Afterburner Skin Format

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Application Development Forum' started by MadGizmo, Oct 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    Hello, I am really interested in learning about skinning, but I have a couple of very noob questions, I hope you don't mind:

    1.) The control flags in the headers I see are "00010001h", what does the h stand for?
    For example: "SLIDER_CORE_CLK = 114,331,00010001h,"

    Do i have to add the "h" for every control flag I use instead of 0x0001001 etc?

    2.) What is the control flag for vertical sliders?

    Thank you for your time.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2009
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Ancient Guru Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,195
    Likes Received:
    6,846
    Hexadecimal format postfix.

    If you're specifying values in hexadecimal format - yes.


    Chapter 3.4.3
    ...
    0x00010000 – slider is aligned horizontally
    ...


    So that bit in flags must be _reset_ for vertical slider, e.g. 00000001
     
  3. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    Thank you very much and thanks for the fast response!
     
  4. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
    I don't understand where do i use this command(MSIAfterburner.exe -ds default,te6Xfjz3) and how to decompile Please help me.
     

  5. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    Easiest is creating a shortcut icon from the main afterburner exe and add the command on the end or use cmd.exe from windows.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
    Hey i get it thankuuu..........................
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2009
  7. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    Hi, sorry I got another noob question:
    I'm trying to figure out some items in the monitor placeholder and I don't know what the 2 colors in the middle are for from the default skin:

    kk so just to verify that's:

    586 = <location x>
    115 = <location y>
    blank = <flag override>
    blank = <z-order>
    site_monitoring = <site>
    416 = <width of graph area>
    528 = <height of graph area>
    000000h = <black-background color of the monitor graph area>
    FFFFFFh = <white-normal text>
    002000h = <low saturation green - grid color>
    00FF00h = <high saturation green - graph wave color>
    00FFFFh = ??? yellow?
    006000h = ??? dark green?
    0000c0h = <RED - MAX value>
    50c050h = <GREEN - MIN VALUE>


    I can't seem to find on the graph what the two ??? values 00FFFFh and 006000h are used for.

    Also, is it possible to have a graphic as a background instead of a color for the monitor graph area? I tried to remove the black value and left it blank but it still had a black background.
    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
  8. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
    I have some problems in making skin.
    Please help me.
    I want to make a slider but when i make a transparent background after saving tit into bitmap it become white.It was shown in below image.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Another one was to place the buttons some what down.How to change them where will be the configuration file.
    And lam getting the skin-base with white stroke even though i made it clear transparent.
    Both issues are shown below.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Can it is possible to use PNG or JPEG rather than BMP images.
    Please help me
     
  9. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    You have to make an alpha image if you want transparency for the items inside skinbase. Basically just select the object, and mask everything you want to be visible white and save it as an alpha image.

    The edges of the SkinBase cannot support alpha blending like the items inside (no alpha masks) so you have to either manually pixelate them with solid colors or crop to nearest 100% opaque value.

    Only 24-bit BMP is accepted.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2009
  10. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
    I dont know how to mask please help me........
    Explain me in a clear way
     

  11. Unwinder

    Unwinder Ancient Guru Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,195
    Likes Received:
    6,846
    The first one is clipped graph color (the color is used when graph value lies beyond the graph limits), the second one is background color for different messages displayed in monitoring area (e.g. try to pause monitor by right clicking it and selecting <Pause> command, <Hardware monitor is paused> message will be displayed using this color for background).

    No.
     
  12. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    Easiest way is to show this is to decompile the default skins and look at the files LinkIndicator.bmp and LinkIndicatorAlpha.bmp

    See the difference? See which areas are white and which areas are black in the Alpha? Now compare that to what you see in that area in the skin base and what happens when you run the skin.

    That's it.

    The edges of the skin base will not have an anti-alias (smooth) edge because it doesn't use the technique that the one above is using (it is using a key color which designates the transparent area, in this case magenta). It doesn't support transluscency (opaqueness less than 100% solid color) unlike the items inside the SkinBase. If you want to have complex shapes, you have to settle for rougher looking edges.

    Here's a little trick however, so you can minimize that by manually making pixel-gradients (tedious but its the effective way) from your edge color to 50% gray, since that is the safest bet universal color for various backgrounds compared to solid black or solid white.

    Hope that explanation was clearer for you.

    Thanks!
     
  13. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
    You explained me very clear thank u my friend......... :)
    Hey i got another way for get rid of white pixels .
    Please help me how to move buttons(Apply,Reset,setting,save,1,2,3,4,5).:
     
  14. Unwinder

    Unwinder Ancient Guru Staff Member

    Messages:
    17,195
    Likes Received:
    6,846
    Seriously, why don't you just read skin format reference? All questions you were asking are covered there, you just have to read.
     
  15. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    aww c'mon mate, I thought you were just having a little trouble, I didn't know you didn't actually read the comprehensive manual. All you need is there.
     

  16. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
    I want to change UserDefineIndicator.bmp but iam not getting any transperency.
    Please help me
     
  17. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
    Well we can't exactly tell you what you are doing wrong unless you show us a screenshot of what you are working on. Show the skinbase, the normal indicator + the indicatorAlpha.
     
  18. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
  19. crowTrobot

    crowTrobot Master Guru

    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD5450
  20. marthand

    marthand Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5850+Nvidia 8800GTS
    I used it already but its not compiling.
    Its not showing that the compilation is successfull when used black background.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page