Guru3D.com Forums

Guru3D.com Forums (http://forums.guru3d.com/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Do I need a higher wattage psu? (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=349959)

ATR 08-27-2011 09:17

Do I need a higher wattage psu?
 
I am looking to get another amd 6870 so I can crossfire, and was just wondering if I needed a higher wattage psu.

Current system:

PSU: Corsair HX750
Motherboard: Gigabyte x58A-UD3R
CPU: Intel Core i7 930
CPU Cooler: Coolermaster V8
GFX Card: Reference amd 6870.
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Corsair Dominator 8,8,8,24
HDD's: 3 - 1 SSD, 2xSATA2 HDDs
Optical Drive's: 2 - 1 BD writer, 1 BD read
PCIe Wireless card (PCIe x1 or x4 i don't know)

I have tried using the extreme psu calculator, that spits out 600 which seems too low, I tried ASUS's and that spit out 1050 which is far too high, the guru review says 700, which seems closer to the figure. Anyone running 2 6870s? what psu do you use? anyone know if my 750 is enough?

PhazeDelta1 08-27-2011 09:49

corsair tends to underrate the wattage on their psu's. so its a little higher than 750w. youll be fine with what you got

Trolle 08-27-2011 11:12

indeed you'l be fine

Brendruis 08-27-2011 11:23

its fine my quite similar hx850 run 580 sli no probs not even approaching efficiency threshold

ATR 08-27-2011 11:52

Thxs

yeah, i just wanted to make sure because with my last PC, I bought the 5770 and I thought the 500W i was running at the time would be good enough, but within 3 hours of gaming the card screwed up(maybe it was just the card faulty i don't know). So i'm cautions not to put too much stress on the PSU - but that was a lower model antec psu, the Corsair is far superior and I have read that the corsair PSU's (well at least the HX and TX series have been able to pushed over the stated Wattage a bit.

Anfield82 08-27-2011 12:20

Corsair have a high price tag for a reason. It's time like this when you realize how important buying a decent PSU is. I had a crap one before (regret) but quickly changed it for Corsair when I wanted to go SLI. The crap one had a higher wattage but I knew it would probably destroy my system one day lol.

Now I always buy a decent PSU. This time it's a Be Quiet! one.

eclap 08-27-2011 12:21

you'll be absolutely fine with that rig and that psu, even with 2x 6870.

BarryB 08-27-2011 13:20

If your case has room use 2 PSU's, one for the mobo, drives etc and one just for the GPU :)

CoreyPL 08-27-2011 13:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarryB (Post 4081404)
If your case has room use 2 PSU's, one for the mobo, drives etc and one just for the GPU :)

He really doesn't need to do it. He doesn't run Quad CF or SLI or Dual CPU etc.
One 750W is more than enough for 6870 in CF.

Trolle 08-27-2011 13:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarryB (Post 4081404)
If your case has room use 2 PSU's, one for the mobo, drives etc and one just for the GPU :)

and the point of that is?

jaydeee 08-27-2011 14:38

My idea is "better be higher than shorter" :)

raif 08-27-2011 14:38

i can run dual 580's on my 850w psu, youll be fine with 2 6870's

BarryB 08-27-2011 22:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Trolle (Post 4081423)
and the point of that is?

Split the load, one for your system and one for the GPU or GPUs, then if one blows up it either takes out your GPU's or just your mobo/drives :banana:

lehtv 08-27-2011 22:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarryB (Post 4081831)
Split the load, one for your system and one for the GPU or GPUs, then if one blows up it either takes out your GPU's or just your mobo/drives :banana:

If one blows up. Why not just buy insurance? Much cheaper than buying another PSU.

---TK--- 08-27-2011 23:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATR (Post 4081284)
I am looking to get another amd 6870 so I can crossfire, and was just wondering if I needed a higher wattage psu.

Current system:

PSU: Corsair HX750
Motherboard: Gigabyte x58A-UD3R
CPU: Intel Core i7 930
CPU Cooler: Coolermaster V8
GFX Card: Reference amd 6870.
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Corsair Dominator 8,8,8,24
HDD's: 3 - 1 SSD, 2xSATA2 HDDs
Optical Drive's: 2 - 1 BD writer, 1 BD read
PCIe Wireless card (PCIe x1 or x4 i don't know)

I have tried using the extreme psu calculator, that spits out 600 which seems too low, I tried ASUS's and that spit out 1050 which is far too high, the guru review says 700, which seems closer to the figure. Anyone running 2 6870s? what psu do you use? anyone know if my 750 is enough?

no,no,no that psu is more than enough for 2 6870s

Elysianarcane 08-27-2011 23:23

a 650W is fine for 6870 CFX.

Jcazz 08-29-2011 06:27

keep some watts available for longevity. 650 watts for crossfire is low. i would not go any less than 750watt psu. and check amps on the 12v rail as this is the more important story. Its always good to have a buffer...

Is redlining your car good?

maleficarus™ 08-29-2011 06:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by ATR (Post 4081284)
I am looking to get another amd 6870 so I can crossfire, and was just wondering if I needed a higher wattage psu.

Current system:

PSU: Corsair HX750
Motherboard: Gigabyte x58A-UD3R
CPU: Intel Core i7 930
CPU Cooler: Coolermaster V8
GFX Card: Reference amd 6870.
Memory: 6GB (3x2GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Corsair Dominator 8,8,8,24
HDD's: 3 - 1 SSD, 2xSATA2 HDDs
Optical Drive's: 2 - 1 BD writer, 1 BD read
PCIe Wireless card (PCIe x1 or x4 i don't know)

I have tried using the extreme psu calculator, that spits out 600 which seems too low, I tried ASUS's and that spit out 1050 which is far too high, the guru review says 700, which seems closer to the figure. Anyone running 2 6870s? what psu do you use? anyone know if my 750 is enough?

Two different calculators would never give out a 400+ watt difference. You obviously typed in wrong information, that or different information for each calculator. Use the same info and it should be within 100 watts of eachother on both...

maleficarus™ 08-29-2011 06:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by BarryB (Post 4081831)
Split the load, one for your system and one for the GPU or GPUs, then if one blows up it either takes out your GPU's or just your mobo/drives :banana:

You can't be serious...

Man the Popwer supply marketing teams really loves guys like you!!


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:16.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.