Guru3D.com Forums

Guru3D.com Forums (http://forums.guru3d.com/index.php)
-   Videocards - AMD - ATI Drivers Section (http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   Rift FPS? (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=347187)

Roost 12 07-02-2011 13:15

Rift FPS?
 
Hi,

has anyone found a solution to Rift fps problems? I will be more specific by describing my issue: the game's fps in a crowded city of Sanctum is always around 15 fps. Changing from Min graphics settings to Ultra results in only 2-3 fps difference. If my system was too weak then Ultra should hog it way down, not for just 2 frames per second. So basically it seems as if the game's settings wouldn't work performance-wise (do they work graphically).

I tried using custom Fallout dx9.dll file (and running Rift with -dx9 parameter so it used it), performance tips on the official forums, as well as editing rift.cfg file (cpu core, misc, raising vfx settings to insane levels). Nothing has made a change. Oh, the only thing that does work is setting Anisotropic filtering in ATI drivers instead of in Rift itself (supposedly the game handles that poorly). That gave like 2-5 frames but the fps still remains more or less the same across Min and Ultra settings.

Any idea what could be the cultrip?


PS: I had a similar problem in Lotro about a year ago - no matter what I found there were world drawing issues (far objects were flickering/disappearing etc). I also tried everything back then. What fixed it was installing Win7 64bit. Weird fix. I am already using 64bit Windows so I can't apply that fix to Rift now. :)

Bornakiller 07-02-2011 13:23

It's the game I get only 30fps on all settings even in huge fights It drops to 18fps even If I lower the settings :puke2:

djsebfr 07-02-2011 15:12

Same here :

All setting maxed in 1920*1080 without AA.

Between 30fps and 55fps
:3eyes:

Norezar 07-02-2011 19:52

The engine is pretty terrible.

gbooster 07-02-2011 20:16

It seems like it has a nasty memory leak too. In the same locations will go from 55fps when I log in to 30 after an hour or so. The flora starts popping in and out alot too when this happens.

I hope they can get it fixed up, I might check it out again if they ever get the engine working good.

Norezar 07-02-2011 20:18

Yeah...

It requires literally twice the hardware as anything else to max out simply due to a lack of optimization.

Mineria 07-03-2011 10:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Norezar (Post 4031620)
Yeah...

It requires literally twice the hardware as anything else to max out simply due to a lack of optimization.

Funny part is that RIFT performs better on nvidia.


With a GTX260 I get the same fps pushed out as my HD5870 using 11.5 - 11.7, which is 17-59fps with SSAA enabled and up to 88 fps with no AA.


GTX460 2 way SLI pushes 100-120fps with SSAA, shadows off and some others slightly reduced.
With everything maxed in both game and driver the setup still has 80fps as its minimum fps!


Catalyst 11.4 performs slightly better with the game.

Now I wonder how well a single GTX570 works with the game.
Cause I want a new card, and it's not going to be a 6xxx

eclap 07-03-2011 11:14

I get just over 20fps in the main square of Sanctum, 1080p, ultra settings, no AA (SSAO on). outside busy areas (towns and such) I'm getting 30+, this is including rifts. Runs pretty ok but I would like to see it perform better. It looks nice, but I would expect 40fps constant from a game that looks like that. Still, this won't stop me playing it.

Major killer is AA obviously. the edge smoothing looks pretty nasty, the supersampling cripples the performance too much...

Mineria 07-03-2011 12:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by eclap (Post 4032019)
I get just over 20fps in the main square of Sanctum, 1080p, ultra settings, no AA (SSAO on). outside busy areas (towns and such) I'm getting 30+, this is including rifts. Runs pretty ok but I would like to see it perform better. It looks nice, but I would expect 40fps constant from a game that looks like that. Still, this won't stop me playing it.

Major killer is AA obviously. the edge smoothing looks pretty nasty, the supersampling cripples the performance too much...

In Sanctum; when the shard is busy, I get around 20-35fps with SSAA turned on, shadows and ambient occlusion turned off.
The darn thing with this game is, that it looks sharpest and smoothest with SSAA.

eclap 07-03-2011 12:54

yeah.... I played around with some settings... AO on with shadows off looks good. Shadows off mean a big performance boost. Maybe I could even get away with running AA this way. but. I really want this to perform better still...

Rotary8 07-03-2011 17:02

no fix for this, it seems rift the company knows about it and still has not done anything about it, if i were you guys, put a ticket in with Rift and see what the response is and post it here, ill do the samething and see what they say and ill post it to.

Roost 12 07-04-2011 14:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rotary8 (Post 4032216)
no fix for this, it seems rift the company knows about it and still has not done anything about it, if i were you guys, put a ticket in with Rift and see what the response is and post it here, ill do the samething and see what they say and ill post it to.

Good idea. I shall do just that.

Scyphe 07-04-2011 14:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by Roost 12 (Post 4031362)
Hi,

has anyone found a solution to Rift fps problems? I will be more specific by describing my issue: the game's fps in a crowded city of Sanctum is always around 15 fps. Changing from Min graphics settings to Ultra results in only 2-3 fps difference. If my system was too weak then Ultra should hog it way down, not for just 2 frames per second. So basically it seems as if the game's settings wouldn't work performance-wise (do they work graphically).

I tried using custom Fallout dx9.dll file (and running Rift with -dx9 parameter so it used it), performance tips on the official forums, as well as editing rift.cfg file (cpu core, misc, raising vfx settings to insane levels). Nothing has made a change. Oh, the only thing that does work is setting Anisotropic filtering in ATI drivers instead of in Rift itself (supposedly the game handles that poorly). That gave like 2-5 frames but the fps still remains more or less the same across Min and Ultra settings.

Any idea what could be the cultrip?


PS: I had a similar problem in Lotro about a year ago - no matter what I found there were world drawing issues (far objects were flickering/disappearing etc). I also tried everything back then. What fixed it was installing Win7 64bit. Weird fix. I am already using 64bit Windows so I can't apply that fix to Rift now. :)

If the hardware you've listed on the left is any indication I'd say that your already weak GPU is bottlenecked by your CPU.

sykozis 07-04-2011 14:58

Some people just need to upgrade a bit....

Rotary8 07-04-2011 15:20

his specs are fine to run a such an old engine, even my 7800gtx can run this game fine lol

sykozis 07-04-2011 15:47

Rift uses an old graphics engine? I was of the impression that Trion Worlds actually created something....

freedumb 07-04-2011 16:26

it took them almost a year to fix the crossfire issue for ATI users, however it was a lone community member that discovered what was causing the problem.

sykozis 07-04-2011 16:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by freedumb (Post 4033319)
it took them almost a year to fix the crossfire issue for ATI users, however it was a lone community member that discovered what was causing the problem.

That's pretty pathetic when a community member has to tell a developer how to fix their software...

Rotary8 07-04-2011 18:01

they will fix it, because the community is soooo strong in this game, they have patches almost weekly

TheHunter 07-04-2011 18:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mineria (Post 4031994)
Funny part is that RIFT performs better on nvidia.


With a GTX260 I get the same fps pushed out as my HD5870 using 11.5 - 11.7, which is 17-59fps with SSAA enabled and up to 88 fps with no AA.


GTX460 2 way SLI pushes 100-120fps with SSAA, shadows off and some others slightly reduced.
With everything maxed in both game and driver the setup still has 80fps as its minimum fps!


Catalyst 11.4 performs slightly better with the game.

Now I wonder how well a single GTX570 works with the game.
Cause I want a new card, and it's not going to be a 6xxx



isn't there a preview trial?

i think i saw it once, but now i cant find it anymore.. Well I can try it and report back how it runs on this 570gtx:nerd:

Rotary8 07-04-2011 18:23

Nvidia paid Rift off for drivers support so only NV cards was used for testing. ATI didnt have a changes because of the agreement Trion had with Nvidia, this is why you see no support for ATI users, im not to sure how long it will last but i know NV does this alot and ati does not because this is how they keep the price down on the cards

ATI "does not work with" gaming companys before release(pay less)

Nvidia "Works With" gaming companys before release(pay more)

ill stick with ati because there not money hungry

Mineria 07-04-2011 20:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rotary8 (Post 4033437)
ill stick with ati because there not money hungry

Good joke...
You might want to check out some ATI/AMD titles, like LOTRO or F1 2010 as example.

PS. your CPU isn't AMD?

Mineria 07-04-2011 20:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheHunter (Post 4033421)
isn't there a preview trial?

i think i saw it once, but now i cant find it anymore.. Well I can try it and report back how it runs on this 570gtx:nerd:

Here is the european version https://eu.riftgame.com/en/products/mmo-free-trial/
I have no idea about the one for your region.
Btw. does your CPU bottleneck the GTX570 in any games?


To get back to the topic, I just did a clean install of Catalyst 10.12, 11.2, 11.4, 11.5, 11.6 and 11.7
11.4 has the best minimum framerates, much more stable than any of the other drivers.
Still far from what I believe a GTX560/570 can do.

This is what the game looks like at absolute maximum http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=534
But unplayable when a lot of action is going on, except with the GTX460 2 way SLI which yields 80fps at minimum with those settings.
Shadows look a bit funny, check the ones from the trees and surroundings on the second image...

Will be interesting to see what results "TheHunter" gets.

gbooster 07-04-2011 23:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rotary8 (Post 4033437)
Nvidia paid Rift off for drivers support so only NV cards was used for testing. ATI didnt have a changes because of the agreement Trion had with Nvidia, this is why you see no support for ATI users, im not to sure how long it will last but i know NV does this alot and ati does not because this is how they keep the price down on the cards

ATI "does not work with" gaming companys before release(pay less)

Nvidia "Works With" gaming companys before release(pay more)

ill stick with ati because there not money hungry

Read the Rift forums. Nvidia users have just as many, if not more issues currently. They have fixed all the ATI problems, the issues people have now is not related to the card maker.

The game runs well for me, compared to other people. But with my :pc1: it should run so much better.

Also I was reading that the game only uses only one CPU core. Which is just ridiculous that a new game would be released like that, but unless you have a good CPU and have it OC'd you are going to issues.

Mineria 07-04-2011 23:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by gbooster (Post 4033695)
unless you have a good CPU and have it OC'd you are going to issues.

I got to disagree.
I don't even hit 64% CPU usage with heavy activity, and I got the game balanced over all 4 cores, so..


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:32.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.