Guru3D.com Forums

Guru3D.com Forums (http://forums.guru3d.com/index.php)
-   General Hardware (http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   Will a new monitor increase fps? (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=321475)

K.S. 05-11-2010 01:34

Will a new monitor increase fps?
 
I currently am using a 22' widescreen monitor at 1680x1050, will going to a monitor with 1920x1080 increase my fps?

Jae-So 05-11-2010 01:36

lol no, higher res will decrease ur frames, more pixels bein rendered n all

Li4m79 05-11-2010 01:37

if you get a 640x480 monitor you will see a significant fps increase

davetheshrew 05-11-2010 01:40

you shouldnt have a problem with those cards mate, the difference will be marginal at best, go for it bud:)

K.S. 05-11-2010 01:48

huh, won't higher res put more stress on the video cards?, for instance aren't I more cpu-bound at my current res?

Jae-So 05-11-2010 01:51

ur not CPU limited enough at 1680x1050 and even if u were ur frames would stay the same rather than go up after upgrading the screen, also, I think 2x5750s would be more of a bottleneck than the phenom 940 @ 3.6 especially at 1920x1080

K.S. 05-11-2010 01:54

so......should I be going for a better video card instead of a new monitor? or a new video card and new monitor? (1680x1050 looks nice, but 1080p is tempting...I just don't know what the requirements for higher res entail)


I made some extra cash so I'm thinking bout upgrading, especially since I can always sell my current monitor and video cards.

Jae-So 05-11-2010 01:59

nah 2x5750s will be the bottleneck but u shuld still be able to run games fairly well on 1920x1080 with them, unless your unhappy with the frames you currently get I'd just go ahead and get a monitor for now, maybe 26"+ to make it a worthwhile upgrade

TheHunter 05-11-2010 02:03

Quote:

huh, won't higher res put more stress on the video cards?, for instance aren't I more cpu-bound at my current res?
lol not really, you could be cpu bound if you played everything at lowest settings or at reso 12880x1024, otherwise no.


btw

1680x1050 = 1764000 pixels

1920x1080 = 2073600 pixels

the difference isn't that small 309600 pixels.. you will put allot more stress on those 2 gpus.. and in the end you will have to lower some eyecandy like antialiasing or even lower textures to get around the same fps.

edit: ye like jaeso suggested, i typed to slow lol :D

K.S. 05-11-2010 02:05

Yea......I want to switch to NVIDIA because the performance with my 5750s is a bit offset due to lack of good driver support. What's the NVIDIA equivalent for 5750 crossfire? Or is the Fermi a better choice? (I'm willing to buy one if the driver support is sufficient, and the physx is a nice bonus, but not a need)

TheHunter 05-11-2010 02:12

check the bench here - its crysis @ 1920x1200 2xaa
http://www.guru3d.com/article/gigaby...-soc-review/17
and you can compare your crossfire here
http://www.guru3d.com/article/radeon...-crossfirex/16

klambre 05-11-2010 02:35

1680x1050 = 1764000 pixels

1920x1080 = 2073600 pixels

loss in performance of 17.5%

itīs not much, test it before buy a new card.

K.S. 05-11-2010 02:35

Well checked the reviews....and I'm definitely selling my 5750s for a fermi, BTW: Am I going to have issues with my cpu coupled with a fermi @ 1080p?

Jae-So 05-11-2010 02:38

nah u should be okay, CPU bottlenecking is overrated

K.S. 05-11-2010 02:40

Allrighty......thanks for the responses.

cant wait to get the new hardware :)

IPlayNaked 05-11-2010 02:45

If you get a higher res monitor of roughly the same size or only slightly large you'll be able to use less AA to make up for the increased res.

Cybermancer 05-11-2010 17:00

Thread moved to:

General Hardware
http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10

Matt26LFC 05-11-2010 17:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by IPlayNaked (Post 3567850)
If you get a higher res monitor of roughly the same size or only slightly large you'll be able to use less AA to make up for the increased res.

Thats a good point, i dont think he really needs to change his GFX setup. Hilberts review of the 5750 showed good returns in crossfire, only crysis warhead had trouble, and still hit 33FPS at 1080p

Im just about to get a 24" BenQ for 1080p im pretty sure my GTX275 will be fine.

Hammie 05-11-2010 17:38

Go all out get a 27" for around 350 to 450 ,,, gl

Peter Buxu 05-11-2010 18:15

No gain in FPS!!!!!!!!

naike 05-12-2010 18:09

why would someone play crysis lol

Matt26LFC 05-12-2010 18:12

Perhaps because they enjoy it, duh. No one actually mentioned playing it either, its just a reference for measuring GPU power. If you can hit nice framerates in that game your pretty much good for other games.

allesclar 05-12-2010 18:14

lol no, higher res = more pixels = more work for you gpu

nhlkoho 05-12-2010 19:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by naike (Post 3569452)
why would someone play crysis lol


Why would someone post something so stupid lol


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:08.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.