Guru3D.com Forums

Guru3D.com Forums (http://forums.guru3d.com/index.php)
-   Processors and motherboards Intel (http://forums.guru3d.com/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Ordered a Q9400, will my FPS increase a lot? (http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=306281)

Zareph 10-06-2009 12:51

Ordered a Q9400, will my FPS increase a lot?
 
Okay, I think the subject already describes a lot of this thread.

I've got an E4500 @ 3.0 at the moment, and it's been holding up just fine. But as I'm a heavy CoD4:MW promod player, and Modern Warfare 2 is coming up, I think I might need a bit more horsepower to deal with the better physics.

But I'm wondering if many games at the moment utilize 4 cores? Last I checked, which was quite a while ago, even Crysis didn't.

And also, for games utilizing only 2 cores - let's say if I clock them the same (E4500 at 3.0 and Q9400 at 3.0), how much of a performance gain will I experience in games?
As the E4500 is the oldest Core 2 Duo, I expect that a lot of improvements have been made since..?

I already ordered it, but it would be nice to know. Afraid it isn't arriving for a few weeks though.

Cheers!
Peezee

DSK 10-06-2009 13:09

Just due to the bigger cache and SSE improvements you should see a nice boost.

Zareph 10-06-2009 13:15

Does the bigger cache really make such a difference? I was even thinking the E4500 is a nice product for it's price. Well, it was at least. Still pulls off some mean FPS in CoD4 with everything highest with this rig @ 1920x1080 :)

I was thinking of ordering an HD5850, but I don't know how my PSU will handle it. Does the 5850 use more watts and require a higher amperage than the 4870? Because this ****ty 500w can take on a 4870 just fine, tried it out already. It says it's got a dual 18A rails, but in reality it's one 36A rail split into two, so there's less of a loss of amperage.

EDIT:
According to the Extreme Outer Vision wattage calculator, my system would use 324 watts with a Q9400 at stock and a 5870 (they didn't have a 5850). So now the only real trouble on that side is - is 36A enough for a 5850?

DSK 10-06-2009 13:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peezee (Post 3300120)
Does the bigger cache really make such a difference? I was even thinking the E4500 is a nice product for it's price. Well, it was at least. Still pulls off some mean FPS in CoD4 with everything highest with this rig @ 1920x1080 :)

I was thinking of ordering an HD5850, but I don't know how my PSU will handle it. Does the 5850 use more watts and require a higher amperage than the 4870? Because this ****ty 500w can take on a 4870 just fine, tried it out already. It says it's got a dual 18A rails, but in reality it's one 36A rail split into two, so there's less of a loss of amperage.

Yeah it does suprisingly

uhhmm it was something like this

1280x1024 farcry 2 @ ultra 4xaa with celeron dualcore E1200(512kb per core) @ 3.2 = 23fps

1280x1024 farcry 2 @ ultra 4xaa with Core 2 duo e4500(1MB per core) @ 3.2 = 29fps

now both are the same chip just less cache on one.

Yeah both where ran with the gtx260 216.

and the HD5850 runs like 18w idle and 108w peak on load thats less than the HD 4850.

and yeah amps seem ok theres cards a really low powered in general.

Zareph 10-06-2009 13:34

In comparison to Nvidia cards, indeed. But enough said, I don't want an ATI vs Nvidia flame war in a CPU thread ._.

So, any idea how much I can expect for the Q9400 to deliver? Let's say I get 35 FPS on Enthusiast on average in Crysis Warhead at the moment. I think that's just about right.
With a Q9400, how much would I then get? As I know that Crysis and Crysis Warhead are very CPU bound.

DSK 10-06-2009 13:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peezee (Post 3300138)
In comparison to Nvidia cards, indeed. But enough said, I don't want an ATI vs Nvidia flame war in a CPU thread ._.

So, any idea how much I can expect for the Q9400 to deliver? Let's say I get 35 FPS on Enthusiast on average in Crysis Warhead at the moment. I think that's just about right.
With a Q9400, how much would I then get? As I know that Crysis and Crysis Warhead are very CPU bound.

Dunno i don't think cpus make much difference cause i mean my other gtx260 and i7 get near enough the same as my HD4870 did with my E8400

and since crysis uses 2 cores man well thats it really.

GPU makes all the difference here so it seems.

Zareph 10-06-2009 13:39

I think Warhead uses 4 cores?

At any rate, you ARE speaking of an E8400. It's near the top-of-the-line of dual cores. ;)

UnclePappi 10-06-2009 13:42

I just did an upgrade similar to what you are doing. I went from an e4300 at 3ghz to a Q9400 at 3ghz and in dual core games it went from hitching to none. I really think that the e4xxx series was cache starved. I didn't think I would see much difference due to what people say but I saw otherwise. Obviously it made an impact as I then sold the Q9400 and upgraded to even bigger cache in the Q9550. Although I didn't see as big a boost as before I now can hit 4 ghz with ease as the Q9400 couldn't get past 3.6-3.8. Definitely do it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Peezee (Post 3300138)
In comparison to Nvidia cards, indeed. But enough said, I don't want an ATI vs Nvidia flame war in a CPU thread ._.

So, any idea how much I can expect for the Q9400 to deliver? Let's say I get 35 FPS on Enthusiast on average in Crysis Warhead at the moment. I think that's just about right.
With a Q9400, how much would I then get? As I know that Crysis and Crysis Warhead are very CPU bound.

The avg framerate will go up a little(3-5fps I thinking) but the avg's are held back more by the gfx than anything. The min framerate is what hurts from a slower CPU. I didn't do any tests because I believe in real world feel more than studying percentages but I would say the min went up 30-40% or maybe 50-60% in intense firefights. At least that's what it felt like.

Zareph 10-06-2009 13:50

That's the perfect answer to an imperfect question. Thank you UnclePappi, I'm definitely gonna clock that baby at 3.6 if possible.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:30.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.