Guru3D.com Forums

Guru3D.com Forums (http://forums.guru3d.com/index.php)
-   MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum (http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=55)
-   -   HOW TO: Enable UNOFFICIAL overclocking mode in MSI AfterBurner (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=338906)

Hilbert Hagedoorn 02-15-2011 17:05

HOW TO: Enable UNOFFICIAL overclocking mode in MSI AfterBurner
 
We're receiving emails on how to enable additional overclockability for AMD cards (if supported) in MSI afterBurner.

To enable the unofficial overclocking in this version it is necessary to edit the MSIAfterburner.cfg file located in the installation directory of AfterBurner (typically Program Files (x86) MSI Afterburner):


You need to alter the following:
  • Seek UnofficialOverclockingEULA field and add following text:
    I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
  • Set UnofficialOverclockingMode to 1 to keep PowerPlay active (may not work on old ASICs), 2 to traditionally disable PowerPlay or to 0 to temporary disable unofficial overclocking path
Using the unofficial overclock method opens up more freedom in terms of voltages and clock ranges, it however also can open a can of worms in terms of stability or weird issues.

Unofficial means unsupported -- we grant some extra tweak options to fool around with, but in no way, manner or fashion is it supported by Guru3D.com or MSI.

So asking questions about it in the forums .. is a no-go. Regardless, have fun with this feature and be careful to not push the card over its limitations.

ShadowMyth 02-15-2011 17:41

Thanks for the info Hilbert. Much appreciated!

BetA 02-15-2011 17:44

cool, Thanks Hilbert for the little Tutorial...

:)

demoncamber 02-19-2011 23:53

Yeah, I tried this and it changes nothing in my AB? What does this enable exactly?

brutlern 02-21-2011 07:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by demoncamber (Post 3891743)
Yeah, I tried this and it changes nothing in my AB? What does this enable exactly?

It increases OC limits. Only needed if you reached the built in limits but feel you could go a bit higher (at your own risk of course)

Aix 03-01-2011 23:33

For me, enabling this option makes my comp BSOD with an atikmdag.sys error if I change the clocks AT ALL - even 10mhz.

I can change the core voltage, and I can OC to 950MHz in CCC, but no dice on moving the Core Clock slider if this option is enabled. Ah well.

lmimmfn 03-23-2011 21:54

@Hilbert
Is there any way to have Unwinder include the above info in a txt file with the release as unsupportedFeatures.txt or something similar?

Each install of a new version of Afterburner results in the unofficial overclocking being reset, its impossible to track down whats required to reenable it, unless if unofficial overclocking if detected was enabled its reenabled automatically after installing the next release.

Maybe im just lame, but i know he changed the text required since my last install, but that was 2 months ago and theres no way i could remember.

Just saying is all, and erm, better annoying you than Unwinder :)

msi-afterburner 03-24-2011 02:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by lmimmfn (Post 3928609)
@Hilbert
Is there any way to have Unwinder include the above info in a txt file with the release as unsupportedFeatures.txt or something similar?

Each install of a new version of Afterburner results in the unofficial overclocking being reset, its impossible to track down whats required to reenable it, unless if unofficial overclocking if detected was enabled its reenabled automatically after installing the next release.

Maybe im just lame, but i know he changed the text required since my last install, but that was 2 months ago and theres no way i could remember.

Just saying is all, and erm, better annoying you than Unwinder :)

Personally I think it's not working. The reason why we added this annoying txt because many users never know what they were doing. So....

lmimmfn 03-24-2011 22:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by msi-afterburner (Post 3928889)
Personally I think it's not working. The reason why we added this annoying txt because many users never know what they were doing. So....

no i agree completely because i read all the hassle Unwinder got on the subject, all im really saying is to have some indication as to what to do( for those of us who do have unofficial overclocking enabled - and know the consequences ). Maybe its just me, but i only upgrade MSI AB if its a beta that runs out or every once and a while, and i keep forgetting that updating the version keeps reseting the unofficial overclocking flag back to default.

It would be nice if the setting was kept, or detected during install and youre told it will be reset.

Unwinder 03-25-2011 07:27

To make ANY settings kept after upgrade edit MSIAfterburner.cfg stored into .\Profiles folder instead of MSIAfterburner.cfg stored into the root application folder. The .CFG file stored into the root is a template with default setting for .CFG file located into profiles folder, and the template is always overwritten on new version installation.

lmimmfn 03-25-2011 22:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unwinder (Post 3930484)
To make ANY settings kept after upgrade edit MSIAfterburner.cfg stored into .\Profiles folder instead of MSIAfterburner.cfg stored into the root application folder. The .CFG file stored into the root is a template with default setting for .CFG file located into profiles folder, and the template is always overwritten on new version installation.

Perfect Alexey, thank you very much

jtrageser 05-04-2011 02:23

I have an XFX 8800 GTS 640 MB I tried this on with the newest WHQL Nvidia Drivers and the Newest Beta of Afterburner and my Voltage is still locked no matter what I try. I've even changed the values and then made the config file "Read Only".

Any ideas or is this card's voltage not changable?

PhazeDelta1 05-04-2011 03:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by jtrageser (Post 3972407)
I have an XFX 8800 GTS 640 MB I tried this on with the newest WHQL Nvidia Drivers and the Newest Beta of Afterburner and my Voltage is still locked no matter what I try. I've even changed the values and then made the config file "Read Only".

Any ideas or is this card's voltage not changable?

this is only for the amd cards.

jtrageser 05-09-2011 23:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Firestorm (Post 3972449)
this is only for the amd cards.

OOPS! I missed that part! LOL

Thanks! ;)

silkstone 05-11-2011 17:19

This doesn;t work for me, voltages are still locked on an asus 6850 (V2) The only app i can actually get to work is Trixx :( Any idea when support will be added to the EAH6850 V2?

Unwinder 05-11-2011 17:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by silkstone (Post 3979792)
This doesn;t work for me, voltages are still locked on an asus 6850 (V2) The only app i can actually get to work is Trixx :( Any idea when support will be added to the EAH6850 V2?

This does work for those who read before posting.
Voltage control support for ASUS/Gigabyte/Sapphire or any other non-MSI non-reference design cards will never be added to Afterburner and it was repeated 100 times before, please use search. And the thing that truely doesn't work for you is therad reading skills, unofficial overclocking mode is nothing but extending overclocking range beyond AMD Overdrive/CCC clock limits. It has zero relations to getting voltage control on non-reference design cards.

silkstone 05-11-2011 17:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unwinder (Post 3979806)
This does work for those who read before posting.
Voltage control support for ASUS/Gigabyte/Sapphire or any other non-MSI non-reference design cards will never be added to Afterburner and it was repeated 100 times before, please use search. And the thing that truely doesn't work for you is therad reading skills, unofficial overclocking mode is nothing but extending overclocking range beyond AMD Overdrive/CCC clock limits. It has zero relations to getting voltage control on non-reference design cards.

I apologize, i have actually searched thoroughly on the topic, although i admit i hadn't done a search on the guru3d board. Everything i have found had recommended using MSI afterburner to adjust the voltage, and MSI afterburner worked with Rev1 of this card (also a non ref. PCB) but it now doesn't work with Rev 2 :(

I read that in order to gain access to voltage control on an asus card that you had to enable unofficial overclocking mode, but i guess they were wrong. Sorry for my post, it is late and what i mean't to be a question came across a little direct.

ersan191 06-07-2011 09:02

I know there isn't any support for it, but I seem to be having a problem with UnofficialOverclockingMode set to 1 or 2 on a multi-GPU (non-crossfire) configuration. GPU1 always seems to be locked at stock clocks (core and memory clocks say "0", and changing them will just reset them to 0 and the card reads stock clocks (in this case 810/1250)). GPU2 and GPU3 function properly. When UnofficialOverClockingMode is set to 0 everything functions perfectly (without the additional overclocking headroom). I read another post about this and the user said he reinstalled the ATI drivers and the issue went away but I have reinstalled the drivers several times and this has not been the case.

I have tried different cards in different PCI-E slot positions, and it has always been GPU1 that is stuck at 0. The cards I am using are asus reference HD6950 2GB's with unlocked shaders. Any help would be appreciated.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1956377/pix/msiab.jpg

Crasher 06-09-2011 12:00

I am always getting BSOD after running the MSI Afterburner with my CrossfireX mode MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition/OC.

I also changed my bios settings. Any suggestions?

My system:

Core i5 2500K -Thermalright VenomousX
ASUS Sabertooth P67
4x2GB Geill Ripjaws
CF-X 2x MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition/OC
80GB OCZ Vertex2 SSD, 2x500GB Samsung Raid0
23" Samsung PX2370 LED
CoolerMaster HAFX ** Powered by 850W Seasonic

Crasher 06-09-2011 12:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aix (Post 3902744)
For me, enabling this option makes my comp BSOD with an atikmdag.sys error if I change the clocks AT ALL - even 10mhz.

I can change the core voltage, and I can OC to 950MHz in CCC, but no dice on moving the Core Clock slider if this option is enabled. Ah well.

same with me

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aix (Post 3902744)
For me, enabling this option makes my comp BSOD with an atikmdag.sys error


Unwinder 06-09-2011 12:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crasher (Post 4008751)
I am always getting BSOD after running the MSI Afterburner with my CrossfireX mode MSI R6950 Twin Frozr III Power Edition/OC.

And I'm always repeating the same boring thing again, again, again and again: read EULA prior to blindly copy-pasting "I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it"!! Doing it blindly is just plain stupid, it is hidden that far from beginners and limitations are mentioned there not just for fun!
Use search, read about ULPS, read what to expect from unofficial overclocking path before modifying the configuration files and only then enable it. Or blame nobody but yourself.

Crasher 06-09-2011 15:46

ULPS has already disabled on both cards. I know my limitations etc. I just want to enable the overclocking. If you do not support this card, just tell it.

Unwinder 06-09-2011 16:11

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crasher (Post 4008957)
If you do not support this card, just tell it.

We DON'T support ANY card in unofficial overclocking mode. If you don't get the meaning of text you're pasting into EULA field - stay as far from this mode as it is possible.

stefon 06-22-2011 15:05

I did all the steps, but when i want to save MSIAfterburner.cfg file, an error comes out and it tells ''acces is denied''. What should i do ???

chemao 06-30-2011 03:22

Enable unofficial overclocking not functioning?
 
Cheers,

I have followed precisely the instructions provided above, but Afterburner is still limiting my overclocking speeds on an NVS3100.

Defaults:
CORE: 606, MEMORY: 790, SHADERS: 1468

Current (limited by Afterburner):
CORE: 790, MEMORY: 1030, SHADERS: 1910

Desired:
CORE: 900, MEMORY 1100, SHADERS: 2500

The desired settings have proven very stable, when I can get them enabled. Previously, I was using nTune to set the values, but it's so buggy that I have to do weird stuff to get around an error that says "The values were invalid and will not be applied." This is a strange bug with nTune and when it rears its ugly face, you can't change anything. If it's overclocked you can't even revert to standard timings! It's very strange. I hope you can offer some advise how to remove the limits in MSI Afterburner. The above steps do not seem to be working.

MSI Afterburner: version 2.1.0 (15-02-2011 19:20:13)
Forceware: 275.33
GPU: NVS3100 - 512MB


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:59.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.