_EdgeThreshold 0.250 //[0.000 to 1.000] The minimum amount of local contrast required to apply algorithm
    #define fxaa_EdgeThresholdMin 0.060 //[0.000 to 1.000] Trims the algorithm from processing darks


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / LumaSharpen settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    // -- Sharpening --
    #define sharp_strength 1.20 //[0.10 to 3.00] Strength of the sharpening
    #define sharp_clamp 0.085 //[0.000 to 1.000] Limits maximum amount of sharpening a pixel recieves - Default is 0.035

    // -- Advanced sharpening settings --
    #define pattern 4 //[1|2|3|4] Choose a sample pattern. 1 = Fast, 2 = Normal, 3 = Wider, 4 = Pyramid shaped.
    #define offset_bias 1.4 //[0.0 to 6.0] Offset bias adjusts the radius of the sampling pattern.
    //I designed the pattern for offset_bias 1.0, but feel free to experiment.

    // -- Debug sharpening settings --
    #define show_sharpen 0 //[0 or 1] Visualize the strength of the sharpen (multiplied by 4 to see it better)


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Bloom settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define BloomThreshold 23.25 //[0.00 to 50.00] Threshold for what is a bright light (that causes bloom) and what isn't.
    #define BloomPower 1.3 //[0.000 to 8.000] Strength of the bloom
    #define BloomWidth 0.7000 //[0.0000 to 1.0000] Width of the bloom


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / HDR settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define HDRPower 0.85 //[0.00 to 8.00] Strangely lowering this makes the image brighter
    #define radius2 0.79 //[0.00 to 8.00] Raising this seems to make the effect stronger and also brighter


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / TECHNICOLOR settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define TechniAmount 0.3 //[0.0 to 1.0]
    #define TechniPower 2.4 //[0.0 to 8.0]
    #define redNegativeAmount 0.78 //[0.0 to 1.0]
    #define greenNegativeAmount 0.78 //[0.0 to 1.0]
    #define blueNegativeAmount 0.78 //[0.0 to 1.0]


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Cineon DPX settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Red 12.0 //[1.0 to 15.0]
    #define Green 13.0 //[1.0 to 15.0]
    #define Blue 10.0 //[1.0 to 15.0]

    #define ColorGamma 2.2 //[0.1 to 2.5] Adjusts the colorfulness of the effect in a manner similar to Vibrance. 1.0 is neutral.
    #define DPXSaturation 4.0 //[0.0 to 8.0] Adjust saturation of the effect. 1.0 is neutral.

    #define RedC 0.36 //[0.60 to 0.20]
    #define GreenC 0.36 //[0.60 to 0.20]
    #define BlueC 0.34 //[0.60 to 0.20]

    #define Blend 0.2 //[0.00 to 1.00] How strong the effect should be.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Lift Gamma Gain settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define RGB_Lift float3(0.988, 0.988, 0.985) //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust shadows for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gamma float3(1.000, 1.000, 1.000) //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust midtones for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gain float3(1.025, 1.025, 1.025) //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust highlights for Red, Green and Blue


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Tonemap settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Gamma 0.8 //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust midtones

    #define Exposure 0.00 //[-1.000 to 1.000] Adjust exposure

    #define Saturation -0.20 //[-1.000 to 1.000] Adjust saturation

    #define Bleach 0.05 //[0.000 to 1.000] Brightens the shadows and fades the colors

    #define Defog 0.030 //[0.000 to 1.000] How much of the color tint to remove
    #define FogColor float3(0.00, 1.00, 2.55) //[0.00 to 2.55, 0.00 to 2.55, 0.00 to 2.55] What color to remove - default is blue


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Vibrance settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Vibrance 0.25 //[-1.00 to 1.00] Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Curves settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Curves_contrast 0.05 //[-1.00 to 1.00] The amount of contrast you want

    // -- Advanced curve settings --
    #define Curves_formula 7 //[1|2|3|4|5|6|7] The constrast s-curve you want to use. I prefer 2 myself.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Cartoon settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //No settings yet, beyond switching it on or off in the top section.
    //I'm still tweaking this effect - also I'm not even sure it should be called Cartoon in the final version.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Sepia settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define ColorTone float3(1.40, 1.10, 0.90) //[0.00 to 1.00, 0.00 to 1.00, 0.00 to 1.00] What color to tint the image
    #define GreyPower 0.11 //[0.0 to 1.0] How much desaturate the image before tinting it
    #define SepiaPower 0.58 //[0.0 to 1.0] How much to tint the image


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Vignette settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define VignetteRadius 1.00 //[-1.00 to 3.00] lower values = stronger radial effect from center
    #define VignetteAmount -1.00 //[-2.00 to 1.00] Strength of black. -2.00 = Max Black, 1.00 = Max White.
    #define VignetteSlope 8 //[1 to 16] How far away from the center the change should start to really grow strong (odd numbers cause a larger fps drop than even numbers)
    #define VignetteCenter float2(0.500, 0.500) //[0.00 to 1.00, 0.00 to 1.00] Center of effect.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Dither settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //No settings yet, beyond switching it on or off in the top section.

    //Note that the checkerboard pattern used by Dither, makes an image harder to compress.
    //This can make your screenshots and video recordings take up more space.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Border settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //No settings yet, beyond switching it on or off in the top section.


    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
    / Splitscreen settings /
    '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define splitscreen_mode 1 //[1|2|3|4|5] 1 = Vertical 50/50 split, 2 = Vertical 25/50/25 split, 3 = Vertical 50/50 angled split, 4 = Horizontal 50/50 split, 5 = Horizontal 25/50/25 split
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2012
  4. Maken

    Maken Master Guru

    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti 6GB
    @kaicooper
    Hi, no is not ready yet. You cant do nothing to avoid your GPU got high temps in special if its at 100% usage.. you can is minimize some the temps by using Water Cooling or live in a very cold country :D. Before gaming rise up more the fan speeds like 90 or 100% if you dont mind the noise. If you overclock your GPU it will be more hotter but the price worth because you are trying to push some more the performance with your games. Dead Space 2 is not so demanding with your GPU you can do good Downsampling and have better results. Search in google and youtube for guides how to do Downsampling with Nvidia or ATi video cards. Go go try it :).
    Downsampling for NVIDIA only http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346325


    @Scorpio82Co
    Spanish> Hey la idea es que tu crees una configuracion unica que salga de tus gustos en este caso te aconsejo que mejores tus problemas de Aliasing, tienes muchisimos debido que ests usando mucho Sharpen, bajalo a 60 y maximo recomendaria 80 con juegos tu sabes que no tenga mucha nitidez. Mayor el juego tenga texturas HD y mas nitido se vea no uses tanto Sharpen y asi evitas menos aliasing y edges blancos. Te aconsejo que si tu gpu no es tan viejo como el mio busques en google y youtube como hacer Downsampling dependiendo de la marca de tu GPU, no es dificil creeme y claro cuesta performance pero vale la pena :D.

    No uses border, dither ya que estos aun no funcionan completamente, el bloom lo malo es que te cuesta performance, empieza usando mas gammas o curvas o tonemap y con respecto al color o usa dpx o vibrance, claro puedes usar los 2 pero debes jugar mas con ellos para crear un balance. HDR y Technicolor ya de por si hacen los blancos muy brillosos y si le sumas bloom mucho peor eso te haria perder cierto realismo de las luces. Usa o uno o el otro, si usas ambos debes balancear, en este juego aun no e jugado mucho con el Technicolor pero creo que no le queda mucho. Asi que Bloom y HDR te cuesta performance, podrias reducirlo si usas mas gammas, tonemap y curvas. Para el color o DPX o Vibrance.

    No ningun ENB que yo sepa por ahora le sirve, pero igual no le hace mucho falta con el SweetFX se puede hacer bastante como ya ves :D.

    Si tu tarjeta de video es NVIDIA entonces esta guia te recomiendo de ahi fue que yo me guie http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346325

    Sorry i was talking with Scorpio82Co in Spanish because he understand that language and more easy for me to help/explain/etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2012

  5. OrdinaryOregano

    OrdinaryOregano Guest

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    I'm enjoying Toon Shader wayy too much

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. aphexninja

    aphexninja Guest

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260
    Hrmm -- no ideas huh?

    I've been dying to get this to work with BF3 -- I'm so disappointed it doesn't load up. : (
     
  7. RecluSe

    RecluSe Guest

    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC/ACX 2.0
    Wouldn't have thought BF3 really needed SweetFX anyway, it's a pretty good looking game to start with.
     
  8. aphexninja

    aphexninja Guest

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260
    It's nice to have a sharper image, and the color gradient is way off. Also boosting some of the lighting helps make it easier to see people.
     
  9. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Guest

    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2080TI
    BF3 doesn't need any sharpening. If anything it would make the game look worse. It's texture quality is pretty darn nice. Thing is, BF3's colors change drastically from map to map. Some are far more saturated than others. You can't really use it for anything other than SMAA... unless you tweak it on a per map basis.

    But it does work. I've had no issues with playing BF3 with SweetFX. Nothing special required to make it work.
     
  10. aphexninja

    aphexninja Guest

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260
    SweetFX doesn't work with any game I have -- I posted on the last page, and Cee.Jay responded with some suggestions that I had already tried (Thanks though! :D)

    But it just doesn't inject itself into any of my games .exe's

    Permissions are fine, Windows 8 64-bit -- I've built computers since I was 8 and am not a beginner -- I pretty much tried everything I could think of... so I'm thinking something obscure is causing the issue... I mean, if it doesn't inject into ANYTHING, then I know it's something on my end -- but I don't know what.
     

  11. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Guest

    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2080TI
    Intersting... just as I mention that about SweetFX and Battlefield 3, I notice a PCGamer article (written by DeadEndThrills) uses one of my SweetFXed BF3 screenshots as its cover image. Goes on to mention my fine work in Borderlands 2 and Dishonored as well xD.
     
  12. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Congrats man, you should hit them up for a free game of your choice.
     
  13. ninjafada

    ninjafada Guest

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pny 670
    ok again since it's hard to use the search ...

    any os:

    put dll and injector.ini in the exe folder
    put the rest of the files in the game root unless log.log give an other place
    most of games it's the same folder (you have a Game_compability.txt in the Sweetfx folder to help you too )


    you need directx 9 for games using it, because dx10 and dx11 don't fully support it
    for dx10 and dx11 just update your directx

    lots of game are launched with steam/origin/uplay
    you "need" to disable the overlay (display of infos on top of the image )
    if you are using software with overlay like ts3 mumble xfire rts ( evga precision and msi afterburner overlay server ) you need to kill them too
    rts has an option to enable compatibility with modified direct3d runtime dll you can tick it , but for now just kill everything

    closed all the unneeded apps in case of one using direct3D ( i had issue with madvr prevented me to start any dx9 game if i had a video opened )

    some games need to have the antialiasing off, if you can't in game try with the driver to force off

    for win8 and sometimes vista/7 you may need to change the folders rights to allow admin, logged/auth users and/or you to have full access ,
    right clic on the game folder , propriety , sécurity , you should see total full acces untick (don't remember the name in english )

    sometime you need to start the game as admin , it's because there is an other software who took priority on direct3d, sometimes this software crash when you start the game making easier to know who it is.

    with win8 fraps can crash the game try to disable the fps overlay or close it


    after a directx update you may need a reboot
    you may need to update your video driver and sometime a clean install ( driver cleaner etc )

    when you start the game a log.log file will be created, if not it mean the dll is not loaded, can be the game and you won't be able to use any injector with it or something more complex like the exe isn't the real exe

    but if you see the game listed here or in the database, then it's gonna be very hard to find why

    if you went from starting w/o loading to crash to desktop, take a look at log.log, and again overlays


    last chance use this gui http://riseofflight.com/Forum/viewtopic.php?f=49&t=34103


    ps: sorry my english isn't my native language so lots of mistakes can be found :p
     
  14. Scorpio82Co

    Scorpio82Co Guest

    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1070 G1 8GB
    Aprecio enormemente tus consejoss maken
     
  15. jim2point0

    jim2point0 Guest

    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 2080TI
    I would settle for a dev version of their games with some sort of free camera functionality. That way I wouldn't have to hack in my own with Cheat Engine.

    Bethesda tweeted about my Dishonored screenshots. The official Planetside 2 twitter linked to my reddit post and PS2 flickr album. But that's about it :)
     

  16. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Thanks for info mate.

    You should see if CeeJay.dk can add this to his first post so when someone asks for install instructions, they can be refereed there by other forum users.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
  17. aphexninja

    aphexninja Guest

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 260
    Haha, thanks for the reply --

    I have done all those things. ; )

    Trust me, I spent around 4-5 hours doing searches and haven't found anything to help my issue.

    My game installs are on a separate hard drive with full write privileges -- everything runs as administrator as well.

    Everything is up to date, drivers for my motherboard, bios, graphics card, etc... all up to date.

    I have no virus's or anything else and have no issues running games with the files in the .exe folder -- it simply never injects and never creates a log.

    For the life of me, I cannot figure out why.
     
  18. ninjafada

    ninjafada Guest

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pny 670
    did you try to set a compatibility on bf3.exe like vista or 7 ?

    do you still use the GTX 260 or your profil isnt updated ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2012
  19. kaicooper

    kaicooper Guest

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GTX 780 SC ACX
    :chainsaw2:Cleaning my Rig from dusts TIME:chainsaw2:
     
  20. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    Mix of sweetFX and ENB... There can be some funky colors. Still trying to figure out ENB post process settings...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page