Windows timer resolution tool in form of system service

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by mbk1969, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    Edit: All good.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 29, 2013
  2. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    Asus Dual RX6700 XT
    I know I read it, I know I tried it and now I can't find it.

    How do you query, from the command ( cmd ) line, to see what the max and min timer resolution your computer is able to be set at?

    Thanks
     
  3. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    In cmd only with console app - http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4539837&postcount=330.


    If you installed STR service then in PowerShell:
    Get-EventLog Application -Source STR
    (Should be text like "Minimum={0}; Maximum={1}; Current={2}")
     
  4. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    Asus Dual RX6700 XT
    Thank you for the reply however that's not what I am looking for.

    There is a command that you can run from the command prompt that will indicate your current timer resolution setting.

    I am looking for that command.
     

  5. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    Asus Dual RX6700 XT
    I've searched and I've searched and I've searched. It looks like it wasn't a command prompt that I used.

    It was this program that I used to find the current timer resolution.

    ClockRes v2.0

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb897568.aspx

    If there is a way to do it from the command prompt, please let me know.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  6. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    Do you mean by the "from the command prompt" some special internal command in cmd.exe (like "chdir" or "mkdir") ?
    ClockRes v2.0 is console application and it works namely in command prompt.
    I don`t understand context of your demand/question.

    Edit: And if you compile that source http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4539837&postcount=330 console application will be created. If you want I can customize it for you in any way. Just tell me what exactly do you need.

    Edit2: If you want to set resolution manually I just updated source http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4539837&postcount=330 to add command line parameters handling. So you can compile exe-file and call it in command prompt:
    SetTimerResolution.exe desiredresolution
    (name of exe-file is the same as the name of source file).
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013
  7. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    Asus Dual RX6700 XT
    Hello mbk1969,

    I think I have confused the issue. Your absolutely right, ClockRes is a console application.

    What I was asking for is there a command at the command prompt inside a console windows that performs the same function as ClockRes?

    Now that you have brought up the possibility of a way of setting up any value for Timer Resolution, I can now play around with different values and see what effect it actually has on the computer environment. Maybe a higher value might actually be a better setting in some instances.

    Thank you again for all your replies.
     
  8. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Guest

    Messages:
    3,580
    Likes Received:
    308
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    If your service is working then that clockres app should read the current timer interval as 0.500 ms right?
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    I doubt such internal command could exist because timer resolution is deeply intrinsic OS`s kernel parameter. Those functions - NtSetTimerResolution and NtQueryTimerResolution - even were not included in OS import libraries for a development usage.
    As for timer resolution influence I am little skeptic as: (1) I suspect that same influence on OS` smoothness and snappiness has processor power settings (which at least availiable through OS UI), (2) any process in OS can set greater timer resolution then you set manually in command prompt (and you even wouldn`t know about it as utility doesn`t monitor state of timer resolution in system).
     
  10. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    Yes.

    Edit: First version of service should maintain maximum timer resolution permanently (along its lifespan). Second version of service - either permanently or along specified processes lifespan.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2013

  11. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    Asus Dual RX6700 XT
    Nice explanation. Thank you for the information.
     
  12. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
  13. Watcher

    Watcher Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    367
    GPU:
    Asus Dual RX6700 XT
  14. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Msi 680
    Just in case I didnt mention it yet. Ill vote this for sticky.
     
  15. rflair

    rflair Don Coleus Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,855
    Likes Received:
    1,725
    GPU:
    5700XT
    I am considering it, its just that when you sticky something some less informed users take it as something they have to do and/or have no real clue as to why they are doing it.

    Its like in the GPU driver threads, I sticky unofficial or modded drivers, you would think that all users would understand what they are downloading and the risk is theirs, but there are always a few that do not.
     

  16. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    Yeah. And I still think that it doesn`t deserve sticky state.
     
  17. Prophet

    Prophet Master Guru

    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Msi 680
    Hey mbk if thats what you want. Its just that the only real alternative to this is a 10 au dollar investment and it helps.

    Rflair: Maybe make a permanent notice somewhere, a disclaimer? Personally I think there are too many stupid people. I vote we just take all warning stickers off and let the situation resolve itself.
     
  18. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    Well, it would be pleasant for me but it`s not level to GPU-Z or NVInspector.
    It was namely price of 10 bucks that drove me to implement alternative, knowing how simple implementation is.
     
  19. mr1hm

    mr1hm Active Member

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2070 Super XC Ultra
    just wondering, would a current timer interval of 0.488ms show signs of instability?

    reason i ask is because my CPU is overclocked, thanks. :)
     
  20. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,542
    Likes Received:
    13,561
    GPU:
    GF RTX 4070
    They are not related things - system timer (clock) and CPU overclocking.
     

Share This Page